We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too far from pools and everything” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort

Save Saved
You added Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   915 Westgate Resort Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 86 hotels in Gatlinburg
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Too far from pools and everything”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We were excited to spend the night here. We did not realize we would be on top of a mountain (no deck with rocking chairs to even enjoy the view- you have to pay for the whole unit to get that) also with flights of stairs to climb. No pool close by- there are only two for 800 units. You have to wait for a shuttle if you go to the pool or the overcrowded water park that costs extra. We paid 170.00 and we could have gotten a beautiful room, even a cabin at a resort for that. So we stayed in from 5:00 pm on a Saturday. Also the noise from families staying above and next door is terrible. And don't even be tempted to tour the place, they will claim $400 in freebies, run don't walk away, unless you enjoy two and half hours of boring and high pressure sales talk and then cannot extricate yourself from the sales staff who become less and less friendly and then make fun of you for not purchasing their lowest offer.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled to read that you room was clean, neat and that you were lucky and able to receive room service every day. We apologize for the inconvenience of the sales staff. It is definitely not our intention to make you feel pressured in any way from anyone on our staff. However, we do offer the opportunity to all of our guests and owners to take a tour and with that, receive certain incentives, with no obligations. Again, we apologize and we do hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    503
    299
    181
    123
    186
See reviews for
700
331
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hodgenville, Kentucky
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I'll start off with the good....the resort is in a really good location between Gatlinburg & Pigeon Forge. It was very convenient to use the Trolley to go to Gatlinburg also. The resort is very nice & does have a nice water park....but it does cost extra! The rooms were nice, but like other reviews...the walls are not sound proof by any means if you are a light sleeper. We did enjoy our stay for the most part & my 2 kids who are 7 & 2 loved the water park! But....DO NOT be suckered in to getting a cheaper deal by listening to their time share spill. We were scheduled @ 9am & it took 45 min just to get checked in for the whole ordeal. The lady that talked to us was very nice, but she talked way too much!! The advertised 90 min spill turned into 4 HOURS & even though we had two very tired whiny kids they didn't care! It was HORRIBLE!!!! We were very persistent that we were not buying anything & the only reason we agreed to listen to them is because we got a good deal on our stay. They didn't care & wouldn't let up....we had to talk to 3 different people & tell them all NO numerous times before they finally realized they weren't getting a dime out of us. I will NEVER do this again & would recommend that you spend a little extra $ to not have to listen to the spill. If I could do over I would've gladly paid extra! I'm not sure if we will ever be back again but just think twice about listening to the time share spill if you know you do not want to buy. You have to be rich to buy with this place, the average hard working American family can't afford it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Public Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled to read that you room was clean, neat and that you were lucky and able to receive room service every day. We apologize for the inconvenience of the sales staff. It is definitely not our intention to make you feel pressured in any way from anyone on our staff. However, we do offer the opportunity to all of our guests and owners to take a tour and with that, receive certain incentives, with no obligations. Again, we apologize and we do hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlanger, Kentucky
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I thought this would be a great place to take my grandkids for a vacation not to far from home. Checking in with children we were just ready to get to our room,after a 4hr trip no and to hear of every pitch on there "Time Share" finally told them just give me key and at that time was told by the way the indoor water park you will need to pay extra for. we decide to swim in one of their outdoor pools dirty! Saturday evening had to take my grandson to the hospital (6) for a asthma attack got back around midnight NO where to park went to talk to guest relations they said on weekends that is what happens had to carry my grandson about 1/2 mile up a mountain. just think twice before booking with them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay and for any inconveniences they may have caused. We have taken note of each matter you have had and will pass them on to the appropriate members of our staff. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. Guest satisfaction is out top priority and we regret that we fell short during your stay. The issues you experienced are very rare and we do hope that you will allow us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Seriously!!! If you are looking to relax, forget about this place. If you are looking for North Disney, this is the place. The resort grounds are very nice; however, when we arrived to check in, the entire resort lost power and they told us to come back in a couple of hours. Great, where do I go? I do not know Gatlinburg at all. The next night, we ate dinner at the restaurant and my kid's dinner came out 45 minutes before the rest of the family. When the other meals arrived, 2 meals were wrong and the other was undercooked (raw). They told me they do not get many request for the steak salad that is on the menu. The location of the resort is great, but rest assured I will not be back. There are 100s of other close by hotels.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're glad that you found the resort grounds nice. Unfortunately, there is not much we can do when the power goes out. However, there is a convenient trolley that can take our guests to Gatlinburg and back. Our apologies about the service you received at the restaurant. We will review this with management, as we are always looking for areas in which to improve. We hope to have another opportunity to provide you with a relaxing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was our second stay at this resort.. Unit was very nice and the kitchen was equipped with basic kitchen needs but the unit was on a lower level so there were steps to manage with two seniors in our family. Also the pull out sofa was extremely uncomfortable to sleep on---very thin mattress and lumpy metal springs. The resort has a shuttle service which is convenient for moving about the resort without using a car. There is also trolley service into Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to review your return trip Westgate Smoky Mountains Resort & Spa. It greatly pleases us to know you found your unit very nice, enjoyed the kitchen, shuttle and trolley service. We appreciate your suggestions, as we are always looking to improve. Thank you for visiting, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Very disappointing, noisy, inconsiderate guests slamming doors, tv full on, loud kids. The final upsetting part was seeing the large cage for capturing the animals that are then driven thought the resorts screaming. The owner does not like nature just making money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We are sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied on your visit. We try to curtail guests from being loud and disrupting their neighbors. We appreciate our guests and, for their safety, we occasionally will have to transport animals away from the resort. We thank you for your understanding and hope to welcome you back for a relaxing visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Location: 1.3 miles north of Gatlinburg opposite of the Gatlinburg Visitors Center. Also 3.5 miles south of the Pigeon Forge city limit. So great for being away from the mass of people in town but close enough to get there pretty quick or take the trolley (bus thing) into town.

