We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort

Save Saved
You added Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   915 Westgate Resort Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #22 of 86 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Oneonta, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Check was easy, booking was easy, check out was easy.! I feel the water park should have more hours as it was only open 11am - 6pm .. and parking was a little difficult at times we would have to park pretty far from our end unit . But overall the room was clean, comfy and the fireplace was great ! and there is laundry room too which was an excellent bonus! Wish we could of stayed longer!! So much to do and see!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort. We enjoyed having you! It’s great that you enjoyed your room and onsite amenities. There are definitely lots to do and see in this location. We are thrilled that you will be returning and look forward to your next stay with us.

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    352
    219
    144
    201
See reviews for
834
381
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wise, va
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Our room was 230, my brother in law got the same room for $93! when I pointed this out they couldn't have been more rude and refused to make any accommodation. way too many places to stay in Gatlinburg area to tolerate anything but excellent service. when we tried to address it again we were locked out of my room and forced to pay in advance. and we stayed at Westgate 5 or 6 times a year year in and year out. but they have certainly lost us as customers and if enough people feel that way they'll get the message. so never book here in advance and if you just walked in with no reservation you get a fantastic deal and this was the weekend of Thanksgiving!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate you being a returning guest to our activity filled resort. We are sorry that you had a misunderstanding about the rates you paid for your stay. Unfortunately, there are many different channels to book rooms which would determine what you pay. Our office focuses on ensuring you had a great stay and received the best customer service possible. We hope you were able to clarify your purchasing channels so you can get the best rates for future visits. We look forward to your next visit.

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

First off, we have been owners here for many years, with this said, something seriously needs to be done about the fact that you can hear everything that your neighbors say and do. My family and I got next to NO sleep the entire time we were there. We could hear chairs scraping along the floor all hours of the night. We could hear every time someone used the bathroom, we could hear when our neighbors were doing laundry, when they were taking baths/showers. It's flat out ridiculous that you can hear every movement of those staying in your building. I'm not sure what can be done to resolve this issue but it seriously needs to be addressed. It was so bothersome that we are considering selling our timeshare.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We want all of our owners and guests to have an enjoyable time, and we regret that you were bothered by the noise. We will make sure to forward this information to the appropriate persons. It's our wish that your next visit here is a more quiet experience.

Sincerely,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge area has something for every age and every price range. There are many choices for attractions and accommodations and everything is in a relatively small area. But, be warned, the area is very congested at times.

The Westgate Resort is one their best - the accommodations are lovely, the service is excellent, and everything needed is on the resort property including tickets for attractions and a shuttle service.

This resort would rate excellent except that the sales pitch was uncomfortably aggressive. In addition, lost tickets despite the receipt would not be replaced. Even the attraction suggested that this is not right.

Go and enjoy this wonderful area and resort but be forewarned!

Room Tip: If the view is important to you, be sure to specify you want accommodations higher on the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. It's gratifying that you found the area very nice and our accommodations lovely. Please accept our apologies regarding our salesperson-some are very enthusiastic about our resort and all that it has to offer. If you indeed had your receipt for your ticket, something should have been able to be done for you. We encourage you to call the resort and speak with our Tickets Desk to get satisfaction. We would like to thank you for staying with us and it would be our pleasure to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duluth, georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Let me start off by saying I was very reluctant to stay here because of all the responses. We have a timeshare thru Interval and traded our two bedroom, two bath in KeyWest for a one bedroom here so we wanted a nice trade out equal to what we have. I booked thru Interval and got a 1 bedroom villa with a king size bed with a bathroom and another small bathroom and Jacuzzi in our bedroom. Just a note when you go thru town there is no sign out front. It is a mile out of Gatlinburg and across from the welcome center. (I asked why there is no sign and our concierge said they were not allowed to put up a sign. Something to do with the land.) My husband went in to check in and was not in there long at all. We brought our dog and since it was our first time there were not charged the $175.00 but $85.00. One of the employees came out to our car and spoke to us and said since we were owners at another location we would have a concierge to help us. He did mentioned about the timeshare tour and if we wanted to do it we would get $100.00 and breakfast or lunch. I told him I had been reading all about the resort and that they really had been getting bashed and that the tours lasted for hours. He said he had read them and they were trying to make the resort better and those tours were with a sales person and they might have been long. So we said we would do the tour at lunch. Our concierge took us to our room and it was very nice. We just had a walk in no steps and the view was beautiful.(I had told my husband when he went in we wanted a room at the very top and was told there was a room but it would be a down grade so we went with this room. The pool and hot tub were across our parking lot and we never had in problems with the parking. Room service came on Wednesday and we just called the front desk the night before and told them we did not want it because of our dog so we did get some towels the next day when we saw a cleaning lady. We had somebody on top of us and below and had a huge deck right off of our den and bedroom right in the trees. Yes we did hear the walking and chairs scraping on the floor(they need to put some rubber tips on the kitchen chairs) but it wasn't that bad. Did not hear the people below except when they came in and left. We did the tour that Tuesday and were taken down stairs and just gave them some information and then did the tour which we wanted to see. Up on top you can see Charlie Daniels home across the way. Lunch was hot dogs with chilli, slaw and potato salad with a salad. Our concierge was with us and he knew we were not going to buy. A sales lady came over with prices because we were curious and we told her no we were not interested and that was it. No pressure or rude people at all. Got our money and a little trip for sometime in the future and we were free to go.Took about hour and a half. We tried the restaurant one night and was very happy with our meal and service. Our server was very friendly and prompt. We had the dinner salad each, rolls and chicken wings. It was very good for the money and the restaurant was busy as was the bar. Never tried out the bar but did go to the arcade room. Me and my husband like to play the games and I was impressed with what they had. The shuttle service does run all day for 50 cents a person or $2.00 a person all day to go into town. We did go into Gatlinburg a few times and did all the tourist things. Enjoyed Happy Hour at Mellow mushroom 4-6 with a free app. If you enjoy pottery there is a nice area in the artist community that has a mile long of shops and you get to see them making the pottery. The leaves were beautiful this time of year and we did get to see bears in the national forest, elks and wild turkey in Caves Cove. Check out was easy just put your keys and car parking slip in the box at the guard gate when you r leaving. We really did enjoy our time there and will be back. If you have any questions please send me a message. It really is a nice place and all the people we came into contact with were very nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
It's greatly appreciated that you took the time to write of your experience. Happy Birthday! We're glad that your check in was a short affair, that your tour went well and that you enjoyed our onsite restaurant, Smokehouse Grill. It's truly a wonderful place in the mountains, and we're thrilled to read that you will be back!

