We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, pleasant and interesting after noisy day.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies

Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies
88 River Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
+1 888-240-1358
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Ranked #4 of 48 Attractions in Gatlinburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: ALL NEW! LIMITED ENGAGEMENT! SLIME! See Animals & Creatures and how they use slime, Touch Jellyfish and more in this Innovative & Interactive Exhibit! Marvel at 12-foot sharks, the giant sea turtle, thousands of exotic sea creatures and playful penguins swimming as you enjoy the State-of-the-Art Clear Underwater Tunnels throughout the Aquarium! An Ultimate Underwater Experience without being wet! Explore many unique underwater worlds and the Best Shark Exhibit in the Most Spectacular Underwater Tunnel. Enjoy entertaining dive and feeding shows. Pet horseshoe crabs and stingrays. Enjoy playful penguins swimming, pop up on the penguins' private beach and get nose-to-beak. Fun-Filled family experience and MUCH MORE!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Charlottesville VA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Quiet, pleasant and interesting after noisy day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

While they advertise themselves as the #1 Aquarium in America, I think that is a bit of a reach. Certainly doesn't compete with Chattanooga or Monterey Bay, but it has bright new exhibits, a moving walkway through an extensive water "tunnel" some great seahorses, sea dragons and jellies. SCUBA divers enter tanks for scheduled feedings which are fun to watch.

We were there after dinner and pleasant classical music was playing in the background. Some hands-on exhibits such as touching the rays.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,921
    1,198
    315
    51
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Awesome Aquarium!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Who would think there would be such a great aquarium in the Smoky Mtns? This is a wonderful place to visit w/the family. We have gone many times and it is always interesting and informative. The employees are very friendly and the attractions are great! They have a hands on areas for the kids and an awesome walk-thru shark tunnel. The little ones will especially like the Penguin playhouse, too. I highly recommend that you make this aquarium a stop on your trip to Gatlinburg, TN.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olean, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice Aquarium”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Aquarium was very nice and we all enjoyed it. My 2 year old grandson especially liked being under the sharks and fish as they swam above us when we were on the conveyor that took us through. The penguins were are favorite part by far.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“great time!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

2nd time to the aquarium and it was nice...i went through it quick because i was there for the penguin encounter..the shark display was neat but i absolutely love penguins so that was my favorite....the penguin encounter was neat to...learned more about them, got my pic taken with and got numerous pics as well and was able to pet one to...had a great time and would recommend it

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice aquarium”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Its a nice aquarium considering the small size. It seems to be busier on the weekends, so a weekday visit would be better

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies also viewed

 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.