We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg

Save Saved
You added Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   705 Cherokee Orchard Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun in Gatlinburg
Ranked #15 of 86 hotels in Gatlinburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great for families!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights on the 9th floor mountain view. It is a very nice hotel for the price. We did the government getaway as we are a military family and you can't beat the value. The Bfast buffet is great and worth it when included in your package. We have 2 boys 3 and 5 and they love the pool andwater slides. They have an outdoor playground too! So much for the money. Our biggest issue is the cost of WiFi... 10$ per device per room. Free WiFi in the lobby was sketchy. Love that this hotel is up off the main drag but close enough to be right there. Trolley will pick you up at the door if you don't want to bother driving and parking. Love this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn B, Manager at Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your review, we're so glad your family enjoyed their stay with us. The govt. leisure package you booked is a great value with the breakfast included. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    748
    501
    220
    139
    83
See reviews for
722
494
25
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, NC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Check in experience was fine. Short wait. Room was ready on the top floor. Stunning view.

Furniture was updated. Linens were fresh, beds were comfy, and the towels thick. Nice TV. Fridge in room, but no safe. Microwave was out by the elevators. The AC unit worked well. Not too noisy. It was an adjoining room with the door thing which allowed for some noise to come through. Our neighbors had a bit of energy which made for some embarrassing moments, but overall it was a quiet room and hotel. One day there was even a couple of high school band groups there, but didn't notice them much. The bar area with patio and fire pit were really nice. We never made it to the pool.

The location is nice in that it is off the main drag a few blocks. It is up on a hill. The view is awesome but the walk up it is a back breaker. They do have a shuttle.

We did the breakfast buffet. It was really nice. Cooked to order omelettes and lots of fresh fruit. The wait staff was very outgoing and friendly.

The bad news was that the cleaning standards were subpar. The sheets were clean, and the sink was wiped down, the wastebaskets were emptied, but the next level of clean was ignored. The carpets had stains and almost felt sticky. The remote had globs of something stuck to it. The room service menu stuck to the desk. Seriously. The drain was slow in the bathroom so if you dropped a deuce in the toilet you had to flush and hold two or three times. The tub drained slow so the water rose about four inches in the tub during a short shower. Yuck. Which also meant that the shower curtain never quite dried and made that part of the bathroom smell of mold.

The other thing that did not sit well was that we had to pay $10 per day per device for internet in the room! Even though we are Hilton Silver, the free internet is only for Gold and above. The free internet in the lobby seemed to have issues so I ended up using my iPhone a lot.

My guess is this is probably the nicest hotel in Gatlinburg. If they raised the overall cleaning standards, it could compete with any hotel anywhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn B, Manager at Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your response, I apologize for the problems you experienced with cleanliness in the hotel. I have passed your comments onto our Exec Housekeeper to ensure these items are corrected. Thank you again for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Close to town, but far enough off the parkway to provide a quiet and peaceful stay. Staff was very friendly and the room was spacious and comfortable. The drive up to the hotel is a little steep. I definitely enjoyed the mountain view. Seeing the mystical smoke rising in the morning was beautiful--especially seeing it at what seemed to be eye level.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn B, Manager at Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your response. We love the view as well and we're so glad you did too. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel was overall a wondeful place to stay. Sits high on the mountain over Gatlinburg. The mountain view from my room was spectacular. The hotel is clean overall. The one morning I ate breakfast, it was really good. I had a problem the next morning with bus loads of kids eating breakfast and could not get in to eat before I checked out. They were also a bit noisy and were pulling pranks as a bunch of kids will do, such as pushing all the elevator buttons. Not good when you are on the 12th floor. Overall though, this is a great place and I will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn B, Manager at Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and our Doubletree breakfast. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The hotel staff was very accommodating, the rooms were clean and spacious, the locatoion was good and the pool area is excellent for families with small children. They give you really good cookies upon check in which was a nice touch. If you wanted to stay on the strip or closer than the Park Vista we find he hotels are usually pretty beat up. The hotel sits up on a significant hill and you really cannot walk down into Gatlinburg but it's a two minute drive with cheap parking available. Your other option is taking the trolley which picks up in the parking lot of the hotel. I saw it once and do not know how often the trolley runs. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1313 which was above where they get deliveries. During our first night I could hear th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn B, Manager at Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your response. We really appreciate the feedback. We hope to see you again soon if your traveling our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

A state fraternal society held their Jurisdictional meetings at the Park Vista/Double Tree in April of 2013. Our accommodations were excellent and the meeting rooms and banquet services were good for accommodating over 300 people. We used audio visual and multimedia projection screen during our event as well as stages. The staff were helpful to our needs as they arose.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn B, Manager at Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. The team appreciates the feedback. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaffney, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The over all look of the hotel and amenities are great! The pool is awesome especially for the kids!!! We just had a problem with the housekeeping not changing our sheet and comforter when we reported that there was 2 stains on them!!! And the showerhead sprayed over the cutain onto the toliet!!! The staff is very polite. We asked for a wak-up call didnt get it!! and it took 4 days to get things straighten out!!! which was the day before we left!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn B, Manager at Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your review, I'm so sorry you had some problems during your stay with us, we hope this will not deter you from coming to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg

Address: 705 Cherokee Orchard Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#13 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Vista a DoubleTree by Hilton Gatlinburg hotel is known for its spectacular views and exquisite service. Overlooking the beautiful Smoky Mountains National Park and the quaint city of Gatlinburg, each guestroom has its own private balcony with amazing views. Conveniently located on the City’s Trolley Route, The Park Vista is only minutes from the many restaurants, shops and attractions that downtown Gatlinburg has to offer. And if your adventures include a visit to Dollywood Theme Park or a day of Outlet Shopping we are only minutes away! All guestrooms include a 42” flat screen television, refrigerator and wireless high-speed internet access. Other hotel amenities include:• In-room Dining• Business Center • Complimentary Wireless HISA in public areas• Spectacular Indoor Pool / Water Park• Outdoor Playground & Arcade• State-of-the-art Fitness CenterEnjoy your favorite beverages and appetizers, expertly created and served in our own Firefly’s Patio Lounge. Or relax and enjoy an enticing menu of freshly prepared Southern-inspired selections at The Vista Grill, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. With just over 25,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space as well as an executive boardroom, our professional catering and convention services team will insure a flawless and memorable experience for your next sales meeting, seminar, luncheon or social event. Whether your next visit to Gatlinburg involves a meeting, leisure or both, our friendly staff will always welcome you to The Park Vista a DoubleTree by Hilton with our signature, warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie and true southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Vista Resort
Park Vista Gatlinburg
Park Vista Motel Gatlinburg Tn
Park Vista Hotel Tenn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.