We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid it” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Terrace Inn on the Water

Terrace Inn on the Water
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Terrace Inn on the Water to your Saves list
Terrace Inn on the Water
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   396 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avoid it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Unclean. Smoke smell in rooms. No wi fi. Free wifi is a gimmick. If u cant find any other hotels on internet dnt worry der r plenty available for walk in at lower price. Plenty if vacant ones in pigeon forge which is 10 mins away. Waste of money. Will never ever stay here again. Thank god i had booked only for one night

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    5
    6
    12
See reviews for
6
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bay st louis
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

MY family stayed here in April 2012 easter for 6 nights. We found this hotel in a welcome center ad in the travellers coupon book, and it was much lower cost than the other hotel in the area and many were booked up. Overall, the room was clean we were a family of five and we stayed in a non smoking room on the lower floor. The staff/owners were all nice and friendly and we never requested room to be cleaned but they did ask everyday for trash and if we needed towels. The pros to this hotel is that the price was good, outside the rear door was a fast running water stream like ten feet away, had one rocker on the outside and a few chairs, was nice and quit inside for the water makes alot of noise but when the door was closed we did not hear it much. It is between 1 and 2 markers of the strip so one can walk to just about everythang in city. The room had a frig, and micr. and coffee pot. As for cons, is an older property and could use some repair but it looked like they were working on it, tv is very out dated and batterys in remote were dead. Also there is no area to wash and dry items, and they really need an ice maker. Also we had several problems with the wi fi. The main reason I would stay here again is price and the stream outside the room. The area is not a private for it faces another hotel on the other side of the stream.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor nice and close to water
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, SC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We checked in late on Friday night because the other hotel we were booked at wouldn't let us check in due to the weight of our dog. The Terrace Inn has a pet friendly room that has a no smoking sign on the outside of the door. The room smelled like a 100 people had been in there smoking all day prior to our arrival. We turned the air conditioner on and it sounded like it had a hole in it's muffler. There was no place to walk our dog (yes, we keep plastic bags to clean up). After 2 hours of smelling the stench and the realization that our dog was not going to be able to relieve herself we checked out and drove back home. $77 wasted.

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker, don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012 via mobile

I stay here almost every year with my dad, sister and grandmother for Christmas. There's a reason we keep coming back! A great location with nice comfortable rooms and great service.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toccopola, Mississippi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Had I read the reviews I wouldn't have looked at the ad in the travellers coupon book. As it was we were only stopping the night late on a through trip and it was cheap. Everything was clean with no cobwebs and the bed was comfy and clean. There was a slight odor of smoke in a nonsmoking room (room 111) but a little air blew that out. The owners were nice enough and the balconies over the river were nice with a family of ducks swimming about. It was as good as the Best Western (which was too close) across the stream for less money. There was a rocker on the balcony but the rest of the furniture was flimsy plastic. The batteries in the remote were shot but it was just a sleep spot anyway. All the apliances worked including the coffee maker though the coffee itself was awful. The fridge had to be turned on and took awhile to get cold though. The pool is still out but who swims except kids? Yeck communal body stew.

Then the next morning we saw an ad and for about 10 bucks more we could have stayed at the riverhouse lodge which is normally about 110. Nooooooooooooooooo. We love that place. Damn being cheap. I liked the ducks though. Oh, and the restaurant served a nice trout just down the street a block.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

Made a reservation for one night. Website showed decent looking room. That's where it ends. We arrived around 9:30pm. I knew we were in trouble when I had to ring the bell to get the manager to open the door and check me in. She arrived to the door barefooted. Upon entering the office, the smell of chicken curry overwhelmed me. Once we got to our room it looked decent except for the mold in the corner ceiling. I don't think they ever dusted. No remote control for the TV. My closet is bigger than what they called a bathroom. For $55 there have to be better options out there in Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010 via mobile

When arrived I asked about the rate posted on website. I was told it was for walk in only. I was told because I made reservation I couldn't have that rate. People who were with me didn't have reservations but they wouldn't give them the rate on site was told had to have coupon and when told they would go get one was told because they still couldn't have the rate posted because they didn't mention it first I did. Owners were very rude and disrespectful. Had to go to office at 11 pm to get toilet paper because no one would answer phone at front desk. No coffee or cups in room. Was told if we wanted ice had to leave our cabin and get from hotel. Showers had cold water and shower heads were so low me at 5'1" had to bend to wet and wash my hair. So no I will never stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terrace Inn on the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Inn on the Water

Address: 396 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Terrace Inn on the Water 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under New Management! Newly Renovated! 12 Hotel Style Rooms! 6 Cabin Cottage Rooms! Every Room has a Balcony Over the Water! Everything new in and outside of rooms! Just reopened in March of 2009 with major updates to the property! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Terrace Inn on the Water reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrace Inn On The Water Hotel Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terrace Inn on the Water, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.