We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY FRIENDLY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Expedia.com
and 5 more sites!
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
247 Newton Lane, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Econo Lodge Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 86 hotels in Gatlinburg
Summer Shade Ky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“VERY FRIENDLY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here during spring break and got a great deal on the room. It was very clean and had plenty of hot water. The staff was very friendly. The beds slept great. We will stay here again!!!
The motel was close to main street so that walking to the shops and everything was just a short walk. That was what we was looking for. We would recommend for our friends to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    37
    20
    8
    8
See reviews for
44
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a second floor jacuzzi room. It was everything I hoped it would be and more. No complaints from my experience. The room was comfortable and clean. The decor was beautiful. The staff was very kind and friendly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

This is a great little place...our first stay here and the value/price was beyond belief.! The people were so nice and friendly; the room was clean and beds slept comfortably. We will most definitlely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soddy Daisy, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Have stayed several times over the last 4 years and recommended this to many people. Will NEVER stay here again. Room was dirty, paid extra for king suite with hot tub and fire place. Fire place wasn't turned on and the owner refused to turn on until Nov 1st. I explained we paid extra for this room because of fire place & hot tub, he didn't care. We stayed two nights, they didn't clean coffee pot or hot tub.. Mirror over hot tub had hand prints from previous people.. We have a group that comes every year in Oct.. we will all find another hotel next year. Very unhappy with new owner and staff!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed at the Mountain House as a "young family" taking our first real vacation back in 1993 and I remembered it being pretty clean, low on frills, but a nice place to stay. I am going to give them the benefit of the doubt and say that this trip we just caught them at a bad time. When we arrived, our room wasn't ready. Someone had stripped the beds, but not much else. They got it together for us in about 20 minutes so that wasn't so bad. The main pool was nice, but the second pool had what looked like permanent rust stains all over the sides and bottom. The area had received severe storms so that may have had something to do with it, but a roofing crew showed up one day and literally took over the place during the peak of summer. The parking area was small enough but with trucks, trailers and dumpsters taking up most of it, it made it really inconvenient. Add to that the fact that for the first two days, they made no attempt to clean up after themselves leaving old shingles and nails all over the parking lot. They also liked to talk until 1 in the morning loud enough to be heard through the thin walls. The noise and a not too comfortable bed made sleeping difficult. The nicest thing about the motel was its proximity to the main part of town and the aquarium. However that wasn't enough and we eventually left the place to the roofers and moved to another hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side nearer to the office. They are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

My fiance and I Just took our first trip together. We were looking for something small and sweet, close to downtown. We loved staying here! It was quiet, and the owners were so sweet! It doesn't offer breakfast, but it is really a hop, skip, and jump away from the main strip! Very clean, and the maid service did a wonderful job tidying everything! One of the beds was older than the other, so it wasn't as firm, but other than that, we have no complaints! Would DEFINITELY stay here again.

Room Tip: We were the first room on the second floor right off the ramp and it was quiet on our end. It could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, TX
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The best thing about Mountain House is the location - near enough to walk to anything on the main street - but back a few blocks so you miss the noise. The owners/staff were unfailingly helpful and kind. The room was clean and a good, average motel room. No breakfast provided, but the price is low and restaurants in walking distance are plentiful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown

Also Known As:
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown Hotel
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown Hotel Gatlinburg
Mountain Hotel Downtown
Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Address: 247 Newton Lane, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Econo Lodge Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#25 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown to your Saves list