We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few more years and bring out the bulldozers” 1 of 5 stars
Review of River Terrace Resort & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added River Terrace Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   240 River Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 86 hotels in Gatlinburg
A TripAdvisor Member
“A few more years and bring out the bulldozers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2005

This outdated place has about 5 years left and it needs to be leveled. We were told we were going to a "premier" resort through world-wide travel. We got there and this place had 50's decor and we were afraid of what "wildlife" might come out in our room at night. The internet says it has a fridge and microwave.... not a chance. We had a nice view of fungus/mold in the shower. The service was fine but the only reason I stayed in this joint was because it was free. My 7 year old cried and wanted to stay somewhere else. Even my 5 year old said the place was a dump.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    112
    83
    56
    73
See reviews for
118
135
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2005

Husband and I (and 2 little yorkies) stayed July 24-28. Our room was so very emaculate and clean, way above and beyond anywhere we have ever stayed before. Every single person on staff that we came in contact with was so very pleasant, kind, helpful and friendly. The location is perfect - just a few steps from the main strip in Gatlinburg, yet far enough from the street to enjoy privacy. We enjoyed the mountain view in the back, and feeding the ducks in the river from our front balcony. The grounds and pools were so very clean! I would recommend this place to EVERYONE, and we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2005

My husband and I recently stayed at the River Terrace Resort in Gatlinburg. I will admit, after reading some of the reviews we were kind of afraid to stay there. When we got there(August 6, 2005), the staff were very friendly. We even got to check into our room 2 hours before normal check in time. Now believe me, this is no "luxury" resort. This is just your average hotel room. But everything was nice and clean. The rooms were very spacious and every room also has a balcony that overlooks the mountains. The location is excellent. It is right next to the Ripley's Aquarium and everything is in walking distance right in the heart of Gatlinburg. The bed was our only complaint because it was a very firm mattress. Overall, the place was clean and comfortable, especially for $70. to $80. bucks a night.

I here it is also pet friendly and we were afraid that there might be an odor there but there was not. This is a night place to stay (especially if you are on a budget!)

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis,tn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2005

I too went online to read about this property and we were hesitant at first, but those people didn't stay at the same property as we did. I asked for the building with the elevator as my husband could not climb stairs. We arrived around 11:00 p.m. on a Friday night and the front desk could not have been more helpful. One of the staff members even moved his car so we could park close to our room! Upon opening our door, we had a huge room with 2 queen beds- micro, refrig and a great working a/c. It was very clean and neat. We could not have been so pleased. We did eat at the property's restaurant the next morning and they did have a problem in the kitchen that morning, but otherwise, the property was great. I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel and can't wait to go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calhoun, GA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2005

We stayed at the River Terrace Resort for a weekend getaway in July 2005. The room rate was reasonable ($99/night for two queen beds) and the location was great!!! You're in walking distance to everything. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was very clean but old and dated. The resort does need to be updated and remodeled. However, overall I would recommend this place as a good choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2005

myself and 6 other family memebers stayed at this resort on the way to go whitewater rafting in another city. We arrived around 10:30 pm and were waited on promptly and courteously. They gave us all the information about their facility from the outdoor heated swimming pool to the 24 hour Jacuzzies available on-site. They also have a restaurant on-site that we were unable to try because it did not open until 7 am and we had to leave by 6:30 am. We did however have one problem shortly after we got there. One of my family members went to turn down her bed linens and noticed one of the pillowcases had dried blood on it. I called the front desk immediately and notified them of the problem and the sent two very courteous gentleman in to remake both beds for us. THey offered to provide us breakfast the following morning for all 7 of us but since the restaurant did not open until 7am and we had to leave before that we were unable to take them up on their offer. THe rooms were very clean and spacious and the staff was wonderful. THe room had a very nice balcony off the back overlooking the river that was absolutley beautiful. Would I stay here again? Absolutely! No Doubts about it!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2005

We travelled from Scotland to the Great Smokey Mountains, and had to climb one to get to our hotel room, with some senior citizens in our party the steep climb proved a bit much for them. We stayed in block five, Hillcrest, on the top level ,so as well as the hill we had a flight of stairs to climb as well. The rooms were clean,tidy and spacious, with great views from the balcony. We did not use the pools on this visit, but have done on previous visits, and they were pretty good. Breakfast was not included in the price of the room, we paid less in other places and breakfast was included. A nice play to stay with friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to River Terrace Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Resort & Convention Center

Address: 240 River Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River Terrace Resort & Convention Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Terrace Resort and Convention Center is just a short drive to Pigeon Forge, Dollywood and other local tourist attractions and activities. You'll be able to relax on your own private balcony or enjoy the breathtaking view of the Great Smoky Mountains. Your choice of lodging and accommodations includes spacious rooms and suites with balconies overlooking the river as well as mountain views. Enjoy two swimming pools, a restaurant and a lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your River Terrace Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Resort And Convention Center
River Terrace Hotel Gatlinburg
River Terrace Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.