We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   915 Westgate Resort Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off Room Rate
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Montgomery, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed a week for Spring Break. We had 3 kids ages 8,8, and 10. We had a two bedroom room and lots of room. We even had 3 full baths. I was alittle concerned after reading some of the reviews but I have to say that afte my research the information that was given is ALL accurate. The only indoor pool is the waterpark and the prices were given and was clear before we went that we would have to pay for that. Our kids enjoyed the waterpark, unfortunatly it was below avg temps while we were there so the waterpark was a little cold. I cannot say that was the resorts fault. They had 2 outdoor heated pools that are on the small side. So if you plan to do alot of swimming then this resort would not be ideal but you can tell that information from the website. The location of resort was great for getting around. We were not being harrassed to buy timeshare. A person that stays at places like this has to realize that that is their business and not be bothered by it. If the timshare portion bothers you then you are best to stay at a hotel. As far as the noise I did not feel it was any different than any where else we have stayed. The resort cannot do much about rude people that don't respect other people and are loud. So I can see that if you have a loud family around you it could be disrupting but I would not say that is the fault of the resort. We would plan to stay here again if we came to gatlinburg.

Room Tip: Choose an inside room not one that faces the parking lot if you want it to be more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We train our staff to be friendly, welcoming, and helpful. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the room amenities, resort amenities, as well as our great location! We really look forward to you and your family staying with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    376
    245
    160
    215
See reviews for
883
436
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
springfield
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

if you are not ready for a very high pressure sales pitch don't go.took 4 hours of a 3 day vacation to hear it,.We were told that it was only a 90 minute presentation,and they don't want to let you leave until you buy one.they put you in a very loud environment and pressure you.They also get an attitude with you when you say no.,Be sure to have a general idea on the amount you have spent for your vacations in the past its how they try to get you to buy.Make sure you do the math first.before you say yes..,,,the walls of the rooms are thin and you can hear your neighbors,,you get no clean towels nor sheets,,it cost to go to the waterpark and it's open to the public,,,,the room was nice,,only good comment i have

Room Tip: stay somewhere else......
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience of the sales staff. It is definitely not our intention to make you feel pressured in any way from anyone on our staff; however, we do offer the opportunity to all of our guests and owners to take a tour and with that, receive certain incentives, with no obligations. Again, we apologize and we do hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigeon forge
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We booked this hotel for our kids spring break and since it was a resort with a indoor pool... Upon arriving we realized how rude the parking guy to the front desk...
Then the rooms look cheap... Nothing a normal resort would usually have... We usually like pay preview movies in the room and that was not offered.... Tv is small and unclear... The manager is ( Belinda) is one of the rudest managers...
There is no house keeping what so ever.... They said they do house keeping on the 3rd day and nothing as done.. And the. Wen called they said it was on the 4th date... We came to the room and nothing was done.. We had to wash our own towels ... How do hey expect us to vacuum our own floors when there is no vacuum cleaner...... .?... And about their house keeping...they never have the same story.... We were there for a week and some had to go tot he store and buy my own cleaning product...
One of the worse hotels with a name resort attached to we have eve stayed... If you want to be mislead by this resort and do your own house keeping this is the hole for you... Stay at a regular hotel and save our money and a whole lotta disappointment ..

Room Tip: Do not get caught up in the word resort expecting resort service or resort accomadaions..this is a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We are sorry about the issues you experienced. All of our staff is there to provide you with a customer service experience unlike any other. The experience that you have shared in your review falls far below the standards that we have set for our staff to follow. As a timeshare resort our housekeeping schedule does run a little differently however there is no excuse for the delays you experienced. We would hope that you will return to our resort to allow us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead, FL
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Friends of ours got a 2br unit after attending a timeshare sales pitch. We split the cost with them and were very pleased with the unit. There were 4 adults and 4 children. Each family had their own kitchen, bathroom and bedroom yet we were still in the same room. Had some issues with DVD player and fireplace but maintenance came and fixed both. We were on a bottom unit in 4000 building and heard everything going on upstairs. Walls are VERY thin and if u have noisy neighbors it gets very annoying at 6am or 12am. We went to the waterpark twice. Kids loved it. We ordered room service from resort grill and food was delicious and priced right. It's just a short drive (traffic willing) to main Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We strive to make your vacation a memorable one. Please know that although you had some challenges during your stay, we are always looking to make our guests stay better. Please revisit us in the future to see how we are working hard to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

