We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok, but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   915 Westgate Resort Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off Room Rate
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Piney Flats, Tennessee
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“It's ok, but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I've stayed in a lot better and I've stayed in a lot worse. On the plus side, the deluxe suite we stayed in had a good-sized room and a nice kitchenette. On the downside, the check-in took longer than it should have. They sent a guy with a golf cart to lead us to the room and "make sure our keys worked." When one of my two keys barely worked, he said we should just use the other one. Gee, thanks. I could have never figured that out on my own but it sure would have been nice if he had taken his golf cart back to the mother ship to get me a good key, since that was ostensibly the reason for his trip to begin with. The convenience store was over-priced and the room could have been cleaner. Parking was tight and difficult. Every time a neighbor flushed the commode, it sounded like you were about to be launched from a rocket. I was actually awakened by a toilet flush. I may come back sometime and a I may not, as I could take it or leave it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. All of our guests’ comments are appreciated, as we are always researching areas to improve upon in order to provide out guests with the quality vacation experience. Our goal is to exceed your expectations and we hope that you will visit us again soon.

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    376
    244
    160
    215
See reviews for
881
436
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
roselle, illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our room was located near the building for reservations. The hot tub was very nice except the streams of water shot straight up instead of parts of the body.

Service in the restaurant was good as well in the reservations area, however we had to wait one hour for our room to be available.

The biggest complaint was that we were forced to sign the papers for a concierge to show up some properties. Chris was very pushy about signing the papers and then on top of that he left us several phone mail messages reminding us of the tour date. We were upset because we were there on vacation and not on business.

The other problem was there was lots of drilling and hammering going on in the building and we found it hard to relax and sleep.

Now you need to understand that this was our second visit of five nights at this resort. We enjoyed the area and the hiking in the mountains but I do not believe that we will go to this resort again.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms would be better and more into the resort like higher up in the resort. Last year...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. As you mentioned, our resort is in the perfect location close to tons of unique activities. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay and for any inconveniences they may have caused. We have taken note of each matter you have had and will pass them on to the appropriate members of our staff. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. Guest satisfaction is out top priority and we regret that we fell short during your stay. The issues you experienced are very rare and we do hope that you will allow us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdsville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We bought a special deal to have 2 nights at the resort for a little family getaway. Was a little worried based on other reviews that I read on here just prior to our trip. We had actually done the "sales tour" several years ago on a previous trip and were hounded to death and held captive for hours instead of 90 min. I had thought that since we were just paying to stay that they might leave us alone but worried after the reviews I read on here. There were some good and bad points, some of them based on what I had seen in the tour we'd taken a few years back.
The bad: The room was nothing like what we'd seen in the tour years before. We were 2 adults and 1 toddler and were given a room with a queen bed and a pull out couch. No way all of us could sleep on a queen bed, and no way a toddler could sleep on the couch or bed by himself so we slept separate during our stay using both the bed and couch. The room was tiny and was barely enough room to walk while the bed and couch were pulled out. The carpet was HORRIBLE. Were in the room for less than an hour and my sons socks were stained black and our feet were black and the carpet was damp (wore shoes for rest of trip). Check-in was super slow. Was only 2 people ahead of my husband and took over a half hour to just get our room keys. Room only had a shower stall and no tub, which is terrible for small children. You have to pay $10/day for wifi unless you want to take the tour. Walls are pretty thin, couldn't hear people talking but could hear when people next door took showers or used the bathrooms. Half the TV channels on their list never worked. There was construction going on and large trucks and semi's were traveling past our room all the time taking up supplies. It was very loud.
The good: Even though room was small had a little kitchenette. Nice to have a little fridge and microwave in the room. Bathroom was clean and roomy. Plenty of towels and extra bedding (good thing because they don't refresh them unless you're staying for a full week). Were only asked to take the sales tour 1 time during check in (but they paraded the tour past our room the entire time of our stay). Resort is right between Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg so very easy to get to both quickly.
If I had to pay full price, wouldn't have been worth it. The room was so small we'd have all gone crazy being stuck in there for anymore than the 2 days we stayed. Don't be afraid of being asked about the tour. Just tell them no and don't be talked into it because it will ruin your trip.

Room Tip: Some buildings are 3 stories and don't have elevators. Make sure you specify if you can't o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review regarding your stay at Westgate Smoky Mountains Resort. We strive to provide an exceptional vacation experience that exceeds guest’s expectations and we apologize that we fell short. We will certainly share your review with our staff, as we are always looking for areas to improve. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

In terms of the room, Westgate wasn't quite what we were expecting since it was a 5 star resort. Some of the wallpaper was peeling off the walls and we were barely able to make it through 2 showers before the water started to get cold. The bed also wasn't as comfortable as we expected. However, the basics were there. We did actually like the layout we received. The only truley terrible thing about our room was it's location. We stayed in 331, and the road stopped somewhere around 325. Parking at night was a NIGHTMARE. The first night we had to park at 317 and the next 321 and walk up the hill to our room. The last thing you want after walking around Gatlinburg all day is to have to walk up hill to your room. We were told that the room we were staying in was under contract through another company, and Westgate was not allowed to do any kind of service to the room until the contract was complete. These were problems that the other company should have taken care of, but obviously did not.

