We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow, Inattentive Waiter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calhoun's Gatlinburg

Calhoun's Gatlinburg
1004 Parkway, Suite 101, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
865.436.4100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 174 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Chatsworth, Georgia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Slow, Inattentive Waiter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Our party of four were seated 20 minutes before closing. Ignored by our waiter for 15 minutes or so, then he proceeded to be very attentive to the girls down at the front counter while we could have used refills. Had to flag him down 3 times for simple things he should have noticed like not bring bread to the table.

Food was good. Taste was very good. Prepared well, seasoned well and large portions.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    627
    366
    176
    47
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Douglasville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Calhoun's - Gatlinburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Anytime we're in Gatlinburg during the spring/strawberry season we make it a point to eat at Calhoun's JUST so we can enjoy their strawberry shortcake.
Their menu always offers a good variety of food, and the food is always quite tasty, but the fresh strawberry cake is just great! (This visit we were also served apple cornmeal rolls in the bread basket and they are delicious!).

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira Beach, Fl
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The freshest Catfish and A-One Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We have been to Gatlinburg often but had never tried Calhoun's. So glad we went this time. The prices were very reasonable and the Catfish was absolutely delicious! The waitress explained that it was caught near-by and certainly not frozen. The vegetables that came with the meal were fresh as well.

But what made this meal a real delight was the service. Our waitress knew how to make you feel at home without hovering, yet being there when you needed something.

Yes, we WILL go back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Had dinner 5/20/14. wife had half rack ribs, I had smoked chicken. Ribs were very tender and meaty, like always. Chicken was very tender with great smoky flavor. Very good meal, fairly priced. Nice atmosphere. On our list every time we are in the Burg.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Our trolley car driver recommended this place and we thought the food and cocktails were good and fairly priced.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calhoun's Gatlinburg also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Calhoun's Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calhoun's Gatlinburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.