We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calhoun's Gatlinburg

Calhoun's Gatlinburg
1004 Parkway, Suite 101, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
865.436.4100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 173 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I'd been hiking all day. Came back to hotel exhausted and wanted a good meal. Calhouns looked like a nice place. I walked in and saw they were very busy. Told the host I was a single. He found me a table ASAP. The waiter was right there. I ordered grilled shrimp app and half rack of ribs. I live on the coast and these were the best grilled shrimp I ever had. The ribs were just as good. The atmosphere, service and food were as good as I ever gotten. If I ever go back to this area, I will stay in Pigeon Forge but will eat at Calhouns in Gatlinburg.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    618
    362
    175
    46
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calhoun, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ok but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Our experience started out well by calling ahead for reservations. We waited less than 5 minutes to be seated. Waitress was very attentive. Ordered chips and beer cheese dip for appetizer. It was decent. The dip was excellent, but the chips were almost inedible due to over salting. Ordered ribs and ale steak for dinner. Ribs were far from award winning. Not very tender and had to be cut with a knife. The ale steak, on the other hand, was delicious. It had great taste even though it was not cooked very evenly throughout. Would recommend over most of the other chains in town.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good restaurant with excellent pretzel appetizer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Every time I am in the area I go out of my way to stop by here for their pretzels! The pretzels are soft and good on their own but the beer cheese dip they serve with them is out of this world. The filet is very good and the ribs are ok. If you like soft pretzels then this is definitely worth a stop.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great BBQ pork sandwich and Bloody Mary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stopped in for lunch and a drink. (We are from New Orleans its common to order a beverage with lunch.) I tried their Bloody Mary and it was a good compliment to the reasonably priced sandwiches. Would return again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Calhoun's - So, so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had dinner at Calhoun's on President's Day week-end during a quick get away. Menu looked good / sounded good.

We tried the fried green tomatoes appetizer. Not too bad, but not the best I've had.

My daughter ordered the fish and chips. I ordered the fried catfish. Close your eyes and take a bite of both and you would not be able to tell the difference.

Service was good, but the food was a disappointment.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff C, Manager at Calhoun's Gatlinburg, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We take all food critiques very seriously, and I will personally look into it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calhoun's Gatlinburg also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Calhoun's Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calhoun's Gatlinburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.