We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   635 River Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Deal
Ranked #6 of 86 hotels in Gatlinburg
GreenLeadersGold level
Kingsport, Tennessee
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Only stayed one night but wished we could have stayed longer. Rooms were very nice and wished I had brought my swimsuit for the outdoor hot tub and firepit area. Cookies in the lobby for an evening snack were nice too. Location is great walking distance to our favorite restaurant Park Grille. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    470
    214
    75
    25
    12
See reviews for
255
364
10
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

When going on vacation, my husband & I always stay at our favorite vacation spot, Gatlinburg....This year, we decided on our favorite "Hilton" chain & picked the Gatlinburg Hilton Garden Inn. The hotel is breathtaking, located on River Road which is a great location away from the downtown traffic walking distance to everything. We specifically requested a "River Road side, mountain view, king room" NOT...Mt. LaConte which over looks the parking lots of downtown. The fireplace in our room along with the large picture window to look out of made the stay even better. We would have preferred the "balcony" room next door but they fill up a year in advance. Whatever you do....DO NOT get a room with the Euro-bed which is adjustable (soft or hard). We thought it sounded great...but was a total nightmare....There was no adjustment...only DEATHLY HARD.....our backs pounded the entire time. The staff even topped the mattress with a heavy mattress pad to cushion the hardness (no luck). Switching rooms was not an option...unless of course we wanted the Mt. LaConte view side of the hotel (no way). We highly recommend this hotel.....

Room Tip: DO NOT....allow the front desk to talk you into the "Mt. LaConte" side of the hotel. Only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Staff does a great job, Ashley and emily did a super job taking care of me and the rooms where nice I had one with a fire place and a jet tube in the room. Great parking and it is right down town so you can walk to everything down town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Just returned from a four day stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Gatinburg. The hotel is very nice and the location is good, just one street off the Parkway. My only concern was that they did not have a free breakfast ( you could purchase and it was very good and only cost less than $10.00). I would return there just because of the price and location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I was only able to spend one night at this property but it will definitely be on my list of favorite hotels in Gatlinburg!! We had a large king room with a fireplace, jacuzzi tub in the corner of the room and a balcony overlooking the river! We enjoyed a very warm, cozy and romantic evening and slept like babies in the plush bedding! Breakfast was included as well and consisted of all the southern favorites and cooked to order items as well. The staff was fabulous and showed the southern hospitality you hope for in TN!! Excellent location so there is no need to move your vehicle for any of the downtown activities!! Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: I only saw the king room that we had but I am sure any room at the hotel would be excellent quality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

stayed in this hotel for thanksgiving break and it was horrible!!! we had to wait for over an hour just to check in and the room that we had reserved was not available. For our incovenience the manager gave us free breakfast vouchers which was a joke because breakfast was free. Also, the room had a strange odor, the bed was hard as a rock and the shower was dirty. We then decided to check out after only one night. We told the "manager" upon check out how disappointed we were and showed her pictures of the dirty shower to which she stated we should have brought flip flop to shower in and she had seen college co-ed bathrooms that looked "worse". Totally disappointed would not recommend

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corneliahgi, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We want you to know that we have worked with our staff to ensure that we address all issues mentioned. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zebulon, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

stayed here sat after thanksgiving wish it was longer. you can just park your car and walk to everything in town breakfast good hot pancakes and eggs. only 2 things were not up to par i am a hilton gold member and we didnt arrrive till 3 pm and still had to wait on our room usually hilton members never should have to wait but i had read other reviews that this was problem at this location. it took bout 40 minutes. the other thing was after walking all over town was looking forward to hot tub outside with nice gas logs area water was warm but jets didnt work. make sure to eat at calhoons great ribs and cold beer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown

Address: 635 River Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gatlinburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#5 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg hotel in Tennessee is conveniently located on River Road less than 100 yards to the entrance of The Great Smoky Mountain National Park. Our hotel offers the natural attraction of the mountains and sounds of the nearby creeks. Come visit higher ground at our Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg. We are proud to be the very first hotel in the state of Tennessee to pursue our LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) Certification, with many 'green' features including a chemical-free saltwater pool and hot tub, pervious hand-laid brick parking lot, in-room recycling and much more. Whether business, vacation, or weekend getaway brings you to Gatlinburg, Tennessee, our courteous hotel staff looks forward to welcoming you to our new home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown Hotel Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.