We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good barbecue in a tiny restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hungry Bear BBQ # 1

Hungry Bear BBQ # 1
2263 East Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Hungry Bear BBQ)
(865) 325-8048
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 157 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good barbecue in a tiny restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We had 9 people and tried a bunch of the menu items. The pulled chicken sandwich was very good. Sauce choices were very good. Pulled pork was also very good and the ribs were a highlight.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    122
    38
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Meriden, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great BBQ.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We recently visited the Gatlinburg area. Of course when in the south we are always in search of good BBQ. We were pleasantly surprised when we spotted the Hungry Bear! The plumes of smoke from the smoker out front gave us a hint that this was the place!! We ate there twice during the week and also enjoyed our leftovers. Very casual dining. Ample portions with delicious sauces to choose from. The pulled pork is fantastic. The boneless rib sandwich is excellent. the ribs fell off the bone and were finger sucking good!! Not to mention the sides that were also tasty.
Wish we had one in our area of the country!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Wayne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fall off the bone ribs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We stop in here at least 3 times a week whenever we stay in the area. I love the ribs best of all with the sweet sauce. The brisket is great too. The hot sauce is too spicy for me. We generally get carry out of meat only and add our own sides at the condo, so I can't comment on the side dishes. Don't stop too late in evening, they do run out!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, Missouri
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Small off the road diner big taste!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We were told by the locals to eat here that is was the best BBQ . It was awesome . The smoky taste to the meat was great fall off the bone ribs . I got the three meat combo with 2 sides $12 . I didn't like the potato salad skip that but the green beans were great. You must eat here. It's tiny right off the road.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonald, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Yummy barbeque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We wanted barbeque and the this place was away from the busy streets of Gatlinburg. The food was very good and the service was excellent. It was nothing fancy but if you are looking for a good meal this is the place to go. I had the ribs and pulled pork. Excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungry Bear BBQ # 1 also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Hungry Bear BBQ # 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hungry Bear BBQ # 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.