We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and up to date.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   635 River Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Deal
Ranked #6 of 86 hotels in Gatlinburg
GreenLeadersGold level
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Clean and up to date.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Clean and comfortable. Stayed for a week and no problems. Everything was as advertised. Front desk handled our room request we had made when booking, with ease. No hassle with anything the entire week.

One little request to the management though, could you have the type of free cookies rotated to another kind every few days or so. I am from the south and old so a chocolate chip or peanut butter cookie would hit the spot now and again
Thanks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello cm4546, thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I'm glad to know that you had a great time with us. I will tell you, I'm from the south too and nothing beats a good chocolate chip cookie, however the new "welcome bars" are the new standard for the Hilton Garden Inn brand. They are great cookies though but I understand the feelings on other cookies. Thank you again and if there is ever any assistance that I can provide for you please don't hesitate to contact me.

Thank you,
Eric Treadway
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    472
    216
    77
    25
    12
See reviews for
257
365
10
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in Gatlinburg last Friday 09/27/2013. Property is located on River Road the road right behind the main Parkway. You can cut thru the Hampton Inn parking lot when walking. Property is pretty new, well maintained and clean. They have an adjustable bed (dont bother waste of time)

Room Tip: All areas seem well higher the floor the better due to street noise
See more room tips
Green Features: Is a LEED certiffied hotel, low flow toliets showers etc
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello Tony S, thank you for choosign to stay with us. I'm glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We definitely strive to exceed your expectations everytime you stay with us. We want to ensure that you have the best vacation experience possible and I hope that you were able to experience that. Thank you again and if I can ever be of assistance please don't hesitate to contact me.

Thank you,
Eric Treadway
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I had an awesome experience at the Hilton Garden Inn of Gatlinburg, TN. The staff was awesome and the food is good. Breakfast served every morning. The best bar tenders in town. Don't forget to ask for the cookies. ( hot off the press, yum, yum!) The Hotel is in the best location in the city (walking distance to all your entertainment). Surrounded by beautiful scenery: trees, water and mountain sides. The hotel has great business amenities for business conferences. However, if you are there for business, it also has a great family environment. I look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello Donald W, thank you for such kind words in your reveiw. I'm pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you were here on business so we definitely need to get you back out here for some rest and relaxation. The mountains just have a way of giving you an overwhelming sense of peace. I truly hope your next visit will be one of those trips so that you can see what makes this area so special. Thank you again and if I can ever be of any assistance please don't hesitate to contact me.

Thank you,
Eric Treadway
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were shocked when we arrived in Gatlinburg for the first time - it was overwhelmingly crowded - traffic and people everywhere. I thought we'd never find a place to park, but this hotel had a nice large parking lot for guests. The room was great, clean. The breakfast offering was beyond anything I have had before - the selection was endless. Delicious. Drinks at the bar one night was relaxing. All the staff was friendly and helpful, however, Matt outdid himself. He seemed to be there 24/7 during our 2 night stay. Too bad I couldn't find a place on the Hilton website to provide a note to management on how well Matt ran this hotel. Staying at this hotel was the perfect start to our first trip to the Smokey's.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi there Flatlander927, thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and posting your review. I'm very please to hear that you had such a great time with us and that Matt made such an impression on you all to mention him by name. He is a great worker and is one that we can depend on to provide great customer service. Thank you again and if there is ever any assistance that I can provide for you please don't hesitate to contact me.

Thank you,
Eric Treadway
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in a junior suite with a balcony overlooking the river, the suite was excellent and very clean and comfortable. The staff in this hotel are all very friendly and professional. We booked with a bed & breakfast deal and well worth the money, the breakfast was excellent and plentiful with a cooked to order option as well. The hotel is well situated to walk to the shops and restaurants, you can take a short cut through the carpark at the rear of the hotel which takes you 5mins, or if you prefer a nice walk along the riverside then although it will take longer it is nice. I would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a suite overlooking the river with a balcony, ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello molliescotland, thank you all so much for choosing to stay with us. When I see a great review come in I'm always happy, but when I see a great review from a "Top Contributor" as yourself it gives it just a little extra meaning. I think our breakfast is such a great ammenity that we have that you can't get anywhere esle, so I'm glad to see that you took advantage of our Bed and Breakfast deal so that you could enjoy that. Thank you again and if there is ever any assistance that I can provide for you please don't hesitate to contact me.

Thank you,
Eric Treadway
Assitant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boonville indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and i booked a Cabin about 3 months prior and when arrived were not happy at all very dirty but we stayed until the sun came up the next morning so i could see to drive off that mountain, drove into the best looking hotel in Gatlinburg and went to the front desk and April got us right into a very nice room and our vacation was saved. i hope someone from Hilton Management reads this.. do whatever you can to keep and promote April. (p.s. they installed new Keurig Coffee makers while we were there) ...YaY !

Room Tip: we had a river room overlooking the patio fireplace and hot tub...very nice. ask for April at the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
sigman38, thank you for choosing to stay with us. I'm sure hate to hear about your bad experience with your cabin, but there lost was our gain! April is a tremendous asset to our hotel and I'm glad that you were able to witness what makes her so good at what she does. I know that she will be extatic to see that she made such an impression on you all to mention her by name. I hope that you all will continue to stay with us everytime you visit gatlinburg, and if there is ever any assitance that I can provide for you please don't hesitate to contact me.

Thank you,
Eric Treadway
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

SO glad to be at this hotel away from the town...peaceful after travelling. Also very comfortable, and staff friendly and obliging.
Evening meal not good....too much salt and lack of expertise in the preparation. However, breakfast was excellent....porridge, fresh fruit, good, well prepared hot options, and staff well trained in keeping everything topped up.
Would happily stay here again, though not in the town!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hello petite100, thank you for choosing to stay with us. I'm glad that you had a great time with us, with the exception of your evening meal. I promise to you that I will personally addresss that issue with our cooks. We want to make sure that every aspect of our hotel gives you the best experience possible. I am glad that you were able to see that our location is probably the best feature that we have. We are close enough to everything but located to where it feels like you are away from town as well. Thank you again and if there is ever any assistance that I can provide for you please don't hesitate to contact me.

Thank you,
Eric Treadway
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown

Address: 635 River Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gatlinburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#5 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg hotel in Tennessee is conveniently located on River Road less than 100 yards to the entrance of The Great Smoky Mountain National Park. Our hotel offers the natural attraction of the mountains and sounds of the nearby creeks. Come visit higher ground at our Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg. We are proud to be the very first hotel in the state of Tennessee to pursue our LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) Certification, with many 'green' features including a chemical-free saltwater pool and hot tub, pervious hand-laid brick parking lot, in-room recycling and much more. Whether business, vacation, or weekend getaway brings you to Gatlinburg, Tennessee, our courteous hotel staff looks forward to welcoming you to our new home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown Hotel Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.