We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far not the best BBQ in town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Calhoun's Gatlinburg

Calhoun's Gatlinburg
1004 Parkway, Suite 101, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
865.436.4100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 174 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“By far not the best BBQ in town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Tried the ribs and pulled pork, both were very disappointing and it was unanimous decision between everyone in our party. Everything was so dry and tasteless that we were forced to use the disgusting BBQ sauce on the table just to try and get the food down. The fries, baked potato, bread and coleslaw were the only saving grace of the meal. We won't be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    625
    365
    175
    47
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phillipsburg, Ohio, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My husband is not a big fan of "wet" ribs but he loved Calhoun's. I had the pulled pork and it was great as well. Good food, good portions, good value.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsend, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wow.....Hey Chase, what kinda joint you runnin here?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Walked in @ 1 pm on a Saturday THE 8th OF JUNE, what some would call a busy weekend here. Guess what...no freakin bread was made Garlic rolls came out about the same time I was asking for the check and my lovely lovely waitress told me they hadn't made cornbread yet. I go here @ least 2 times a month for my rib fix and maybe more I like their Alaskan Salmon and Halibut when in season....Trout is awesome too. Ohhh and yeah....I love the bread, it's one of the reasons I go there! :-)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We went here to eat our first night on vacation and LOVED it. My fiance had the prime rib and shrimp and normally doesn't rave about steak at a restaurant but he said it was amazing. I had the shrimp over rice with Tn corn puddin' and it was delicious. The place was packed but we were served promptly and our waitress was awesome. Love the atmosphere, love the food, altogether a great restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I had the ale steak with mashed potatoes and added a ceaser salad. For a sirloin probally the best I ever eat. Wife had salmon and baked potatoe. Was great. Kids had cheese sticks and potatoe. And ribs and chicken with potato. Also side of apples. First place we have eat where every member was satisfied and all was eat.all this was only $80.00 with tip. Server was good and friendly. Will definitely be going back. We was at pigeon forge location.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calhoun's Gatlinburg also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Calhoun's Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calhoun's Gatlinburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.