We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bed for the night.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown to your Saves list
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   247 Newton Lane, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Econo Lodge Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 85 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A bed for the night.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed 3 nights only because we had prepaid through travelocity. The room was clean but definitely in need of an overhaul. The bathroom was smaller than a broom closet and needed repairs. The shower head was set less that 2 feet above the faucets so we had to stoop over to rinse. The toilet is so close to the door that you have to practically step over the toilet to get into the bathroom. Shower curtain way to small for the tub so the floor flooded every time we showered which I am sure was the cause of the mildew in the bathroom. Would have left after the first night had we not prepaid. I understand that this property is very old but that does not excuse neglect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank t i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Franklin, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Expected more from a motel with a pretty good rating... Dirty bed comforter, tiny sink/bathroom area, toilet ran on, toilet not secured to floor, tub didn't drain, bathroom door only opened halfway. They even lost my reservation. Nice TV was about it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

for the price this is a rate of 5 out of 5. Stayed 9/12-9/15. Don't be put off by it being a motor lodge. Seems that is what most, if not all (even the major chains) are motor lodge style. Though I didn't see anything specifically stating it was remodeled but you could tell it had new bedding, new carpeting, etc. (I was in room 209) While it is not right on the strip it is easy walking distance to everything-especially the village which is a lovely shopping area downtown. If breakfast is important - it is not included but you are close to the pancake pantry & a donut shop both at the village.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank plnashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I am writing this review completely based on our experience, no influence from other reviews. The location is excellent for those who want to experience the shops, attractions and restaurants in downtown Gatlinburg. The hotel is about 1.5 blocks from the main strip - Ripley's Aquarium is right across the street once you get the Parkway. The decor and and bath fixtures are dated, but everything was clean and worked properly. there was always hot water available when showering. The beds and pillows were comfortable. The air conditioner kept the room nice and cool; my husband would say it was cold (I think that's the best sleeping temperature). The staff was courteous. We did not spend a lot of time in our room. We were there for sleeping and getting ready to hike or walk the parkway, but it was always quiet. We are looking forward to staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed one night, first of all they didn't have our reservation. The room had bugs in the floor, hair on the bedding, makeup on the towels. The bed was horrible , very hard mattress with stains all over the side of it ! Stayed at many hotels in Gatlinburg and this is the worst. Staff was very unfriendly as well. Will never book with them again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank thelmasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed A total of four nights and we love this hotel.Very clean the beds are most comfortable and the staff will bend over backwards to help you in any way they can.Great location about two blocks from the Village.Our family has been coming to Gatlinburg for several years.There is no reason to look at any other hotels we found our home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Clean needs updating. Good value for the price rooms are large. Decor is a bit outdated. Good for the price. I will stay here again if I need a clean comfortable room for a bargain basement price. This was my first stay here within walking distance to town

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank darkhelmet37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#20 of 85 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#31 of 85 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown

Address: 247 Newton Lane, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Econo Lodge Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#19 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown Hotel Gatlinburg
Mountain Hotel Downtown
Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing