We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   915 Westgate Resort Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off Room Rate
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Dacula, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I received a solicitation mailing for a weekend stay in exchange for enduring the time share sales pitch. So, the girlfriend and I decided to give it a shot. The resort itself is quite nice - the desk staff were courteous & friendly, as were the concierge, market staff and all other employees we encountered. We both smoke - so that was the first issue. We sacrificed a better/larger unit with a fireplace for a smaller one w/no fireplace in order to gain a balcony. Our unit was quite comfortable, w/king bedroom, small dining nook, kitchen, separate living area and bath. Decent sized flat screen TV's in B/R and L/R; kitchen table for two; bath w/jacuzzi tub & shower; nice balcony w/great view and seating for two. Kitchen included full sized range/oven, microwave, full sized fridge w/ice maker (but no ice on arrival), sink/disposal & coffee pot (but no coffee/filters on arrival). Kitchen had simple compliment of dishes/pans/utensils, etc. & thankfully, a wine corkscrew ! Unit was clean and odor free when we arrived & adequately stocked w/bath & kitchen towels, blankets & linens.
The location of the resort was quite good for us, i.e. not right on the main street or even off a block - plenty of privacy from all the crowds. For others preferring to be 'in the heart of things' a drive is required in to either Gatlinburg (5 mins or less) or North on the Parkway to Pigeon Forge (20 mins or so).

And now for the bad news - our trip quoted 90 mins. for the time share presentation. Granted, they did provide a mid-quality buffet breakfast and our sales rep was very personable. We actually didn't mind the pitch too terribly due to her great personality. But at the end of the allotted 90 mins, it was as if she really thought keeping us another hr or so would allow her to close the deal. So, our encounter with the first Closer was well into the second hour. And the first closer tried every trick in the book; we remained courteous & polite, but firm. Maybe that was our mistake - too nice ! By the time she finally surrendered, the 2nd closer gave up after only 5 mins or so. But the entire pitch was stretched out to almost 4 hrs. Yep, our fault - so be forewarned - they are relentless and do not quit easily; you will be there forever if you allow them to continue.

Overall though - we did enjoy the trip and would return. I would stay at the resort again and would probably even choose it over just a normal hotel given a choice. And would think it great for a family w/small kids - lots of amenities for them, including a very large indoor water park. We were there during late Jan/early Feb, and we're both in late 50's, so had no interest/need for some of the resort's available activities due either to time of year or personal preference. Other than the sales pitch, our largest complaint was the price gouging on their captive audience - internet service was quoted as $10 bucks/day, coffee & ice available only in the 'Market' where they happily charge $5 bucks for a cup of coffee and prices that would make any convenience store drool for chips, sodas, etc. . .. . Stock up on all the munchies before your go . .. .. and hope your cell phone gets good reception (our Sprint service did well).

Room Tip: If you don't smoke and don't need a balcony or patio, go for the full sized one BR w/firepla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
We really appreciate the time you took to inform us about your weekend getaway. It’s really wonderful that all of the employees you encountered were friendly and courteous. All of the units at Westgate resorts are non-smoking and we apologize if this caused any inconvenience. We always look to make any necessary improvements and will share your information with the proper management team. Please come back to see us soon!

Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    376
    245
    160
    215
See reviews for
883
436
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Westgate resorts. It's in a good location between both Pegion forge and gatlinburg. The villa we stayed in was clean and nice. The staff was helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We love the location of our property as well. For those looking to travel to the heart of Pigeon Forge and Downtown Gatlinburg our place is only a few minutes away. It’s always good news when our guests are able to relax on their stay with us. Once again, thank you for trusting us with your vacation and hope you will return to visit soon!

Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

915 Westgate Resort Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 865-430-4800
AVERAGE. A resort large enough to have its own road and guide to your unit at check-in. Attractive log designed units, not really cabins. VALUE: Average. This was a time share exchange. No mention was made of a $10 daily charge for Wi-Fi- verify with the resort. Extra charge for the water park was $18.95 daily for each person with a discount with proof for exchanges $12.95. Fitness center was free. Large lodge with nice fireplaces, convenience market, travel desk for discount tickets, restaurant, bar, arcade. Limited parking on steep roads (doors difficult to control when opening because of the slope of the parking spaces) far from the lodge and other sites of activities that require driving- again limited parking or take the resort shuttle running about every 20 minutes. LOCATION: Very Good for access to Gatlinburg where almost all is public parking $5, about 3 miles to Pigeon Forge about 7 miles, or to Smoky Mountain National Park about 6 miles. SLEEP QUALITY: The walls and floors are not sound resistant. Any movement on floors above or conversations/TV in adjoining units is distracting. If you don’t have a sound machine with you, try running the fan in the bathroom to muffle some of the noise. ROOMS: The rooms appear attractive- all mountain décor. The newer units are quite nice. The main unit of the lockout has a balcony, large dining table and larger kitchen, with a washer/dryer in the foyer. The gas fireplace was wonderful and enhanced the winter view across the tops of the other units. Again, the main distraction was the noise from above and adjoining units. CLEANLINESS: This unit was well maintained and serviced. SERVICE: The desk personnel were professional and the market personnel were friendly and personable. The welcome packet has a list of activities. The entertainment in the sales building is top quality. Talented local singers. There was an hour lecture Wednesday night, brief history and folklore of the mountains. The speaker was a representative for the park hike. The hike for $5 was an easy walk with photo ops to a waterfall and settlers graveyard, something interesting and fun to do during the time of year when many shows are closed or reduced hours during the off season. OVERALL: This is more of a summer resort with the water park geared to the kids. This IS a time share still selling…. So the sales pitch goes with the resort.

