We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies

Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies
88 River Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
+1 888-240-1358
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #7 of 68 Attractions in Gatlinburg
Type: Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: ALL NEW! LIMITED ENGAGEMENT! SLIME! See Animals & Creatures and how they use slime, Touch Jellyfish and more in this Innovative & Interactive Exhibit! Marvel at 12-foot sharks, the giant sea turtle, thousands of exotic sea creatures and playful penguins swimming as you enjoy the State-of-the-Art Clear Underwater Tunnels throughout the Aquarium! An Ultimate Underwater Experience without being wet! Explore many unique underwater worlds and the Best Shark Exhibit in the Most Spectacular Underwater Tunnel. Enjoy entertaining dive and feeding shows. Pet horseshoe crabs and stingrays. Enjoy playful penguins swimming, pop up on the penguins' private beach and get nose-to-beak. Fun-Filled family experience and MUCH MORE!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Leonardtown, Maryland, USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lots of fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Love the sharks and Penguins. Worth the money. Nice big parking garage right behind. Easy walk to everything,

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,742
    1,140
    304
    48
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A great time! Bring your kids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We have been to several aquariums, so we have seen it all. Ripley's is well-planned and designed for enjoyment of all ages. We left feeling like we had a worthwhile experience, while paying a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful... simply beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Well designed, educational for family's, couples, older folks and children....... this is the place to visit when you go to Gatlinburg. It is reasonably priced and you will love just standing on the moving walkways and just being able to look at all the wonderful rays and colorful sealife. We have enjoyed visiting the Aquarium each time we visit the Smokey's..... it is a tridition we love.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anmoore WV
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies was very nice. Lots of things to see, set up well, great for kids. The tunnel was awesome too!!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had a great time! Very easy to see why this is rated the #1 aquarium in the US according to their sign & print materials. My wife and I went to Shedd Aquarium in Chicago a year ago and enjoyed Ripley's much more. Very neat to see the tunnels they have for kids to explore the exhibits, too.

Definitely would recommend to all who are in/visit the Gatlinburg area.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.