We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time for everyone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies

Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies
88 River Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
+1 888-240-1358
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #7 of 65 attractions in Gatlinburg
Type: Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: ALL NEW! LIMITED ENGAGEMENT! SLIME! See Animals & Creatures and how they use slime, Touch Jellyfish and more in this Innovative & Interactive Exhibit! Marvel at 12-foot sharks, the giant sea turtle, thousands of exotic sea creatures and playful penguins swimming as you enjoy the State-of-the-Art Clear Underwater Tunnels throughout the Aquarium! An Ultimate Underwater Experience without being wet! Explore many unique underwater worlds and the Best Shark Exhibit in the Most Spectacular Underwater Tunnel. Enjoy entertaining dive and feeding shows. Pet horseshoe crabs and stingrays. Enjoy playful penguins swimming, pop up on the penguins' private beach and get nose-to-beak. Fun-Filled family experience and MUCH MORE!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Chillicothe, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful time for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

We had a great time seeing the sharks, penguins and sting rays. I only wish they had more aquariums. We didn't get to see any shows.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,817 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,478
    1,007
    267
    43
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“fish lover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

we enjoy going to the aquarium, kids love it. its a great way to spend part of the day.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Knox, KY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Go on an off day for a better visit.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

If it weren't for the fact that we only paid $4.99 per person due to a military discount, I would have been very disappointed with this aquarium. It is rated as the #1 aquarium in the U.S., but I didn't find it to be any better than other aquariums we have been to. There are small viewing areas for many of the exhibits and on a crowded day, it makes for long wait times with little else to look at. Parking at the aquarium was very reasonably priced and the aquarium itself only takes a couple hours to complete unless you watch all the shows. If we ever go back, it will be during the off season because the heavy summer crowd made this a rather unpleasant experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Kansas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The Best Aquarium I've Visited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This was the best aquarium I've visited, hands down. I was very skeptical at first, but it is very well organized. The exhibits are great. No complaints at all!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Cove, Alabama, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome Aquarium!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Very nice attraction. Great for couples or a family with kids. So much to see and do. Loved the tunnel with the aquarium all around you!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies to your Saves list