We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Smoky Arts and Crafts Community

Great Smoky Arts and Crafts Community
Gatlinburg, TN 37738
800-565-7330
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 48 Attractions in Gatlinburg
Type: Art Galleries, Specialty Shops, Cultural
Activities: Arts and crafts, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A community of artists and artisans selling their wares where you can find everything from basket weaving, to painting and metal smithing.
MD
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I never get tired of this area. All original products. Very friendly people. I particularly like 2 of the woodworking shops and always buy something. Lots of history to be learned if you talk to some of the craftsmen.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    142
    53
    10
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Stop here to partake in the amazing talent of the Smoky Mountains artists!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I had a pair of moccasins made for me - *hand made* by Panther Moccasins. Best pair of shoes I own! Kept my feet warm all winter without the least amount of sweaty feet. WOW!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Hidden Gem of Gatlinburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

If you go to Gatlinburg and you don't take a day to visit the arts and crafts community, you are missing the best of Gatlinburg. Alewine Pottery is awesome. We bought about $1000 worth of mugs and lamps and vases for our home. The craftwork is astounding. The maple leaves carved into every piece make this pottery stand out and a shoe-in must have for any home in the northern US and Canada. Can't wait to get home and start using the giant soup mugs!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Away from the hustle and bustle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We wanted to get some souvenirs for our moms and decided to try here. It's before downtown so it's not as crazy traffic wise. They have a bunch of little shops. From pottery, to paintings, to Christmas decorations, food, candles, and more. It was fun to wander around for an hour before lunch. Prices were pretty average for home arts and crafts. Worth a visit

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lots of shops closed on Sunday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our busy long weekend got away from us and we didn't get out to Glades road until Sunday. We found lots of shops closed for the day which was disappointing. Alewine Pottery was open and we enjoyed our shopping there.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Smoky Arts and Crafts Community also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Great Smoky Arts and Crafts Community? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Smoky Arts and Crafts Community, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.