We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT EXIST” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Taste Of India - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Taste Of India
3220 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37863
8654288686
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
Description: Authentic Indian Cuisine Restaurant with wide variety of vegan and non-vegetarian dishes. Lunch Buffet till 3:00 PM
Restaurant details
Description: Authentic Indian Cuisine Restaurant with wide variety of vegan and non-vegetarian dishes. Lunch Buffet till 3:00 PM
Edison, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“DO NOT EXIST”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We made several phone calls to the restaurant to see if they are open. No one answered. I believe they went out of business or maybe they were closed. Never bothered to look for them while driving in downtown

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    0
    1
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Do not go to this place. My wife and I had never had Indian food before, so we said hey let's try this buffet and we can get a little taste of everything. We had trouble finding some really good food in the area, but this place was the worst. We would both put Taste of India at the top of the list of worst places we ever ate. If you've ever seen Vegas Vacation with Randy Quaid asking for some of 'the yellow' and 'the blue' that's exactly what it was like. They have a few pans out of different colored soups (not really soups, but I don't know what else to call it) that you could put on top of rice. The naan was good, but that was it. The cold mozzarella balls in syrup for dessert was the cherry on top.

Do yourself a favor and do not go to this place. The people who are giving it 4 or 5 stars have to be the owner or owner's family...otherwise they are on crack. If you go here I promise you'll be as upset as we were.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very bad food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We ordered take out, and after waiting for about 50 minutes finally got it.
After spending over $50 and over 50 minutes waiting for the food, imagine our shock when the food was so bad, we ended up throwing away over half of it!! The easiest thing to prepare - the papadum was also half cooked... which they had given us fried instead of the roasted ones we asked for! I don't even want to start talking about the biryani or the daal! Being from Houston, I've eaten really good Indian food in restaurants...

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
1 review
“THIS PLACE SUCKSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

This places food is the worst in all of TN i wouldnt recommend this place at allllll. Stay away. The service is horrible the people are rude , the food is not even mediocre its the worst place in all of gatlinburg. I would not suggest going here i would recommend MC Donalds than this over priced restaurant.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We ate at this place during our christmas vacation and it was of poor quality. The tables were dirty, food not cooked well, and service was poor- slow. The drinks that we ordered showedup when we were done with our meal. We ordered Rice Paulav and they just threw some rice and peas and served that as Paulav. Would not recommend to customers who have tasted authentic Indian food before to try this place.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste Of India also viewed

 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taste Of India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.