We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse Than Motel 6” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Gatlinburg Downtown

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Inn Gatlinburg Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 East Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #61 of 86 hotels in Gatlinburg
MONTGOMERY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Worse Than Motel 6”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here on New Year's Eve 12-31-2012. The parking is absolutely horrendous. The rooms are very outdated and the sheets on one of our beds was either dirty or stained. There was mold growing around the tub and on the bathroom walls. Curtains had burn marks or slit marks in them. If you're looking for a quick place to just sleep and leave this would not be a bad place but that's about it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    49
    70
    58
    38
See reviews for
114
89
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I had read all the reviews and decided to take them with a grain of salt, some people are never satisfied. We liked the rates, room location, staff was very helpful at all times of the day or night. As for someones review about the "old fashioned" television give me a break!! The only comlaint we had was the cleaning people did nothing except empty the trash and put fresh towels. The never made the beds at all. I didn't say anything until we were checking out so the motel had no idea until then. Also I was accidently charged too much and when I brought this to their attention I was given a refund with no problems at all. I plan to stay again in July and December to see the parades. So yes I would most defiantly stay again.

Room Tip: I liked the third floor to view the parade from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay! I generally always have a good experience when lodging because I TIP the housekeepers. They usually will go above and beyond to make your stay better if you show your appreciation for them. housekeepers don't make a lot of money and work extra hard to clean up our mess!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed here for two weeks in 2011 for an extended Independence Day vacation. Was a little weary about staying here at first after viewing the website. Was pleasantly surprised during the stay. The rooms were very clean and was very nice to have a fridge after long days spent hiking in the mountains. Excellent location, didn't take long to get to hiking spots. Couldn't beat the price either. Only problem we had was with the Wifi.

Room Tip: We stayed on ground floor in the main building, had easy access to car and walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I would like to express my disappointed in this hotel (through email since no one has returned my call) this past weekend. December 7 - 9 2012. Our room number was 121. We had reservations for Friday through Sunday but we ended up checking out on Saturday. We visit Gatlinburg several times a year. Along with many friends and family. Usually in December for the Christmas parade, around Valentines Day, sometime in early spring and again in fall when the fall colors begin to change. We have enjoyed the Christmas parade for more than six years. We decided to try the Howard Johnson because of the location. Our room was clean and bed was comfortable, however, my daughter ended up getting very sick with a stomach virus on Friday December 7. It was a very long night for us and my husband ended up trying to find a 24 hour pharmacy to get our daughter some medicine at 3am. Before 9 o'clock on Saturday morning my husband went down to the front office to request more trash bags, wash cloths and a set of sheets. He explained to the women at the front desk that our daughter had been up all night sick and was told the cleaning lady would be making her rounds. ?? My husband seen the clean lady on his way back to the room and was able to get 2 wash cloths. My husband also explained to her that we had a sick child and needed the other items. He even told her we would be glad to change the sheets and empty the trash our-self, we just needed the items. She said "OK, your in room 121, OK I got it". So we thought someone would be coming to our room at the most 30 minutes?! NOPE! At 1 O'clock we decided we were not getting any trash bags or sheets or ANY service at all. THIS IS OVER 4 HOURS LATER! We decided to check out and go home (which is 3 hours away) went to the front office to check out and the same lady ask why we were checking out and my husband told her that no one ever came to our room to help us with the items we needed. The lady told him that the cleaning people were making rounds to get the rooms ready for people checking in. My husband told her he understood that BUT we had a sick child and needed those items. Her response was....I'm sorry I hope she feels better!

Customer service and service in general stinks!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KINGSPORT
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Due to a cancelation, we got upgraded to a king size with fireplace for the same price! However, the Wi-fi would not reach our room which is supposed to be an included feature. Other than the internet issue, the staff was great and room was very nice!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Gatlinburg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Gatlinburg Downtown

Address: 200 East Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 86 hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Gatlinburg Downtown 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Gatlinburg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Gatlinburg
Howard Johnson Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.