We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but not fancy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gatlinburg Town Square Resort

Save Saved
You added Gatlinburg Town Square Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort
414 Historic Nature Trail, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 86 hotels in Gatlinburg
Midland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good location but not fancy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I went on vacation here a week ago with my family. My mom used her timeshare to book our rooms, and needless to say this RCI location is not nearly as nice as the Bluegreen resort. The rooms are dated and do not have black out shades. Our room had cheap old blinds and our room window was right under the light , we hung a blanket over it, but it was still extremely bright at night. The stove in my parents room was not working, and the maitenance staff had it replaced within 15 minutes, impressive! The outdoor pool was nice and warm, even after a day of rain! The indoor pool was not heated, which I found strange. The best thing about this hotel is the location. You can easily walk to many attractions. The kitchens and washer and dryer in some units is very nice as well, and there is plenty of hot water!

Room Tip: I would recommend staying close to the elevator. It was quite a walk to our rooms, I think we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    73
    27
    22
    31
See reviews for
88
44
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Ky
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We've stayed here 2x over the past year, most recently in Aug. for our convention. The location is great, a short walk across the street from the Log Cabin Pancake House & about a block from the Convention Center.

The 1st time we stayed in a 1BR condo & this last time we had a 3BR/3BA condo on the 6th floor (only $140 per night in August)! The views facing Mt. LeConte were awesome! The condo was spacious & the decor was fairly modern (although we can lose the plastic fake plants cause they're dust catchers), unlike others we've stayed at which were stuck in the 70's, 80's or even 90's.

We loved the 2 salt water pools, 1 indoor & 1 out. The property is unique in the way the condo buildings are situated & the waterfall in the tower building where the elevators are was a nice touch, as was the cute little BBQ area by the creek behind the back building.

Some of the units are in the process of being updated & the only thing raggedy in our condo was the 1 living room chair, which had frayed & worn fabric.

The down side......no washer & dryer in the 3 BR unit, too tight underground parking, & only 2 elevators for 2 very large buildings & 1 elevator for the other building. It was a long haul trying to get from the end where our condo was in 1 building to the other condo where my sister was in the building directly across from ours.

Our journey involved a long walk on the cat walk to the elevator, waiting for the slow elevator, walking across the courtyard to get to the other building, going down a long indoor hallway until we found the other elevator, waiting on that slow elevator & then walking another long walkway to my sister's condo. It would've been much easier to zipline across from our balcony to hers!

But other than that, no complaints, the staff was very nice & we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Once you park in the underground garage, take the trolley or walk! If you give up your parking space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapmansboro Tn
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have stayed here several different times once with family and other times with my husband. Location is very close to all attractions. We have stayed in several different rooms, I prefer the rooms with the balcony and creek. Overall we will stay again and again. Very nice place to stay and great location.

Room Tip: The rooms with the creek side is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here over the Labor Day weekend. The unit was a 1 bedroom, Room 212A, and we had 4 people. It was clean and located on the creekside near the back. We did have a problem with the air condition unit leaking. The carpet got wet and water went into the bathroom. Maintenance came up several times but did not get it fixed while we were there. They put a dryer in the unit to dry the carpet. We finally put a bowl under the leak. It did not stop us from enjoying Gatlinburg. We were just 2 blocks from town and walking was not a problem. The best way out of the resort is to turn right and then back to the left just before you enter the Park Vista Resort. That road takes you to traffic light #6 which is easier to get out of than #8. The pool outdoors is very small and had very few chairs.

The only complaint we had was with the supervisor of housekeeping. We asked for a later checkout at 11am. At first we were told that would be fine then the supervisor called us back and said no that checkout was at 10am. I told him to be sure that maintenance fixed the air condition unit. I understand the policy but he was very curt after we had been very nice about having wet carpet and floors. Would we stay here again? We will probably try for one of the other resorts first. The location is great but once you have seen all of the t-shirt shops downtown you have seen it all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockmart, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were very pleased with the room at Gatlinburg Town Square. The room was large, clean, and nicely furnished. We would recommend this place and will stay there again. It was very close to all the local attractions

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I have been going to this resort since I was an infant and they have made many changes in the positive direction since then. The rooms have always been great and we have had no problem with them! The service wasn't always the best though, and they didn't have many activities for kids, but now they have a great service and Ping pong, basketball, bingo and rubber duck races for kids! It is an excellent resort with clean and relaxing pools and many activities for all ages! I recommend this resort for anyone looking to stay in the downtown Gatlinburg area!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Quiet. Kitchen was big. Nice sized dining table & living room.

Shower was very, very small.
No activities offered at resort.
Elevators were very slow and exterior of resort needs a facelift. Only view of mountains was from outside hallway and that included looking at hotel next door's parking lot.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gatlinburg Town Square Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatlinburg Town Square Resort

Address: 414 Historic Nature Trail, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Gatlinburg
#48 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 night minimum stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gatlinburg Town Square Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatlinburg Town Square Hotel Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gatlinburg Town Square Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.