We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your average motel...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Roaring Fork Motel & Cottages

Roaring Fork Motel & Cottages
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Roaring Fork Motel & Cottages to your Saves list
Roaring Fork Motel & Cottages
124 Roaring Fork Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 88 Hotels in Gatlinburg
London, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Your average motel...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

It was a little out of the way for the main strip attractions but a decent price for what it was. The room looked like a cottage on the inside but a regular motel on the outside. We paid $45 for the night. All in all, I would recommend it on a pinch but I wouldn't stay there for an extended period of time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    5
    2
    6
See reviews for
4
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here for our second night on a roadtrip, and I must say our initial reaction was a little apprehensive as it looks kind of shady. However, the woman who runs the place was absolutely lovely and accommodating and our room was nicer than anticipated. We paid $45 for the night in a little cabin room with 2 beds. No bugs, clean, good bathroom, water pressure was good. The wifi was really patchy, which was important to me because I'm Canadian and couldn't text, so I could only communicate with home via the internet. The value for this place was great, we stayed in worse places for more money in other cities. My only qualm is that it's away from the main strip of Gatlinburg, which is a super cute and very fun tourist town. I'd have liked to have been closer to that strip, but in all, the room was good, service was good and you couldn't beat the price!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Great price for what you get. April, who works desk very friendly. Rooms were very clean. Only strange thing was no phone in cottage. We would definitely come back and stay again and recommend this place to friends and fa mily. Although, if I came during another season, I would want an indoor pool.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were there on pick season and we had not booked anything before reaching there due to uncertainity or unplanned visit.
Room was cozy but with kitchen. Not very attractive but really good for price.

I may consider it again if any unplanned visit there and need to stay just for a night.

Room Tip: Choose room with kitchen if you want to stay there and you can have mini cabin feel (note: there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grundy, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I have took a trip to Gatlinburg every year we have been together and stayed at this place all but 3 times, out of the 10 times we have been down, This year was the worst possible year there, I mean I had to beg for towels, vacumn my own room, make my own bed. They were so busy PARTYING, they couldn't even get the dirty towels so guess what we let them pile up! I have to say this place has turned into a DUMP! We will never stay here again!!!!! Would not reccomend to the homeless, sorry but its the truth!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We originally made reservations by phone and were quoted 45$ per night for a two bedroom cabin for four nights.Upon arrival we found the cabin to be clean and comfortable but very dated and a little run down. Despite what their site said it was not within walking distance to downtown Gatlinburg or the trolley. Considering the price we stayed anyway and were told that if we wanted to extend it would be no problem. We opted to stay an extra night which was Sunday and were told not to pay for it until checkout. What a surprise when we we were charged 86$ for one extra night. Their reason was that it was the weekend rate. Now I know us Yankees may not be the smartest people in the world but up north here the weekend is considered to be Friday And Saturday night, not Sunday night. The bottom line is the place is O.K. for 45$ a night but for 86$ it's a dump.

Room Tip: No maid service so be prepared to do your own housekeeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Pros: price, service, location, bubbling sound of the Roaring Forks, full kitchen, free internet

Cons: a little run down, dirty dishes & stained bath towels

If you're touring the Smokies and don't want to stay on Gatlinburg's chaotic, loud strip, this is a great spot. Located at the terminus of the Roaring Forks Motor trail, you can pay an extra $10 a night for a full kitchen, giving you quite a lot of space to spread out. It's not the nicest looking establishment, but perfect for people who want to fix some of their own meals and avoid the traffic, tourist traps and expense of downtown. Unlike the strip, however, there is little to nothing within walking distance.

Room Tip: You must reserve a room with a kitchen if you want one (the website can make it sound like they all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roaring Fork Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roaring Fork Motel & Cottages

Address: 124 Roaring Fork Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 88 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Roaring Fork Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roaring Fork Motel & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.