Our only other complaint was really the customer service we experienced when we were trying to stay an extra night. We went for 3 night originally and did one of the timeshare tours we told them about some of the problems we were having with parking and the water, and they promised they would take care of us since we expressed interest in staying an extra night. We did not end up buying a timeshare, but we did purchase a vacation package. We did the tour on Saturday, and we were scheduled to check out on Sunday, so Sunday morning we called the front desk to see if they had adjusted the rate from what they quoted us the day before. As it turns out, since we did not buy, they did not take care of us as promised. The price even jumped from $137 to $201. My boyfriend spent almost all morning on the phone with various people to try to get it figured out. Close to 12, we got a knock on the door from Security asking us to please go to the front desk and that they had asked we leave the room. I was baffled that they actually sent security since my boyfriend asked them directly if we should come to the front desk or stay in the room and wait for calls. We had already had our bags packed up since we knew we would be switching rooms, so all we had to do was walk out. Once we got to the front desk, they did apologize and we did end up staying another night. To me, their communication systems are in need of major improvements. Ultimately the best customer we received was from our Bell Service man, Cody.

On a positive note, the location of the resort is FANTASTIC! Also, if you get to stay a little higher on the mountain, the view is amazing. We ended up staying at the highest built point our last night and it was much better than our stay at the bottom. I also have to say that the room we got our last night was much better than the first (better water, softer matress, no peeling wallpaper).

Room Tip: Make sure to ask not to be placed in any of the "cabins" 325-333. They are in the bad park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to read that your overall stay was not satisfactory, we are always looking to improve and your feedback is of great help. We hope you give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marissa, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

all in all it was a good experience.staff was very friendly,sales part was great until the closer came in ,that kinda turned me off.room was good,but it did have dirty carpets and there was some small places of mold on shower curtain. Like I said all in all it was good, but the resort lifestyle is just not for my wife and I.

Room Tip: higher floors have less human noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We strive to provide an exceptional vacation experience that exceeds guest’s expectations and we apologize that we fell short. We will certainly share your review with our staff, as we are always looking for areas to improve. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have read so many negative reviews about this resort and not sure if some people just cannot be happy or if their experiences were that much different. We had a wonderful time, accommodations were very, very nice. Room was nice and clean, amenities in the room were great, was nice to be able to cook and have everything needed. Staff were all friendly, enjoyed having the trolley to take us up and down the mountain to The Mason Jar. Check in was quick and check out was fast. Resort is always packed, everyone seems to be having a great time.

Just returned home and cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a top unit if concerned about noise, ask for a unit away from the pool and parking appears r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
We are honored you chose to stay with us here at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resorts! We are happy to hear you had a great time! We pride ourselves in many things, from superior customer service, to our beautiful grounds, but we also work hard to provide a diverse assortment of amenities that all of our guests can enjoy. It’s great you took part, we love it! Please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We arrived at Westgate and the check-in process was very long with waits after giving our information. We had to wait for a concierge to take us to our room. The room itself was located half way up the side. The view of the Smoky Mountains was nice. The 1 bedroom deluze accommodation was excellent. The rooms were clean. Carpeting getting to the end of the life and should be replaced in the next coiuple of years. We had an appointment for a 90 minute presentation. Avoid this as it took 150 minutes. We did get $100 dollars but could have spent the afternoon doing something more pleasing. They do try to sell to you but we do not like to go to the same place more than once. The restaurant was nice and the meal was large enough for left-overs. Disappointing was the fact that WIFI cost $10 per day. The motel MICROTEL in town along with pthers advertise FREE WIFI. Nowadays this is a must for a resort of this caliber.
Overall I recommend the accomodation as it was large enough for a comfortable week stay.

Room Tip: Note the golf carts are constantly "puttering" about and are noisier than cars. One can he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed the location and amenities here at the Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience of the sales staff. It is definitely not our intention to make you feel pressured in any way from anyone on our staff; however, we do offer the opportunity to all of our guests and owners to take a tour and with that, receive certain incentives, with no obligations. Again, we apologize and we do hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort

Address: 915 Westgate Resort Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#18 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 769
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Smoky Mountain resort in Gatlinburg, Tennessee is the perfect place to enjoy the beauty of nature, and a short drive to Dollywood, antique shops, and restaurants. Enjoy nature trails that take you from your cabin into the wooded forest of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Suite villas feature a fully equipped kitchen, and whirlpool tub in the master bathroom. Guests can enjoy two large swimming pools and an indoor water park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Smoky Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Westgate Smoky Mountain Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Tennessee
Westgate Tennessee
Westgate Smokey Mountain Resort
Gatlinburg Westgate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.