We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cabin Cafe - CLOSED

The Cabin Cafe
600 Glades Road, #10, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
865-325-1000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Coffee Shop, Sandwiches, Dessert, Vegetarian, Vegan, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating
Lyman, South Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

IN love with this place! Adorable on the inside and the food and service was wonderful! My husband got a mocha and I got the tomato basil soup and both were perfect. I am particular about tomato basil, its either really good or not good at all. This was perfect! It's fresh tomato soup, not canned, and the basil they cut into strips. The flavor is fresh and it keeps you warm up there. Great! Will def. go back to this place on our next stay!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    45
    22
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Smoky Mountain Quiche”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This little cafe is hidden away behind some craft stores on the Gatlinburg arts & crafts community trail. Its fun when you stumble upon a little treasure like this.

The chef cooks up the meals from scratch, and the spinach quiche was fantastic. We also had some creamy pea soup which really took the chill off a cold, winter day. The plate was drizzled with a balsamic vinegar reduction which added just a little tang to the meal. Fantastic.

We got the last of the spinach quiche. When the chef runs out, he runs out. My bet is everything on the menu is great, so it wouldnt bother me to try something else.

While the rest of the tourists were hitting the hamburger joints, we sat back and enjoyed a real treat. I almost hesitate to write a review, as it would be nice to keep this spot a secret. We visited in the winter, but there are shady, outside seats too that would be fun in the spring.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just got coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We just ordered coffee and it was good. The service was friendly. Based on the sights and smells in the restaurant, we want to go back for lunch! It looked and smelled great.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Love This Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We just happened to drop in here by chance. Glad we did! The resturant is quaint and home like.
Ive included two pictures. We had a nice little chat with the head chef and waitress, both were very friendly and outgoing and they took great pride in the resturant. Seems to me it's not always just about the food but about the people also. The food however is great. My wife and I split a bbq pulled pork sandwitch. It was tender and just the right touch of bbq sauce. They use the Nealy's sauce on the pork and it pairs well with the tender pork. They also serve soups and wraps. Everything looked great as I have a habbit of peeking at the offerings as they are delivered to tables.
Great place, give it a try..
Gary

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We found The Cabin Café after a fun day of shopping in the arts & crafts community. We instantly loved the warm, friendly atmosphere. The owner was there, working alone, and he was great company. You truly do leave his establishment feeling as though you've made a friend.

I had a delicious spinach salad (Popeye something or other) and my friend had egg salad that she said was very good. We both loved the tomato basil soup and we shared a slice of chocolate banana Bundt cake that was to die for.

We returned the next night to dine there again, but we didn't make it before they had closed. We'll definitely return whenever we are in the art community.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cabin Cafe also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cabin Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.