We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Westgate Smoky Mtns.”” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   915 Westgate Resort Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off Room Rate
Ranked #23 of 88 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
““Westgate Smoky Mtns.””
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Great property, clean and convenient to all activities you would care for in the Gatlinburg/ Pigeon Forge area. One complaint that keeps it from being perfect is the lodge was noisy with other guest and cleaning staff moving furniture across the tile floors. Don't let that deter your intent to stay, no public property is completely sound proof but they do need to attend to the chairs scooting around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    438
    281
    178
    247
See reviews for
1,030
495
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

A week get-a-way to a wonderful, friendly,clean resort! Very friendly staff and definitely a place I will visit again. Everyone with whom we came in contact was helpful and made you feel like you belonged there. The game room had a very nice selection and the waterpark was just awesome!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your recent review and your recent stay at Westgate Smoky Mountains . I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We all aspire to ensure that all of our guests received an exceptional experience. We hope to see you real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Kentucky, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed two nights at resort and enjoyed very much. The accomodations are execllent, spacious and clean. Will stay again. Water park smaller than anticipated, but you are in the mountains and land is a premium. Would have been nice if included in room rate and not an extra charge. But still worth the price especially in colder months. Hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with with us. We are thrilled that you were able to enjoy so many of our amenities! Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Tennessee
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We visited the Westgate in Gatlinburg in the weekend. The cabin is clean and nice, but it is not sound proof. We could hear people up and down the stairs, slamming the doors and screaming. We couldn't sleep at night. On top of that, there were 4 buses in front of our cabin started up at 6 a.m. in the morning so sleeping in was just a wishful thinking. Vacation should be relaxing but we were so tired and exhausted because we didn't have enough sleep. It's the worst vacation ever.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback and we were troubled to hear of the challenges you faced during your stay. Your feedback has been shared with our management staff and we will be investigating how to ensure these challenges do not occur again. We hope you allow us to alter your perception of our property in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, West Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I love the resort! The playground is really nice for kids. We did get a room on the top floor which was great except for the neighbors on both sides we were in a single between two doubles and two families traveling together so we could here all the noise from them and they keep the main door open so they could go between rooms and their door open also which made the noise that much louder. The resort is really nice and the people working there are really friendly. The food at the Westgate Smokehouse Grill is Amazing!

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper level if you don't mind climbing alot of stairs with a double if possible to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your recent review and your recent stay at Westgate Smoky Mountains. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our amenities. Please accept our sincere apologies for the challenges mentioned. We all aspire to ensure that all of our guests received an exceptional experience. We hope to see you return real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have visited the Westgate for 10 years now. It is always clean, staff is excellent and it exceeds any hotel you could stay in. By far the best place to stay! I have also visited the Westgate Lakes in Orlando. Very sweet! These resorts are as nice as they come. Very family friendly and continually inquiring what the owners would like to see in Westgate. I always know that I will be greatly satisfied when I stay with Westgate.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin higher up in the mountain. They are newer and the view is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you very much for reviewing your stay. We take our guests' feedback very seriously and it makes us feel wonderful to know that we are succeeding in improving our guests' experience! We hope to host you as our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newland, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at westgate the first week in November. This was an exchange thru interval international. We were in the 3000 building and the view was awesome. Check in was fairly quick. There was a line, but it moved quickly. We were escourted to our room by a very enthusiastic guy who I believe was named Jason. He spent 10-15 minutes giving us a rundown on the resort and throwing hints to do the timeshare presentation. He said that he would get in touch with us the following day to see if we needed anything which he did not. However, this was fine with us. We did recieve one call in our room asking us to go to the presentation which we declined and was not bothered again. The room was beautiful, great kitchen, washer & dryer in room, jacuzzi tub and a balcony. The bed was very comfortable with a huge supply of soft pillows.

There are very few amenities unless you want to pay extra. There is no indoor pool or hot tub unless you want to pay $20.00 a day for the waterpark. Also with the waterpark even if you don't swim you still have to pay to go in and watch your kids. We did get board games from the front for free as long as they were returned with all pieces.

Very thin walls. I think someone nextdoor had a cold becasue we could hear them coughing all night.

There was two things that happened that we were not very happy about. We have an 8 year old and a 12 year old and we left them in the room for like 20 minutes while we went down to the convieniece store to get some drinks and while we gone someone came into our room with a key and said they were there to check the fire alarms.
That same night at 1:00 in the morning the fire alarms went off and scared us all to death lol. Everyone had to evacuate the building and we had to wait outside in our cars for over an hour. During this time not one resort employee came to say what was going on. I understand that things happen and wasn't really upset about the alarm, but I just felt like someone should have at least came and apoligized and told us what was going on. I was very uneasy for the rest of the night and none of us got much sleep. We never heard anything about that after the fact either.

Overall it was a nice place. We probally wouldn't stay again for the simple reason that we are on a really tight budget and would stay somewhere with a pool that doesn't cost $20.00 a day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the top of the mountain and not a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay and property. We are truly disappointed for the challenges you faced and that is definitely not the service we aim to provide. We hope you will accept our most sincere apologies for the issues you encountered and hope that you will give us another chance to better your perception of our property in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa

Address: 915 Westgate Resort Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#20 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 938
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Smoky Mountain resort in Gatlinburg, Tennessee is the perfect place to enjoy the beauty of nature, and a short drive to Dollywood, antique shops, and restaurants. Enjoy nature trails that take you from your cabin into the wooded forest of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Suite villas feature a fully equipped kitchen, and whirlpool tub in the master bathroom. Guests can enjoy two large swimming pools and an indoor water park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Smoky Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort
Westgate Smoky Mountain Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Tennessee
Westgate Tennessee
Westgate Smokey Mountain Resort
Gatlinburg Westgate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.