We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg to your Saves list
Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   705 Cherokee Orchard Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Package
Ranked #14 of 88 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
new jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“awesome slide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

if you are into pools with a slide this would be a perfect place for the kids. they have one for the kids and one for the adults and a very very hot tub. the only drawback is its an indoor pool. also the hotel is away from the main strip but you can take a trolly which is very cheap since parking in the town cost me $10.00 bucks

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    603
    267
    161
    96
See reviews for
854
590
33
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Ga
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

In a city of mediocre and tacky accomodations, the Park Vista-Doubletree rises above the rest. Literally on a small mountain commanding spectacular views and scenery and providng top notch service this hotel is by far one of the best if not THE best hotel to spend time in Gatlinburg. The rooms are spacious and well appointed and kept in tip top condition by an attentive yet subdued staff. A++++++ and would definately stay again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

First of all, I booked this trip after reading many reviews, and mostly considered my two-year-old who loves pools. If you're looking for a Gatlinburg hotel with a great pool, this is it. There were three separate swimming areas. The top level was for older kids and adults with the big slide and hot tub. The water was warmer up there for some reason too. The bottom level had a pool that starts at 0 and moves to 3 feet with fun splashy things and waterfalls. There's also a small pool that is one foot deep all around and a little waterfall. My daughter loved the pool and I wish we had spent more time in it.

We also wanted a nice exercise facility, and it was. The only problem is that the first morning my husband worked out and the temperature was perfect, but the next day it was set at 76 degrees and the thermostat wouldn't move. I worked out, but didn't enjoy the heat. The treadmills have tv's, but there's no volume. There must be a place for headphones, but I didn't see it.

The cookies at check-in were absolutely delicious. The lobby is very nice, and we never had any issues with bad service.

The downside of staying at Park Vista is that in the morning the curtains do not block the sun and it gets very light very early. That's huge for us since we all sleep much better when it stays dark. That is a big deal and would make us much less likely to ever return. They really should consider getting much darker and thicker curtains. We were also on the 15th floor and the air conditioning couldn't keep up really well. I set the two thermostats in the room to 69, but it kept reading between 74-76. We finally noticed we could set it to 60 degrees, and when we did that, it finally brought it down to 72. So those were the big downsides. It may not be as bad to control the temperature on other floors, so if you stay there, ask ahead of time what floor you're on and ask for a floor not so high up.

As for the room, I really liked it. Because the hotel is a big cylinder, the room fans out and it makes the room feel very big. The room with the tub and toilet are small, but the outside sink and mirror space was a nice size. The view was amazing. We could see part city and mountains. It was very nice and I was glad that you cannot go out on the balcony (the door is bolted shut). It would scare me too much, especially with my daughter.

It's too bad that breakfast isn't included, so we brought a hot pot and made oatmeal both mornings and had cereal bars with it. I went down to the restaurant to get milk for my little one and the lady didn't charge me. Very nice.

You definitely shouldn't walk down the hill to get to town. There's no sidewalk, and it would be easy for a car to hit you on the windy road. We were lucky to take our car into town and find a free parking spot for the day. We also did the trolly when we got there, which was nice, but takes much more time.

It is a nice place, especially for the pool, but just ask not to be too high up for temperature reasons. Maybe ask to be facing away from the morning sun to help it be a bit darker in the morning.

Room Tip: Get a lower level on side without sun in morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Nice hotel overall, but this stay was filled with aggravations. Stayed two nights.

Was attracted here by the view and "balcony." We got a 6th floor room, with a view of the rooftop of the pool building. The balcony was a 3 foot wide strip outside the room. No chairs, no table. We had visions of sitting and relaxing with a drink and a view. Not here.
On the plus side, the room was nicely appointed, bed was very comfortable.
On the aggravations side, our first morning, we were awakened at 8:30 by the sound of someone from maintenance drilling through a wall near us. Not cool!
Then when we went to shower, the drain was clogged and we had 4" of water in the tub.
We informed the front desk as we left for the day. When we got back at 6:00 PM, we were planning to take a short nap, then catch the trolley into town. We found the drain had been cleared, but housekeeping had never taken care of the room. We had two messages saying they couldn't get in to the room. Didn't make sense, since maintenance had gotten in to clear the drain. Called down to the front desk and asked to towels, and coffee. 45 minutes later, nothing. Called down again, and seems our original call had gotten lost. Ten minutes later houskeeping shows up empty handed asking what we needed. An hour and a half after our first call, we had towels, but never got our nap.
On our way down to the trolley we stopped and asked for a manager. We explained all the issues, got apologies up and down, and were told an adjustment would be made to our bill to.
We came back to the hotel at 10:15, expecting to get dinner in the restaurant, found that it closed at 10:00 PM, even though the brochure in our room clearly said it was open until 11:00.
Next morning, bill was under the door, NO ADJUSTMENTS. While the wife went down to talk to the daytime manager, I called down for a Bellboy and cart for our luggage. Waited 10 minutes, nothing. Walked out to the inner corridor and could look down 6 floors and see the Bellboy standing there just waiting. Just as I was going in to call again, I saw someone walk up to him and off he went with them. Decided to go down and get a cart myself, but there were none. Five minute later he returned, and told me he never got a call for our room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

