We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection to your Saves list
Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   110 Mountain Loft Drive, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly MountainLoft Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #53 of 88 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Baltimore, MD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Outdated, run-down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were suckered into a time-share "sampler" with Bluegreen after sitting through their "1-hour" sales pitch (turned into more than just 1 hr). Thank GOD we didn't buy into this God-awful timeshare. We came to Mountainloft in Gatlinburg because there was no week-long availability at any of the other resorts. Unfortunately, they only had a standard 1-bedroom "villa" at Mountainloft. We had to take what we could get because we only have a couple months left to use up 13,000 points (we've had these points for almost 2 years). Ok, on to the review of this less-than-luxurious place...... When we arrived at Mountainloft the front desk person was working alone and had way too much going on so she couldn't sufficienty attend to us, though she was a nice person, she was way to busy. We asked for an upgrade, so she handed us a key that worked in two different units. She told us we could pick the unit we liked better. We went into the "Deluxe" unit first - "Deluxe" means that it is bigger than the standard 1-BR. It was not clean. The bed was all disheveled and there were dirty towels on the floor and in the bathtub. Yuck. There was also a weird smell in the room, sort of like bleach and chemicals and mustiness. We went to the other room and the key didn't work. We went back to the front desk and told her we'd take the room that is clean. It was already 10pm and we just wanted to relax. Our room was in the bottom floor of building 4, very much like a dungeon. It was very small and cramped, but at least it was relatively clean. The bathroom floor tiles had ZERO grout and you could see all the dirt and grime in between the tiles. The bathroom vanity has water damage at the bottom and the wood is discolored and rotting and the vanity door was warped and falling off. The walls of the bathroom have some gross outdated yellow popcorny looking wallpaper stuff that is bubbled up in places. The bathroom and kitchen are circa 1990 and have never been updated. There was a fake plant in the bathroom that was covered in dust. Why bother putting a nasty looking dusty plant in an outdated bathroom? The dining room table was crammed into the living room up against the sliding glass door. The screen door was falling off and the green painted metal railing on the patio was all peeling and rusty. The patio was is on the same level as the pool where we get to see the unmatching, falling-apart deck furniture. We were also laughing at the wild green onions that are about 3 feet tall around the flower bushes, along with the clusters of weeds among the mulch and landscaping. We also had a good chuckle about the lifeguard sign that was laying in the bushes. We didn't expect luxury, but this place is pretty bad. We considered paying $119/night down the street at the Hilton, but decided to tough it out at Mountainloft since we already paid for for this scam 2 years ago. I would not recommend this place AT ALL. Pictures will be forthcoming.....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    120
    70
    49
    39
See reviews for
159
115
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom challet. It was nice. We really enjoyed the swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna. Workers were very helpful. A great location. While on our visit there my husband and I had an in room therapeutic massage by Roger Bailey. It was WONDERFUL!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in chalet 134A and it was BEAUTIFUL! It was everything you can ask for in a resort in the mountains. The resort is set in the mountains, but yet only 5 minutes from a grocery store and 5 minutes from Gatlinburg, 10 if there's traffic. The views were nice and no traffic noise was a plus. There is a fireplace in the living room, and lots of windows so you can open the blinds and enjoy that view. We also loved that there is a balcony off the dining area AND off the master bedroom upstairs. Here is why I gave it 4 stars though. And these are by NO MEANS a complaint, because I know they can't please all of the people all of the time. These are just mentions, so you know what you're getting. The balcony off the dining area is smaller than the one upstairs and they have a table and 4 chairs out there, making it awkward to move around. I think it would be better to have the 4 chairs and smaller patio tables so people can move around a little better. The master bedroom was beautiful, with a nice big closet, which was a nice surprise and I loved, but the master bathroom has a stand up shower and a jacuzzi tub. That is nice, but I wonder why they put a stand up shower in the master bedroom. There is no where to put toiletries in the shower at all. It was very difficult to shower. The guest bathroom has a regular tub/shower combo, which would have been better in the master bath. And the headboard is a shelf built into the wall, with no side tables. This makes for good TV watching in bed, but if you have a bottle of water or a glass of wine, you have to reach behind you and put it on the shelf if you need to set it down. That was kind of awkward. The mattress was also on the firm side, and like I said, they can't please everybody, so although it was a little uncomfortable to us, there are people who would enjoy that. And we don't have kids, but I can see where the guest bedroom needs a TV with gaming connections. I don't see a kid wanting to sit in the LR and watch TV in front of the fireplace with their parents. With that said, none of this would deter me from staying again. It was beautiful, has a washer/dryer in unit, nice appliances, nice feel. The property is beautifully maintained and Courtney at the front desk was pleasant. Also, when my husband went to print out our boarding passes, the printer was out of toner and the front desk clerk cheerfully offered to print them from the printer behind the front desk. I would stay again and recommend it to anybody. I had a fantastic stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a chalet instead of a unit in the condo towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I read reviews after I made the reservation for this resort. We wanted to take kids on a long weekend to Gatlinburg so I looked and Mountain Loft was available. We found the resort exceptionally clean. We stayed in a one bedroom suite in building 5. I was a executive housekeeper for years, I know clean. Not sure why all the bad reviews. Our stay was pleasant and staff was great. Towels weren't overdryed and hard either and shower had good water pressure. I would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Made reservation and explained to reservations person which unit I needed to allow me access on my scooter. Arrived to find did not happen. It took two days to fix. Great location and great area, but no ability to address these sorts of issues no matter how far in advance you start.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit in the lowest level of building 5. We stayed Monday - Friday during the first week of April with our two grade-school aged boys. The unit was clean and the king bed was comfortable. The pull-out sofa bed was what you'd expect and worked for our young boys. Our boys enjoyed the indoor/outdoor pool and game room. The club house is very nice and the wine tasting event was enjoyable. Great location! It is far enough off the main drag to be extremely peaceful but still only a couple minute's drive to the heart of Gatlinburg.

Previous reviews have some truth to them. None of these were major items, but it was a little surprising how some things were nicely done...yet several were poor quality. Examples: the thermostat's letters were so worn you couldn't read which settings were what, the smoke alarms were dingy, the paint job in the bathroom was sloppy and looked to have been done that way several times/coats, no gas grills, internet signal in our room was very week and often dropped out. Again - nothing big, but several things that just made you feel like you were staying in a cheaper hotel instead of a nice BlueGreen resort.

Overall, the number of BlueGreen points we used (i.e., our cost) for a Spring Break stay on Mon - Thur was very reasonable, the location is great, the place was clean, and we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We are owners with blue green this was our 2 nd trip to mountainloft and sadly enough both times our rooms were below par. We were assured we had a renovated room, a complete lie. We returned from an outing to find out our room was assigned to another family after we had been there 3 days, very scary. They had to change rooms because of mouse feces under their sink! We had roaches, a broken dishwasher, broken shower faucet, many outlets did not work and a moldy bathroom. We still enjoyed ourselves since the view is wonderful, location was great and had an excellent in room massage by roger . I really wish mountainloft would listen to their guests and clean better and update the units.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection

Address: 110 Mountain Loft Drive, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly MountainLoft Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountainloft Resort Gatlinburg
Mountainloft Hotel Gatlinburg
Mountain Loft Resort Gatlinburg Tn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.