Room Tip: If you can request the upper unit- if stairs aren't a consideration- for reduced noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for your thorough description of our property. We value your thoughts and comments. Making memorable stay experiences with our valued guests is what we do best! We invite you to please stop in again next time you visit the Gatlinburg area.

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adairsville, Georgia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We spent 3 nights here over a weekend. The location to downtown Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge is excellent! The location is easy to access regardless of direction approaching. We did NOT use the water park or spa amenities. The worst part of our weekend getaway was that we weren't able to rest quietly or sleep comfortably. The room itself was roomy enough and very clean. The bed, however, was as hard as sleeping on the rock ledges of the beautiful mountains! I really enjoy a firm mattress, but this was beyond firm! The ceiling fan was beyond noisy....annoyingly loud and clanky......my husband wound the pull chains together and locked them so they wouldn't rock and hit the blades. Now, had that been the only negative......... Our unit was on the bottom floor. I like that but not when the walls and ceilings are paper thin as as to hear every sound, scrape, bang, etc.....from above! Our Saturday morning sleep in was disturbed at 4:30 A.M. I was convinced that the maids were upstairs cleaning AND moving furniture! I almost went upstairs to assist so as to speed the noise up so we could go back to sleep. Also, the restaurant is overrated!

Room Tip: Don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you found our location convenient to all of what you wanted to do in the area. I am sorry to hear about the challenges you had during your stay. The comfort of our guests is a top concern. We really appreciate you and we certainly look forward to your next stay with us.

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was our first time at The Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort so everything was a surprise for us. When we checked in it was not hard to miss that we were just a guest and not an owner, so that feeling gave me a little apprehension about what our experience would be. However, next we were shown our Cabin by following a Golf Cart up the mountain until we arrived at our unit. The Cabin was really nice outside and in, with the unit including a nice size great room and kitchen, a large bed room with a king size bed and two full bath areas. The couch in the great room I believe was a hide-a-bed so this unit would easily accommodate two couples. I am sure there are many various cabin configurations to fit anyone's needs. The Resort offers free shuttle rides that run every twenty minutes or so and you can link up with the Gatlinburg Trolly right from the Westgate property and get pretty much anywhere you would want to go. The Trolly is 50 cents per person per boarding or you can get an all-day pass for $2. This facility is really nice with fantastic staff easily contacted for any and all needs. They have an on-sight convenience grocery with reasonable prices, an on-sight restaurant and daily activities for the family. There are outdoor swimming pools and hot tubs available and a Water Park for about $19 per person per day (free for owners). We attended a very reasonably priced singing performance in the sales office that was absolutely wonderful. There is a Family of Singers that have worked with Westgate for quite a number years and they are indeed excellent. This is a fun Resort and it couldn't be in a better location for access to the National Park or for any of the Restaurants, Shops and Amusement options in the three area cities. This property is quite large already, but likely to double over the next several years. Great place for Family or Friends.

Room Tip: Best Tip I can offer is be prepared for an outdated WiFi policy that is totally omitted from online...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are so happy that you had a great time. All of our staff is there to make you feel comfortable and we strive for our staff to be very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. We are thrilled you were able to take advantage of our great location and enjoy our resort amenities. We truly look forward to exceeding your expectations again in the future!

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This was an excellent place to stay. Great location between Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. The staff was always very helpful and friendly. The facilities were very good. They do need to fix their TV reception and have more spa times available. Everything else was great. We would stay here again and will recommend to others too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed the location of our resort. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our resort amenities and services. We are also thrilled to hear that our staff was able to assist you during your stay. We always look forward to providing our owners and guests with a memorable vacation. We hope you will visit us soon.

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordele, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

My daughter and I took her 3 yr old and 11 mo. old to this resort for a week. It was perfect! The 3 yr and playing in the snow. Our 1 bedroom deluxe was gorgeous, spacious, clean, well decorated. Every staff member we came in contact with (and there were quite a few) was gracious, friendly and helpful. We will definitely use this resort again.

Room Tip: Check out the map of the resort to decided the best location for you. Some are on top of a mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
We appreciate your responses concerning your stay with Westgate Smoky Mountains. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of our greatly located resort. It is a real pleasure to know we have succeeded in providing a quality vacation experience that exceeded your expectations. Our team members take great pride in providing great service to all our guests. On behalf of the entire Westgate Team, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back very soon!

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort

Address: 915 Westgate Resort Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#18 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 769
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Smoky Mountain resort in Gatlinburg, Tennessee is the perfect place to enjoy the beauty of nature, and a short drive to Dollywood, antique shops, and restaurants. Enjoy nature trails that take you from your cabin into the wooded forest of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Suite villas feature a fully equipped kitchen, and whirlpool tub in the master bathroom. Guests can enjoy two large swimming pools and an indoor water park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Smoky Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Westgate Smoky Mountain Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Tennessee
Westgate Tennessee
Westgate Smokey Mountain Resort
Gatlinburg Westgate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.