The hotel was nice. Room was clean and any requests made to housekeeping were promptly fulfilled. The rooms and beds were comfortable. The Gatlinburg trolley comes to the hotel which is convenient. The breakfast buffet was good with lots to chose from and cooked to order eggs, omelets and waffles. My two boys (both under 10 years) really liked the pool. Only problem, the entire pool deck and seating area it is very warm to the point of being uncomfortable. Maybe need a new ventilation system. Other than that everything was good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

The grounds were gorgeous and the views outstanding ! The trolley comes every 15 mins to 1/2 hour to take you downtown. Location is perfect, right off the roaring fork motor nature trail. The desk staff need to be more efficient. They checked us in , gave us the keys, but 24 hours later we were getting phone calls telling us we were marked as a no show and they asked us our names over the phone ... and that was both the front desk staff and housekeeping...huh ??? ...Geesh ! We booked several months in advance ( 6) but yet were given room 1313......i never heard of any hotel having a 13th floor, its just not done. Staff was not sure of what services the concierge offered. Often no staff at front desk. Rooms were clean, bathrooms way too small , just enough room for tub and commode. The bar staff was excellent and very nice and accomodating and well informed about the area, so when we needed to know something we asked the bar staff. The wait staff at the wonderful breakfast buffet were also very accomodating and even remembered what my party of 3 wanted to drink each morning without asking us. Now that was impressive.!! Room service inconsistent. First night young gal came and fries were nice and hot..........two nights later and older lady came and fries were cold and rubbery......that should not be ! Over all, the price was good. Do not believe the free high speed internet, what they dont tell you is that its only in the lobby. They dont have wi-fi in room which is odd for a Hilton owned hotel and is antiquated. I mean , come on, almost all hotels have wi-fi now. Though recent upgrades made many improvements, there is still much to be desired ( like popcorn painted walls in hallways, ugh!) and could have been done better but I would stay there again without hesitation. Lovely hotel !

Room Tip: choose a mountain view its worth 10 dollars more
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMParkvista, General Manager at Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Dear HEARTNHORSE;

Thank you for staying with us. I apologize for the mix up with your room. We are very happy to have several new staff members and are working as quickly as possible to get everyone acquainted with everything there is to see and do in the area, as well as all of the proper steps in taking great care of our guests. We also are very lucky to have many staff members who have been a part of our team for a long time and are very knowledgeable on our area and our hotel. Hope you will return to visit with us again soon.
Travel Safely,
Jackelyn Schafer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

When the best you can do is average, you have a problem. When average beats out the substandard hotel scene which is Gatlinburg, TN - you have it made.
The hotel is nestled in the smokies and offers incredibly views, has lovely rooms and a great childrens pool area &the prime rib is amazing.
Unfortunately the hotel goes downhill in every other area imaginable. The staff and management are to put it nicely, unkept/ unprofessional and on a good/ bad note they accept bribes quite readily. These people are a notch above their competition based solely on their retention of teeth.
Examples:
When checking in I was unable to communicate with the front desk clerk who did not understand the words retainer/ hold/ bond etc. It was a mess.

We ordered and paid for our room a week in advance requesting that our friends be in proximity of our room - their idea of proximity was putting these friends directly below our room - they saw no variance in their effort and our request.

When our friend went to the front desk to find another room on our floor they were promptly upgraded and slipped a room that goes for up to $100 more than what they paid - next time I'll reserve the room at the hotel and bring cash for bribes.

On the plus side:
We were able to see a wedding party which included a Wayne Newton and Ashley Judd impersonators, not as entertainment but in the role of groom and daughter of the bride - hilarious.
I have not seen this many rhinestone encrusted butts since the early 1980's bedazzler's popularity.
Doubletree cookies make up for a multitude of errors and as I stated earlier, this is the best hotel the city has - so it is pretty much downhill (and a steep one at that) from here!

Room Tip: Book on orbitz and upgrade with cash at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMParkvista, General Manager at Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Dear dfelt01;

Thank you for visiting us, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with The Park Vista or the city of Gatlinburg.
Travel Safely
Jackelyn Schafer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg

Address: 705 Cherokee Orchard Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#14 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg 3*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Vista a DoubleTree by Hilton Gatlinburg hotel is known for its spectacular views and exquisite service. Overlooking the beautiful Smoky Mountains National Park and the quaint city of Gatlinburg, each guestroom has its own private balcony with amazing views. Conveniently located on the City’s Trolley Route, The Park Vista is only minutes from the many restaurants, shops and attractions that downtown Gatlinburg has to offer. And if your adventures include a visit to Dollywood Theme Park or a day of Outlet Shopping we are only minutes away! All guestrooms include a 42” flat screen television, refrigerator and wireless high-speed internet access. Other hotel amenities include:• In-room Dining• Business Center • Complimentary Wireless HISA in public areas• Spectacular Indoor Pool / Water Park• Outdoor Playground & Arcade• State-of-the-art Fitness CenterEnjoy your favorite beverages and appetizers, expertly created and served in our own Firefly’s Patio Lounge. Or relax and enjoy an enticing menu of freshly prepared Southern-inspired selections at The Vista Grill, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. With just over 25,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space as well as an executive boardroom, our professional catering and convention services team will insure a flawless and memorable experience for your next sales meeting, seminar, luncheon or social event. Whether your next visit to Gatlinburg involves a meeting, leisure or both, our friendly staff will always welcome you to The Park Vista a DoubleTree by Hilton with our signature, warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie and true southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Vista Resort
Park Vista Motel Gatlinburg Tn
Park Vista Gatlinburg
Park Vista Hotel Tenn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.