We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ole Smoky Moonshine Distillery

Ole Smoky Moonshine Distillery
903 Parkway, Ole Smoky Moonshine Holler, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
865-436-6995
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 97 things to do in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ole Smoky is the first federally licensed moonshine distillery in the state of Tennessee. A visit to Ole Smoky is the true moonshine experience. As you approach the entrance, you can detect the distinct smell of our grains cooking and fermenting. You’ll see authentic working moonshine stills and experience the process from beginning to end. Our distillers will take the time to visit with you and answer any questions about the history and lore of moonshining in East Tennessee.After you see, smell and hear about the process, we offer you a taste of our shine for free. Samples of our Original Unaged Corn Whiskey, White Lightnin’ and Moonshine Cherries – plus we offer seasonal and special flavors that aren’t available in package stores. And of course, you’ll be able to buy plenty of moonshine and Ole Smoky merchandise to take home with you.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Moonshine tasting is the perfect prelude to finding the perfect taste for you. Sipping on my Hunch Punch now while writing this review. Love it...definitely a must do!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,940 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,275
    496
    120
    28
    21
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“What's not to like about free shots?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is the first legal moonshine distillery in Tennessee, and they have a wide variety of flavored moonshines to fit every taste. They even let you sample them to be sure you like it before you buy it - just be sure to bring your ID showing proof of age.

This year, a companion store arrived in Gatlinburg as well: Davey Crockett's Tennessee Whiskey, which had a wide variety of flavored whiskeys and creams. They also give free samples - just be sure to walk it off before you drive home!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Didn't drink them all but it is fun to.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The moonshine was wonderful. You can taste all their flavors and there is no charge. They start with the strongest first. I would have liked it is they started with the weakest first. I couldn't get thru all of them. But; I'm not a big drinker when it comes to shots. It was a wonderful experience and our bartender was very entertaining.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Samples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Try before you buy. this place was very interesting. they check your ID then line up bottles of everything they make and start serving up the samples free of charge. the bartender will give you the low down on the company and the different products as you sample the goods. Great time , and very interesting.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“What fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

"Apple Pie" moonshine was featured on one of my favorite TV series (Justified), so I really wanted to try it. I did, along with a few other flavors. My husband tried them all, as our kids looked on (one curious, one thoroughly embarrassed!). It was a fun and educational atmosphere, with live entertainment outside. Nice break for mom and dad.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ole Smoky Moonshine Distillery also viewed

 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Ole Smoky Moonshine Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole Smoky Moonshine Distillery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.