We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful night's stay for a Girls' Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   635 River Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Deal
Ranked #5 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
GreenLeadersGold level
Franklin, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful night's stay for a Girls' Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Last minute weekend girls' getaway to Gatlinburg. There were 6 of us looking for a place in downtown G'burg that would sleep 6 as well as be a clean, safe, and reputable hotel with modern amenities. The Hilton Garden was perfect. The 2 bed queen suite with pullout sofa offered us the right amount of space for a 36 hour stay. We arrived at 10:30 a.m. after leaving Nashville early, and we were given an early check-in since the room was ready. This was much appreciated so that we could unload our car, get settled in to the room, and then head out for a hike. After the hike in the mountains, we returned that afternoon and enjoyed the hot tub and fire pit, and we were brought delicious, warm cookies from Tony on staff. What a treat! He even recommended some places to eat and things to do that evening. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom clean, and the room had plenty of mirrors that made it easy for 6 women (mid-30s) to get ready at the same time. The room provided plenty of sunlight when we wanted it during the daylight hours, and yet the room when the curtains were drawn provided the perfect amount of blackout to allow us to sleep in the next morning. It was a great "home base" for our 36 hours in Gatlinburg. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    227
    80
    26
    13
See reviews for
268
419
10
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Duffield, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in December 2012 for the first time. We absolutely loved this place! This is our new favorite place to stay. Pay for the upgrade for a fireplace in your room because it adds a great ambience. We also enjoyed the whirlpool tub in the room. The staff were among the friendliest that we have encountered. Remember you get what you pay for, and this place is definitely worth it!

Room Tip: Fireplace adds a lot in the wintertime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I have a long history visiting Gatlinburg which goes back almost 40 years. I remember that not too long ago there were no major hotel brands represented. That's changed, and today there are several.
The Hilton Garden Inn is a great place to stay. I especially enjoyed the outdoor fire pit and heated hot tub. What a great place to sit on a nice winter day with a glass of wine.
The hotel is centrally located on River Road and a nice walk from the aquarium, attractions and shopping.
I had a room with a gas fireplace. It was a nice touch.

Room Tip: There are balcony/fireplace rooms facing the river. Try to book one of these upper floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, GA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I was very pleased to learn that Hilton had added a Garden Inn to it's Gatlinburg offerings. Before, there was only a very disappointing Hampton Inn--which is a very, very rare occurrence; usually I LOVE Hampton Inns and stay in them every single time I travel.

Room Tip: I was automatically upgraded to a Junior Suite, as I am an AMEX Gold Status member. It was very nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

It's nice to stay in a clean smoke free hotel! No smoking anywhere here. The rooms are clean and the firmness adjustments for the beds are great! Breakfast was amazing! Very happy with my stay here! Your access to the Main Street is only a block away. This hotel is located on the south end of Gatlinburg but still close to the attractions and walking distance to sky lift.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Hilton Garden Inn is our new favorite place to stay in Gatlinburg. The hotel is in a great location, and has plenty of parking. It is within easy walking disatnce of the strip, and several good restaurants, including Texas Roadhouse. We have stayed here twice, and found the staff to be very pleasant and accommodating. During our last stay we were upgraded without asking, as we Hilton Honors members. The young lady at the front desk asked us if there was any way she could be of assistance, even after we checked out.The hot breakfast is wonderful, and includes a large variety of items, including cooked to order options.

The only negative about this hotel is that the rooms are not very soundproof. We were awakened in the morning by the guests next door, who seemed to be speaking in normal voices. The fan in the room is a wonderful sound buffer, but does not run continuously.

Overall, a beautiful property and a great place to stay in a lovely setting. The positives far outweigh any negatives.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front side of the building, for a much better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

When I booked the room in June, I requested a suite with fireplace and Jacuzzi. When I received the second email confirmation, it stated suite with Jacuzzi. I called to verify, and was told the suite I wanted (and was told six months before I would get) was unavailable. I was told to continue calling back every hour or two until check-in to see if anyone cancelled. I did, and was able to get a king room with fireplace, Jacuzzi, and balcony. I traded the roominess of the suite for the fireplace. The room was lovely. Everything seemed new and clean. The adjustable bed did not adjust, but after awhile I got used to the hard mattress and it was pretty comfortable. The fireplace was very easy to use. The Jacuzzi was on a timer, and nowhere did it tell you how to operate it, but we managed to figure it out fairly easily. The lobby was lovely and everyone was friendly. The only complaint is being promised one thing and the hotel not being able to provide.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown

Address: 635 River Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
#1 Green Hotel in Gatlinburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#5 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg hotel in Tennessee is conveniently located on River Road less than 100 yards to the entrance of The Great Smoky Mountain National Park. Our hotel offers the natural attraction of the mountains and sounds of the nearby creeks. Come visit higher ground at our Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg. We are proud to be the very first hotel in the state of Tennessee to pursue our LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) Certification, with many 'green' features including a chemical-free saltwater pool and hot tub, pervious hand-laid brick parking lot, in-room recycling and much more. Whether business, vacation, or weekend getaway brings you to Gatlinburg, Tennessee, our courteous hotel staff looks forward to welcoming you to our new home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown Hotel Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.