We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   635 River Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 86 hotels in Gatlinburg
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Good Place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were there over the Christmas Holiday and the staff was excellent. We ate every meal in the restaurant and the food was stellar! The Breakfast buffet was the best and Christmas Dinner was delicious. I am a Chef and I was very impressed. They only complaint was the low water pressure in the shower. Other than that we had a wonderful Christmas holiday stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to impress another chef with our great food. Our kitchen staff does such a great job to exceed the expectations and I'm glad they were able to accomplish that with you. Thank you for chosing to spend your Christmas holiday with us and if there is ever any assistance that I can provide, please don't hesitate to contact me.

Thank you,
Eric Treadway
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    431
    201
    71
    25
    12
See reviews for
233
339
10
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Overall experience was good. Only downfall was that our room window faced a designated smoking area and we could hear the smokers talk. No complimentary breakfast. Location was nice, just one block from main road.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hello Robert C, thank you for choosing to stay with us and posting your review. I'm glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I want to make sure that next time you have the best stay possible, so please never hesitate to let us know if there are things that hinder you from leaving our hotel saying that. I know how hard you work and that you deserve this vacation and I want to do everything in my power to provide that for you. Thank you again, and if there is ever any assistance that I can provide, please don't hesitate to contact me.

Thank you,
Eric Treadway
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We took our kids and grands to Gatlinburg last weekend. We were warmly welcomed by Amanda at the front desk. She helped us seamlessly navigate an issue with Hilton as did Jessie. Later in the week, Alton helped with the TV and concierge questions. The hotel is located along the river behind the Main Street and has rooms and suites. Our grands enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub.
The double room is not too spacious ,but does have a microwave, mini fridge and Kuerig coffee maker. Our room was very clean and ready as requested. We must commend Angela, our housekeeping person, who was caring and thoughtful. She worked around our little ones' naps and getting the room cleaned with a smile. The staff at this hotel are well trained, but seemed to go the extra mile every time we asked for help.
The breakfast buffet was a plus. The food was varied and hot. You could request a waffle, pancakes or eggs cooked special. Our grands loved it.
This hotel is newer than most of the ones we saw, and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hello Tbug914, thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to reivew your stay. I'm so glad that you had a great time with us, "Friendly and Fabulous", can't get much better than that! Thank you for taking the time to mention, Amanda, Jessi, Alton, and Angela by name. I know that they are excited to see that they made such an impression on you that you would mention them on your review. Thank you again and if there is ever any assistance that I can provide, please don't hesitate to contact me.

Thank you,
Eric Treadway
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We moved over here to this hotel, after staying the previous night at the Westgate Resort in Gatlinburg, with a very bad impression of Westgate. The room over here at the Hilton Garden Inn was so much nicer and twice as large as the studio over at the Westgate. And, it was $30 per night cheaper! The staff here was very friendly, and use of the indoor pool was actually included with the rate, instead of the nearly $19 per person extra fee that the Westgate charged for the use of their indoor waterpark. We will likely stay here again! Very clean rooms too. We liked the location of being within walking distance of 'strip' yet not being right on the main drag.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hello Hilary H, thank you for choosing to stay with us. I hate that you had to move from your original location, but Westgates loss was our gain! I'm glad that you had a good time while you were staying with us. I truly hope that we will be your first call when making return trips back to Gatlinburg. We want the opportunity to host you and your family for many generations. Thank you and if there is ever any assistance that I can provide, please don't hesitate to contact me.

Thank you,
Eric Treadway
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We spent a few days there from Christmas Day until Saturday. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Even though we were given 2 bottles of water free, we got water every day while we stayed. I know that isn't much but I still thought it was very nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hello Kay8953, thank you for choosing to spend your Christmas here with us. I know there is a lot of places that you could chose from to spend that time, and I'm so greatful that you chose to spend it with us. I hope that you will continue to visit with us time and time again so that we can continue to provide you with the best vacation experience possible.

Thank you,
Eric Treadway
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights the weekend before Christmas and were very impressed. From the friendliness of the staff to the cleanliness of the rooms, we have no complaints. The location is also great due to the fact that it is one street back from the very busy "main drag" but is still within walking distance of everything. This was our first stay in Gatlinburg but it looked to me that the Hilton Garden Inn is one of the nicest (and newest?) hotel properties in town. If we return to Gatlinburg we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hello john e, thank you for choosing to stay with us and posting your review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us that you will continue to visit us on your future trips to Gatlinburg. Thank you for taking the time to mention the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of your room. The ultimate goal of our staff is to provide you with the best vacation experience possible so that you will come back time and time again and build a tradition with your family that will last generation after generation. Thank you again and if there is ever any assistance that I can provide, please don't hesitate to contact me.

Thank you,
Eric Treadway
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I travel a lot with work and been an HHonors reward member for a few years. My wife and I decided to stay here for 6 days. This hotel is great. The staff is wonderful. However, the bed and breakfast deal from their website is a little misleading. You don't in fact get breakfast in bed. You get a meal voucher for breakfast. No big deal to us. We were more than happy to take the 5 minutes to get downstairs and eat. The cleanliness of the room was great. However, the bathroom could have used a little more deep cleaning. Just a little mold on the caulk and side of the tub running down to the floor. Nothing a little bleach couldn't kill and remove. All and all we had a great stay and the fireplace with Jacuzzi tub was great. Definitely, will come back and stay another 6 nights again. However, make your reservations way ahead of your trip as this hotel can fill up very quickly. Food was excellent in the restaurant as well. Location is perfect if you want to stay in Gatlinburg and just walk around to all the shops. The bed in our room was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever laid on. Definitively slept great while staying there.

Room Tip: Book early as the different rooms book up fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hello Shawn L, thank you for choosing to stay with us. I'm glad to see that overall you had a good stay with us. I'm sorry that you felt a little misled by the bed and breakfast verbiage that is on our website. I also hate that you found some things in your bathroom that is not up to your, or our, standards. Please never hesitate to let us know right away when you find any issue, no matter how big our small. We want to make sure that everything is perfect for your stay with us. Thank you again and if there is ever any assistance that I can provide, please don't hesitate to contact me.

Thank you,
Eric Treadway
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown

Address: 635 River Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
#1 Green Hotel in Gatlinburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#6 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg hotel in Tennessee is conveniently located on River Road less than 100 yards to the entrance of The Great Smoky Mountain National Park. Our hotel offers the natural attraction of the mountains and sounds of the nearby creeks. Come visit higher ground at our Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg. We are proud to be the very first hotel in the state of Tennessee to pursue our LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) Certification, with many 'green' features including a chemical-free saltwater pool and hot tub, pervious hand-laid brick parking lot, in-room recycling and much more. Whether business, vacation, or weekend getaway brings you to Gatlinburg, Tennessee, our courteous hotel staff looks forward to welcoming you to our new home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown Hotel Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.