We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good base for the Smokies” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts to your Saves list
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   414 Historic Nature Trail, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 88 Hotels in Gatlinburg
maidstone, kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A good base for the Smokies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

I had always wanted to go to this area and I was not disappointed. I love the great outdoors daytime but like something to do in the evenings. From Town Square we could walk to the parkway and back with ease. One night we caught the tram back for 50c each. Parking throughout Gatlinburg is expensive so you need a hotel base here. If we had stayed in Pigeon Forge we could have used the very cheap trams from the visitor centre and parked there free.
We only met two other people from England and they were residents. You are surrounded by the park and the excellent Sugarlands visitor information place gave advice and recommendationf for enjoying our stay. we were unlucky with the weather as it drizzled most afternoons on our first week. The mountains were beautiful then but breathtaking when the sun came out. The park is totally uncommercialised, dont expect to buy any food or drink anywhere once you leave town. The meet and greet at the resort was very good and well worth a bit of time out of your day.
Our best daytime walk was cucumber gap. It was not as easy as the TV channel guide would have you believe. As softies we found it a very long 5 miles but very rewarding. Our best daytime activity was the Wahoo zip lines at Sevierville. Our best evening entertainment was the Circe Du Chine. Absolutely amazing to watch. A perfect finale to our trip. I will never forget this holiday

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    173
    65
    39
    45
See reviews for
220
144
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

We spent a week in a two bedroom condo in Phase II, Building A. The resort had been recently updated and our condo was fresh and clean. We especially liked the wooded view from our balcony. A studio and a one bedroom condo combine through a lock-off door to create the 2 bedroom space. We had two jacuzzi tubs and two fireplaces. The one bedroom side had a stacking washer and dryer in suite which was convenient. The unit would sleep 8 if it's a cozy group, but we found it to be perfect for our family of five. If staying in just the studio side for a week, I would miss the balcony and windows as there is just one window next to the door in the studio. We didn't partake in the activities, but there seemed to be something going on each day. We did use both the indoor pool and outdoor pool and hot tub. The hot tub is very small for a resort this size and is only located near the outdoor pool. I would have liked a hot tub near the indoor pool.

The resort is within walking distance of the entire town. We enjoyed walking to dinner and exercising it off on the "gentle" incline back to the resort. If you like Bar-B-Q, I would highly recommend Bennett's. Be sure to stop and get coupons for town restaurants and that will save you some money. The Log Cabin Pancake House was a short walk and made for a good and reasonable breakfast. For groceries, there is a small grocery store in Gatlinburg, but we stocked up at the Wall Mart in Pigeon Forge.

The only complaint I could give about the resort is that I felt that their "sales presentation" for time shares was the most deceptive that I've attended. We were offered a $25 coupon for Hard Rock Cafe (good in any city - but in reality only good in Gatlinburg for 7 days) which was fine. We were also told that we would receive two weeks of vacation time in a condo. What we were given was a certificate that could be redeemed for a two vacation weeks at a cost of between $398 and $798 for each week depending on when it was used. What was promoted as a gift, really ends up costing money. Avoid the presentation. You'll enjoy your stay much better.

The best thing about the resort is that it is located very close to Smoky Mountain National Park. We are big outdoor people and love hiking and nature. I also like the convenience of a town and going out to eat at nice restaurants. Gatlinburg Town Square is a perfect balance for our family. If you're lucky, you may get to see Big Ears (as named by the night security staff) which is a year old male bear who makes rounds of the property each night. Very exciting for us!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

We have been coming to Gatlinburg for more than 10 years. Year after year we come back to the Town Square. They have an indoor and outdoor pool with Jacuzzi and the rooms are perfect for families. With a seperate lock off unit, 3 TV's a giant jacuzzi in the mater bathroom, and full kitchen, this place is perfect. I read a couple of the other reviews and don't feel they do this place justice. I think those reviews are for the "FREE TIMESHARE RENTALS" which are actually across the street in an old hotel building. These are top notch suites. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

I booked this resort as an RCI points exchange. I was skeptical after reading some of the reviews on Trip Advisor and even had a back up plan for another condo should the accomodations not be acceptable. The unit that I had was the smaller "B" side of a two bedroom lock out. It was very nice. The unit had a fireplace, very nice furniture, small kitchenette, big bathroom and looked to have been fairly recently updated. I was totally surprised in a good way. The parking is tight but I had no problem with my small car. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

Wonderful Resort, everyone so nice. We had a two bedroom unit that would sleep eight, our daughter, grand daughter, her husband, and two great grand daughters loved the location of the resort. Enjoyed every minute of our visit. Our rooms were so nice, we are older and the unit was on the 1st floor which made it wonderful for getting around with our great granddaughters. Loved the parking garage, we had some rain while we were in Gatlinburg, the parking garage made it great to move around with the, did not have to be concerned about them getting wet. Wonderful location, close to restuarants and downtown.

I also forgot some of my clothes, we were about a 100 miles from the resort, when we realized that I had forgotten to get my clothes from the closet. I phoned the resort they said no problem, we have someone that takes care of sending them out when our guest for get. They got my clothes from the closet contacted the company for delivery, and my clothes arrived at the house within a few days, very neatly packed.

How wonderful..
Great Vacation
Marlene Williams and Family

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

We had a great time at this beautiful resort! Helpful staff, clean and all amenities anyone could want! In a perfect location just up the street from downtown Gatlinburg shopping, eating and activities! Also, the trolley runs right in front of this resort, so you can go to Pigeon Forge without moving your car! We skiied and cozied up in front of the fireplace and swam in the huge toasty indoor pool. What a perfect getaway! We look forward to coming in the spring/summer to the outdoor pool, jacuzzi area, and grill and go on hikes and picnics close by in the mountains!

  • Liked — Convienient to everything! Beautiful, clean, lots to do
  • Disliked — cant think of anything!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

We travel RCI timeshare all the time with a group and kids. This place was great. There were not many preplanned kid things, but our teenagers loved walking the strip and hanging out. The pools were good sized (no jacuzzi though). We loved the basketball court and played almost every day. There is a city park up the street about 3 blocks. You can cookout, play basketball, baseball, swing or just toss the frisbee around. Gatlinburg is the place to make your own fun. Like I said, there is not a lot at the resort, but you are just steps away from all the action. The only time we used the car was to go shopping in Pigeon Forge and to check out Dollywood, which was great too.

Good staff and decent amenities. This is not 5 star, but very nice. We bought in Orlando at Summer Bay and this one is almost as nice.

One negative: the elevators need to be a little faster! :-) You had to wait on them, but we took the stairs most of the time for exercise.

Have a great time! We will be back!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts

Address: 414 Historic Nature Trail, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#22 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 night minimum stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatlinburg Town Square Hotel Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.