We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies

Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies
88 River Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
+1 888-240-1358
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #7 of 68 attractions in Gatlinburg
Type: Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: ALL NEW! LIMITED ENGAGEMENT! SLIME! See Animals & Creatures and how they use slime, Touch Jellyfish and more in this Innovative & Interactive Exhibit! Marvel at 12-foot sharks, the giant sea turtle, thousands of exotic sea creatures and playful penguins swimming as you enjoy the State-of-the-Art Clear Underwater Tunnels throughout the Aquarium! An Ultimate Underwater Experience without being wet! Explore many unique underwater worlds and the Best Shark Exhibit in the Most Spectacular Underwater Tunnel. Enjoy entertaining dive and feeding shows. Pet horseshoe crabs and stingrays. Enjoy playful penguins swimming, pop up on the penguins' private beach and get nose-to-beak. Fun-Filled family experience and MUCH MORE!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Eagles Mere, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Girls vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Had a wonderful time and had great weather. Everyone was very helpful since we had an elderly person with us. Would love to take other family members back next time for a visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,080 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,631
    1,093
    288
    45
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is definately somewhere you should go on your vacation to Gatlinburg. Very clean and interesting. Huge variety of animals to see. Have been twice and will for sure go again in the future.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranger, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good aquarium”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Lots of fish and sharks to see and I loved the "Penguin Playhouse". You walk through a tunnel with water above and on both sides of you...very cool!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Crazy Shark Tank!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We just wanted to sit and stare at the aquarium and listen to the soothing music, it was a nice break from the craziness that is Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg. We had our tickets included with our room booking, otherwise we probably would not have gone here on our own, but we really enjoyed it. Their aquarium is huge and there is a moving walkway through the acrylic tunnels which makes the tour well-paced. The sharks were incredible and to see them swim right over you was freaky! They had alot of neat interactive stations for kids and everything was really well presented.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great kid-friendly aquarium!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Aquarium had great exhibits, and the automated pathway taking you through the middle of the shark tanks was great for my children. We had a blast! The only knock I had was the food court. It wasn't kid friendly for strollers, and the food was pretty disgusting (I'm not sure there was any meat in my cheeseburger).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.