Sincerely,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

My birthday was nov.14th the day me,my better half and our kids checked in at westgate smokey mountains.Everything was clean and the setup up for a two bedroom was nice.Everyone there was very helpful and courteous.We are very pleased to be owners.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Happy Birthday!! Thank you for being owners and for choosing to stay with us at Westgate Smoky Mountains Resort & Spa. It greatly pleases us that you found everything clean, the two bedroom unit nice and our staff helpful and courteous. We're sure you'll have some lovely memories of the beautiful Smoky Mountains. We look forward to providing you with another great time when you visit us next!

Sincerely,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We rented a timeshare directly from Westgate and really enjoyed our stay. The staff was very pleasant, the views were amazing (although we wished we had a view facing the mountain) The price was reasonable considering the amenities & location. The place was beautiful

ROOMS
We stayed in a premium studio (I think that's what it was called) Basically it had a 1 bedroom, living room, full kitchen. It was large & spacious. we appreciated the fully equipped kitchen, we made nice dinner there & saved ourselves some money.

AMENITIES
- loved having a BBQ grill right out side our room, very convenient. wished other hotels had that too
- the Swimming Complex looked HUGE and amazing. would have loved to bring my 3 kids there...they would have loved it
- front lobby was amazing with HUGE fireplace

FEEDBACK FROM WESTGATE OWNERS
we spoke to 2 Westgate owners. The first man we spoke to had owned for 12 yrs & was very happy but only at at the restaurant once - said they always cook in their unit's kitchen. the other was happy but didn't like the maintenance fees always going up. I think he said he pays $600/year for maintenance fees now. he has a 2 bdrm unit during off season & likes bringing his whole family up but found it too large for just him & his wife. he also said the purchase price had gone up a lot since he bought.

unfortunately our room was facing the construction...everyday woken up at 8am from machines.

**I recommend shopping at Food City - great meat/seafood counter & lots of ready made meal options including tin foil roasting pans with complete family meal - just stick it in the oven!

If we ever go back to Gatlinburg with our kids, we'd definately stay at WEstgate again..it's perfect for families with kids. although I didn't like the Arcade Centre too much but maybe other parents don't mind that.

Room Tip: - ask for the top of the mountain - ask for mountain facing room - ask to not be near the construc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share. It's gratifying that you found the view amazing, our staff very pleasant and the resort beautiful. We would love to have you and your family back!

Sincerely,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort

Address: 915 Westgate Resort Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#21 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#22 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 769
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Smoky Mountain resort in Gatlinburg, Tennessee is the perfect place to enjoy the beauty of nature, and a short drive to Dollywood, antique shops, and restaurants. Enjoy nature trails that take you from your cabin into the wooded forest of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Suite villas feature a fully equipped kitchen, and whirlpool tub in the master bathroom. Guests can enjoy two large swimming pools and an indoor water park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TravelClick, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Smoky Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Westgate Smoky Mountain Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Tennessee
Westgate Tennessee
Westgate Smokey Mountain Resort
Gatlinburg Westgate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.