We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moonshine Distillery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ole Smoky Moonshine Distillery

Ole Smoky Moonshine Distillery
903 Parkway, Ole Smoky Moonshine Holler, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
865-436-6995
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 97 things to do in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ole Smoky is the first federally licensed moonshine distillery in the state of Tennessee. A visit to Ole Smoky is the true moonshine experience. As you approach the entrance, you can detect the distinct smell of our grains cooking and fermenting. You’ll see authentic working moonshine stills and experience the process from beginning to end. Our distillers will take the time to visit with you and answer any questions about the history and lore of moonshining in East Tennessee.After you see, smell and hear about the process, we offer you a taste of our shine for free. Samples of our Original Unaged Corn Whiskey, White Lightnin’ and Moonshine Cherries – plus we offer seasonal and special flavors that aren’t available in package stores. And of course, you’ll be able to buy plenty of moonshine and Ole Smoky merchandise to take home with you.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Moonshine Distillery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Its worth the wait so that you can get the feel of the place and the characters giving out samples. Find the funniest guy or gal to serve you and it is a blast!!!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,940 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,275
    496
    120
    28
    21
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Range, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We had a great time looking around here and looking at how moonshine is made. It's also great that they do have their own parking behind the building which was great because it is hard to find good parking in Gatlinburg. Also, all the workers were really friendly and the sampling area was great. It was busy when we were there in May but it wasn't a long wait at all to try out the Moonshine. The store merchandise was also really nice and outside of the building their was music being played. A must when your in Gatlinburg!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A great experiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stopped by Ole Smoky Moonshine Distillery on January 31,2014 and we are so glad we did. First of all, outside there were rocking chairs and out-door heaters that faced a stage where good ole' country boys strung the banjo and sang their hearts out. Once you actually enter the distillery you are greeted with the bartenders in overalls which I thought was extremely hilarious but so appropriate. I can't remember the bartender's name who helped us but he was AWESOME. They definitely aren't greedy with their moonshine and will even mix different flavors, we actually had to tell the bartender we were done because he kept on pouring us shots. Now for the real review of the moonshine..it was GREAT! It was very smooth, my personal favorites were the peach, lemon drop, and black berry but they were all tasty. I recommend going on a weekday because Saturday's are a mad house! We barely could get in and it was elbow to elbow. Overall, if your in the area you must try it out!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soddy Daisy
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“What an Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I am not a drinker but one must go into Gatlinburg and learn about a piece of southern history. Johnny Baker and his staff do an incredible job with the moonshine store, museum and live music stage outside. There is every kind of moonshine you can think of and if not, they will blend a few together for you, like peanut butter & jelly, blackberry cobbler etc. The staff are experts in making the tasting a real show and great fun even for someone in the background, just watching. I bought the number one seller of apple pie for my son for valentines day! The store does sell a product but also gives you a show in the process. I think the new store opening at the Island in the spring in Pigeon Forge will be a success.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“So much fun ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

You must stop here at least once - the sampling is fun and the workers really get you into it. Super low key. We even had 2 people in our party who didn't want to sample but quickly changed their mind when they saw the cherries being offered!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ole Smoky Moonshine Distillery also viewed

 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Ole Smoky Moonshine Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole Smoky Moonshine Distillery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.