We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown

Save Saved
You added Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
247 Newton Lane, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Econo Lodge Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 86 hotels in Gatlinburg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Clean needs updating. Good value for the price rooms are large. Decor is a bit outdated. Good for the price. I will stay here again if I need a clean comfortable room for a bargain basement price. This was my first stay here within walking distance to town

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    42
    22
    8
    8
See reviews for
51
45
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morehead, Kentucky, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

If you are looking for a 3 or 4 star hotel this is not the place for you but the location is great since it is only about 2 blocks from the intersection by Ripley's Aquarium and the Village Shops.
It is an older hotel with small bathrooms but the room has all you need to spend a few nights
in Downtown Gatlinburg at a good price. It is an American family run hotel and the total for
3 nights was only $228 in peak season.

Room Tip: Some of the newer rooms have larger bathrooms if you ask for one of them but they are farther away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radcliff, Kentucky, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Mountain House. The location was just off light 6 and easy to get to all the major attractions, but still out of the way enough to be peaceful. I needed a dowstairs room for my husband, who was on crutches. They happily gave us a downstairs room. The room was more than what we'd hoped! The beds were firm but not hard/the room was clean and everything worked! There was a small fridge, microwave and coffpot. The decor was modern but not busy. We sat on the porch in the evenings and relaxed. My husband loved the pool. The staff was really friendly and helpful. It's American-owned. We loved our stay! It was a little bit of heaven.

Room Tip: I called ahead to let them know I needed a room downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at Mountain House for the first time this past fall and it will not be my last time. It was very clean, the staff was very nice and welcomed us immediately; this place reminded of motels from my childhood. The location is perfect in that it is located near downtown yet the location is quiet--no hustle and bustle of the busy streets.

I was most impressed with the fact that we were not expected to settle our account until checkout!! Now that is something that is unheard of today and once again it reminded me of my childhood.

We will be staying at Mountain House Inn for many years to come!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossville, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I Have stayed at mountain house about 25 times. It is very clean and the people at the office are very friendly. I have never had a problem. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. it is real close to the parkway. But is still quite.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hickory
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I was iffy about staying in this hotel, but my husband was determined to stay in Gatlinburg for the week of the Fourth of July so we could just walk down and see the parade and walk. This hotel was $64 overnight, it was extremely clean, they are American owned and it was only 2 blocks to downtown or A block to The Village, I would recommend this hotel to anyone. So glad we stayed and we will be staying again, also there was5 of us and they were able to accommodate with two queen beds for that price!! Everywhere else was at least $90 per night or wouldn't take 3 children and two adults!!

Room Tip: Clean, cheap, fantastic, American owned
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Richmond, OH
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

My sons and I stayed on the way back from a trip to Folly Beach, South Carolina. Gatlinburg is about half way home, so a great stopping point and a fun place.

We had not stayed here before, but it proved to be a pleasant stay. The property is a little confusing. The office is in the building closest to the Parkway. As we came in from the upper side and stopped at a stairway that looked like an office.

We arrived around 3 and were given a room that had not been cleaned. I returned to the office and they sent someone up to clean it pretty quickly.

There was a microwave, coffee maker and fridge in the room and they worked well.

The fixtures looked older, but all worked properly.

The pool area, although a little small, provided a couple of hours of entertainment for the boys. The area gets a lot of sun through the day and makes for a nice place to stay. There are chairs on the outside walkways of the hotel and are a nice place to sit in the shade.

It was a short walk to the Parkway, which has several attractions and is a nice walk. There are also a multitude of good places to eat. If you like airsoft Gatlinburg is loaded with stores.

Overall, this a very good place for the price.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown

Address: 247 Newton Lane, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Econo Lodge Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#19 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown Hotel Gatlinburg
Mountain Hotel Downtown
Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.