We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   915 Westgate Resort Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off Room Rate
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

First, let me say we are picky. And the reviews here left us iffy but once we got to this resort we loved it. And would definitely stay again. We thought the hotels rooms in Gatlinburg below par compared to this resort (the hotels in Gatlinburg look dated). We have stayed several places in Pigeon Forge (one being a #1 condo) and Westgate surpassed it mainly because the amenities for us and children.
We got the resort early and were welcomed and able to check in early. They followed us to our room and offered to help us take our luggage up. Then they went over all the functions of the room, resort, trolley info. They let us know if we had any problems to just call.
Our room was in the front and true we could hear the traffic when we were on the balcony but nothing major. We loved this balcony and had a wonderful view of the trees (and they were turning). Once we went inside the condo it was quiet.
Our room was wonderful with everything we needed. It was clean.
True the fireplace does smell when you start it but that is a normal smell with a gas fireplace.
We could leave our car and go to Gatlinburg or Pigeon Forge via the trolley. Loved, loved this.
And the resort has vans, a red train and golf carts to take you places if you do not want to walk within the resort. Though we choose to walk most places in the resort.
The resort has many activities (water park and a top notch arcade) for children. Though we did not have a child with us it did make us want to bring our grandchild next trip.
We enjoyed the lounge (we went for Happy Hour and the prices were great) and ate once at the restaurant.
Mon-Sat they have on site activities which we were there Sat and Sunday so we did not get to do any. But, they look very enjoyable.
Location is great.
You cannot go wrong here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are ecstatic that you and your family had such an incredible time with us and you enjoyed our amenities during your stay! We would be honored to host you as our guest again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    376
    247
    160
    216
See reviews for
885
436
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
charlottesville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just left on October 6th. We had a wonderful time. The location on the side of the mountain is great, the buildings and grounds are beautiful. The water park is great lots of fun. Plenty to do on site especially with little kids. Only complaint was the water park was not open late enough closing at 6pm, we where told that there had been a life guard walk which resulted in the early closing. Location made it very easy to get to either Gatlinburg or Piegon Forge. Trolley service was helpful as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We appreciate the opportunity to have hosted your visit. We are glad you enjoyed the beauty of our hotel and amenities. We apologize for any discomfort you felt with the early closure of the Water park. We hope we will be fortunate enough to welcome you back to our resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We are currently checked in at Westgate and it has been a complete nightmare!!! Back in July we booked and paid the first night on a 2 Bedroom/ 2 Bath villa. Today we arrived at 2pm and they tried to give us two seperate rooms. I explained we have a 6 year old and that wouldn't work. Checking in takes long enough but the front desk agent went into a back room and came back 10 min later and said they found us one. I paid a $50 (refundable) deposit plus the second nights room rate which paid us in full, and got a receipt and paper with our room number - 250.01. Of course it wasn't ready yet and check-in is 4pm - which is the latest I've ever heard of - but she said we should go out and could come back anytime. We had dinner, saw some local attractions and returned at 9pm exhausted. When we got to the bell desk they took our paperwork and KEPT it - including my credit card receipt - shuffled around some more papers and gave us back one with a scribble mark and room 252.02. We take several winding paths to an end lot and a building on stilts with two levels of about 40 plus narrow, outside steps up to our room. We took one look and knew there was no way we were going to navigate those wet rain-soaked steps in almost pitch black. We have a child and bags and luggage to carry! It's now that I notice this was NOT our assigned room when we checked in. So back down we go to the front desk where I have the displeasure of dealing with the night manager on duty. She gives us the blank couldn't-care-less stare and the canned "I understand" while she clearly doesn't, and tells me the resort is overbooked and that's all that's left. What happened to our original room? She doesn't know, she doesn't bother to check into it, and she wasn't working then! She informs us when we checked in at 2pm and paid in full - that was 'just a 'pre-check in'. And that one nights rate I paid back in July that was 'just the deposit to hold it.' Like my money and time of no importance!! She said the only options are to get a refund back only of what we paid today, NOT our initial deposit, (we have to call general Westgate reservations but sorry they're closed now!), or take a 1 bedroom / 1 bath villa but she can't give us any money back to take a downgrade because she's not authorized to do that!?!?! Nor would she call anyone else who could. At this point it was after 10pm, our daughter is quietly crying and my husband is saying 'PLEASE just give us our money back' and she calls security on us??? Way to terrorize a child! We called Marriott who we NEVER have issues with but they were full so we begrudgingly took the 1 bedroom. When we got to the room there were no lights on outside and we have two double beds and were told it was two queens. Plus we have no refund for the downgrade!!. It's already midnight and tomorrow morning we have to waste even more vacation time talking to another manager. MR. FISHLOCK - If you're reading this, we will be sending you an email and hope you get in touch with us and make this situation right. I am a travel agent and am actually glad it happened to us and not one of my clients! I'd like to hear your thoughts on the horrible, uncaring, unhelpful attitude we received and hope is not common practice of Westgate resorts and their staff!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidfishlock, General Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay with us. It’s always disappointing to me when a guest has a reservation issue that seems to have a negative effect on the entire stay. My research shows that you arrived at the property with a reservation for a two bedroom lock-off unit. I understand that this type of accommodation would not be suitable for your child to stay in. A true two bedroom would have been more appropriate. Our Front Office manager did make a mistake by assigning you to a two bedroom unit which was already assigned to someone else. That is why you did not get the room number that was written down, however, you were assigned to a unit with a similar floor plan. That unit did not work because your family needed a unit that had little or no steps. Our Front Office Manager would have refunded you your deposit if she had the ability to do so. Since that deposit was collected in Orlando at our corporate headquarters when you first made the booking, we did not have the ability to access the necessary information in order to refund you that deposit. We did make the necessary adjustments to your account the following day. Please accept my apologies to you and your family.

