We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown to your Saves list
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
247 Newton Lane, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Econo Lodge Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I have stayed here before and have always had a good experience. This past month I stayed here for 6 days and had no complaints per se. The room was spotless, bed was comfy, staff was wonderful, and price was great. Had minor issue with wifi, but it was addressed immediately for me. Only problem for me this visit was the need to do laundry, but was unable to use the laundry facilities due to furniture being stored in the room with the machines, thereby having to go to a laundromat.

I normally keep my 'do not disturb' sign on my hotel doors as I have had a trust issue with housekeeping staff in the past. Durng my stay here, I forgot to put my sign on the door one day while gone. I came back and my room had been picked up, and the bed made and dirty towels were replaced. I had left money out, as well as my PC, and other valuables. I was happy to see that not one thing had been disturbed by staff, and not one penny, nor piece of jewelry was missing. Yay for that! =-) Definitely very nice to have trustworthy housekeeping staff, so thank you.

The hotel is close to the main Parkway and offers easy access via the backside of the Village. If looking for a nice, clean, roomy place to stay, close to it all with a great price, then this is a great option!!
Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    57
    31
    9
    9
See reviews for
61
59
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Check-in was fast and easy; Rob at the front desk was very friendly. The cleaning staff was friendly and helpful as well. Our rooms were fresh and clean. The linens looked and smelled clean. The beds were comfy and there were plenty of pillows. There was a brand new flat screen tv on the wall. The water for the shower was hot and the pressure was excellent. There was a clean, working microwave and a small fridge that kept our drinks nice & cold. The motel is a very short walk to the main parkway and there is also a trolley stop right in front of the motel. There is an outdoor pool the appeared to be clean, although we did not plan to swim. We will be staying there again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Old adage applies, get what you pay for. We were able to save some money and found this to be a good location within walking distance of downtown.

Employees were very nice, room was large, very clean, comfortable bed and had a large flat screen TV. The bathroom was out of date & small. Shower controls were two faucets with no pressure balancing. Sink faced a corner, with mirrors on the side walls which was strange. Our room was next to the pool, but the drapes did not reach the floor to provide total privacy or light prevention.

Room Tip: Room was very noisy from street traffic - try to get a room as far away from the main street as poss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I come to Gatlinburg every year, sometimes twice, and this is where we stay. We've stayed here for the past 4 years. It's very clean and I don't think you will find another hotel this close to the strip for the prices this hotel offers. The last time we were there they had recently remodeled and updated the rooms. It's run by a friendly Christian family and I've never had an issue while staying here. Keep up the good work, we will see you in October! :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Everything about this place was excellent. Everything was clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. We were just close enough to the main strip for everything to be in easy walking distance, but just far away enough to not be bothered with heavy traffic. We will definitely stay here again next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here April 11-13. The motel is located 2 blocks from the main strip. Everything is within walking distance, and there is ample parking in front of the rooms.
Our room was clean and suited our needs perfectly! There was a small refrigerator and coffee maker.
My only compliant is how low the shower head is...as a tall person, ducking to rinse my hair is bothersome.
Joe, at the front desk suggested that we go to Bennett's for ribs...it was a nice walk and the ribs were incredible!
Great weekend!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Christian family run business. Its an older, renovated motel that is only a couple of blocks from the Parkway (the opposite way from the Aquarium). I went through the Chamber's website and got a King room w/sofa, overlooking the pool for $58. It had a microwave, refrig, flat screen TV, chair and balcony. Great people to deal with.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 414. It was separated from all the other rooms by a wide hallway with an inclined...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown

Address: 247 Newton Lane, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Econo Lodge Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#14 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown Hotel Gatlinburg
Mountain Hotel Downtown
Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.