Check in: Check in was at 4pm and we did at 4. We were told the room was not ready yet and they would call us then we would need to go to the concierge desk to pick up our room key and other stuff. (they were telling others the rooms were not ready also). We waited in the parking lot until 4:25pm then went back in to walk around the mini convenience store. At 4:30 still nothing so we asked the concierge desk and he called someone on the radio. At 4:35 they came up with our key and papers. We were told at check-in we would be staying in 208 (top floor) which was close to the pool and main buildings but the guy had us follow him all the way to the top of the mountain past the construction in the 4000 area. We were very confused and wary that this was part of their infamous time share scheme.

Anyways, we got to the brand new 5000 building and he took us to a one bedroom on the bottom floor and said that was our room. We still were very apprehensive based on reviews we read but he showed us the key sleeve that used to say 208 had correction tape over it and now said this unit. He said the building has been opened a month, wished us well and left. No mention of time shares. This was much better than the studio we had booked but it is still a small unit.


The place smelled brand new and no one had ever stayed in it based on the condition of everything. Bad part is the bed was VERY firm but a name brand hotel mattress. My wife had a backache most of the next day.

We looked around the indoor water park which was very nice but it was around $18 a day per person or around $40 for three days per person.

The internet service is an extra fee and the Westgate portal did not even state the rate when you try to pull up a website. It just prompts you for the room and reservation number to be added to your bill. Internet service should be included especially when you are paying an extra "resort" fee per day.

Satellite TV was fuzzy and limited channels (not that we planned to stay indoors)

Overall was a good experience and the location was ideal for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are so happy to know that you had a great time and your vacation was everything you wanted. We are glad that you found our location convenient to all of what you wanted to do in the area. We really appreciate you and we certainly look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort

Also Known As:
Westgate Smoky Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Westgate Smoky Mountain Hotel
Westgate Smoky Mountain Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Tennessee
Westgate Tennessee
Westgate Smokey Mountain Resort
Gatlinburg Westgate
Address: 915 Westgate Resort Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#18 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Smoky Mountain resort in Gatlinburg, Tennessee is the perfect place to enjoy the beauty of nature, and a short drive to Dollywood, antique shops, and restaurants. Enjoy nature trails that take you from your cabin into the wooded forest of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Suite villas feature a fully equipped kitchen, and whirlpool tub in the master bathroom. Guests can enjoy two large swimming pools and an indoor water park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.