Best Regards
David Fishlock
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

while this facility is a great location and good exterior looks, the room (1-bedroom) we had was in the group of buildings above the parkway (hwy 441) and you could hear the traffic droning at night and in the morning.
also, the walls dont seem that sound-proofed as we could hear adjacent hair-dryer when on.

it does have an excellent looking indoor water feature area but we didnt use nor have chilrdren who demanded this either.

if you go here, be sure to take a ride with your car or the shuttle van to the top of their area to get a free great view of the whole gatlinburg surounding area.

Room Tip: be sure to stay out of the rooms just above the parkway, else you will hear traffic in the morning t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for sharing your great Westgate Smoky Mountains stay experience with us. We appreciate the opportunity to have hosted your visit. We are glad you enjoyed the beauty of our hotel and amenities. We apologize for any discomfort you felt with the design of your unit. We hope we will be fortunate enough to welcome you back to our resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was a beautiful mountain getaway. Great location, easy to get to Gatlinburg on the trolley and offers plenty of conveniences, store, restaurants, spa, pools and water park. Our room was a studio, it was small but very clean and comfortable. We were on a steep hill, and it was extremely quiet so we slept great on the very comfy bed.
The pools were heated so it was nice to take a swim in the evenings after a day of running around.
Overall we loved this place and plan on going back near Fall break.

Room Tip: Studios do not have balconies, so know that going in, but the views are still beautiful from your wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for sharing your great Westgate Smoky Mountains stay experience with us. We appreciate the opportunity to have hosted your visit. We are glad you enjoyed the beauty of our hotel and amenities. We apologize for any discomfort you felt with the design of your unit. We hope we will be fortunate enough to welcome you back to our resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a 4 bedroom unit at the top of a mountain. There were 10 of us and we had a fantastic stay. The rooms were posh. The view was unmatched. We never needed to move car between the shuttles that constantly rotated up and down the mountain and the other complimentary shuttles that took us to points of interest, we did not need to budge our car an inch unless we chose to. I've never been escorted to my room before in a cart but because of the vast size of the resort, Denny, our guide, was indespencible. He showed us to our room, made sure we had enough parking passes and toured us around our rooms. Everyone was friendly and very helpful. We had a wonderful trip and I would like to return to this resort. It is also a timeshare. My experience makes me want to invest. Westgate was impressive!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review. With a property our size, the shuttles are a necessity, and we are pleased that you were able to take advantage of this service. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we will pass along the kind words you had for Denny. We would love for you to come back and visit with us again anytime.

Guest Relations Department Westgate Smoky Mountains
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is a peaceful and beautiful location away for the commercialization of Pigeon Forge. The units are clean and well maintained and staff really tried hard and succeded to make us feel welcome. For a retired couple with some mobility problems, the third level without elevators was an unexpected and unwelcomed challenge. As a Westgate Owner at a different resort, I would insist on a unit on no higher than the second level in the future. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, make sure that you have a ground level unit. the view is not as spectac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidfishlock, General Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us. It’s wonderful to hear that you and your spouse enjoyed our property and that you definitely be back. Once you make your next reservation, please contact me at david_fishlock@wgresorts.com and I will look into assigning you to a room in one of our buildings that has an elevator. I understand your concerns.

Best Regards,
David Fishlock
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort

Address: 915 Westgate Resort Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#18 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 769
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Smoky Mountain resort in Gatlinburg, Tennessee is the perfect place to enjoy the beauty of nature, and a short drive to Dollywood, antique shops, and restaurants. Enjoy nature trails that take you from your cabin into the wooded forest of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Suite villas feature a fully equipped kitchen, and whirlpool tub in the master bathroom. Guests can enjoy two large swimming pools and an indoor water park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Smoky Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Westgate Smoky Mountain Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Tennessee
Westgate Tennessee
Westgate Smokey Mountain Resort
Gatlinburg Westgate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.