One bedroom is very small. They say it will sleep 4 but pullout sofa not made very well. It was not suitable for one person. If you have 4 people get a 2 bedroom. Put empty soda bottle in trash can and went to a show. When we got back from show there were hundreds of ants crawling around kitchen. Also found ants in bedroom. Mattress in bedroom uncomfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We strive to make your vacation a memorable one. Please know that although you had some challenges during your stay, we are always looking to make our guests stay better. Please revisit us in the future to see how we are working hard to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

we had stayed the week of 3/16 to 3/22/13. Check in took forever (about 45 minutes) and once we finally got up to the check in, we were informed that we weren't in the system. However, we were prepared and brought in our printed out receipt telling them that we had in fact paid for a room in full already (we found an online deal that if you booked a certain amount of nights, you got a percentage off the total bill...so we booked online). After a 15 hour drive, this is not music to anyones ears. Thankfully, they found us an open room and booked us in that. We had originally booked a studio yet we found ourselved in a larger room which was a very nice upgrade. We LOVED our room, the resort and everything about it....until we were told that since we booked 6 days, we were being treated as an owner and therefore had to attend a meeting about this resort. While my parents are frequent users of a different timeshare and have had to attend these meetings, this was a first for my fiance and myself. I can now see why my parents DREAD going to these meetings! the salesman - while nice - was EXTREMELY PUSHY! We kept explaining to him that we only came here for spring break and had other financial priorities (i.e, a wedding and a house) and that my fiance is finishing his last semester of college and we simply cant afford anything like this. They refused to take no for an answer and we finally ended up purchasing another vacation which we have to use in the next two years (mind you, it was twice as expensive as what we had just paid for our room....and we would be put in a slightly smaller room), thus giving them another chance to push us into buying into their timeshare. No thanks.

I LOVE the resort atmosphere and have no doubt in my mind that my fiance and I will eventually look into timeshares (whether it be Westgate or another), but until that time, I am refusing to go to any of those meetings - the people are pushy and they take up all of your day.

Other than that irritating issue, the trip was quite nice and would recommend this facility to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for advising us about your recent visit. Please accept our apologies if you felt the check in process were too long, especially after a long journey. It is not our intent to have our sales team make you uncomfortable. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, as it helps us identify areas in which we can improve. We strive to provide the ultimate customer service experience for all our owners and guests. We hope to have another chance to provide you with a wonderful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed the week of 3/21 to 3/24/13. Check-in was a breeze and our room was very nice and clean. The internet did not work the whole time we there despite calls to fix it. The location to Gatlinburg is very handy. One huge downfall was the waterpark. It is not as advertised and is too expensive. It is very small and only has two waterslides. AND IT IS FREEZING in there! My child even asked to leave after an hour as he was shivering with blue lips. Not worth the money at all. There are doors from outside open directly in and it was freezing. And it does not open until 11am forcing you to use the whole middle part of the day to go and it closes at 7pm so you can't go when you get back in the evening.
There were salesman crawling all over the resort and at times stopped and asked if you were interested in purchasing a time share. Very annoying.
We will probably not stay here again as we generally try to stay somewhere with an indoor pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Allow us to apologize for any issues that you experienced during your stay with us. We take all of our guests’ comments into consideration as we are always looking for areas to improve. Thank you again for sharing your comments. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort

Address: 915 Westgate Resort Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#18 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 769
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Smoky Mountain resort in Gatlinburg, Tennessee is the perfect place to enjoy the beauty of nature, and a short drive to Dollywood, antique shops, and restaurants. Enjoy nature trails that take you from your cabin into the wooded forest of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Suite villas feature a fully equipped kitchen, and whirlpool tub in the master bathroom. Guests can enjoy two large swimming pools and an indoor water park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Smoky Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Westgate Smoky Mountain Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Tennessee
Westgate Tennessee
Westgate Smokey Mountain Resort
Gatlinburg Westgate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.