We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, but that was about it.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown to your Saves list
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
247 Newton Lane, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Econo Lodge Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Indiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice location, but that was about it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed at the Mountain House as a "young family" taking our first real vacation back in 1993 and I remembered it being pretty clean, low on frills, but a nice place to stay. I am going to give them the benefit of the doubt and say that this trip we just caught them at a bad time. When we arrived, our room wasn't ready. Someone had stripped the beds, but not much else. They got it together for us in about 20 minutes so that wasn't so bad. The main pool was nice, but the second pool had what looked like permanent rust stains all over the sides and bottom. The area had received severe storms so that may have had something to do with it, but a roofing crew showed up one day and literally took over the place during the peak of summer. The parking area was small enough but with trucks, trailers and dumpsters taking up most of it, it made it really inconvenient. Add to that the fact that for the first two days, they made no attempt to clean up after themselves leaving old shingles and nails all over the parking lot. They also liked to talk until 1 in the morning loud enough to be heard through the thin walls. The noise and a not too comfortable bed made sleeping difficult. The nicest thing about the motel was its proximity to the main part of town and the aquarium. However that wasn't enough and we eventually left the place to the roofers and moved to another hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side nearer to the office. They are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    57
    31
    9
    9
See reviews for
61
59
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

My fiance and I Just took our first trip together. We were looking for something small and sweet, close to downtown. We loved staying here! It was quiet, and the owners were so sweet! It doesn't offer breakfast, but it is really a hop, skip, and jump away from the main strip! Very clean, and the maid service did a wonderful job tidying everything! One of the beds was older than the other, so it wasn't as firm, but other than that, we have no complaints! Would DEFINITELY stay here again.

Room Tip: We were the first room on the second floor right off the ramp and it was quiet on our end. It could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, TX
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The best thing about Mountain House is the location - near enough to walk to anything on the main street - but back a few blocks so you miss the noise. The owners/staff were unfailingly helpful and kind. The room was clean and a good, average motel room. No breakfast provided, but the price is low and restaurants in walking distance are plentiful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We used TripAdvisor to find this hotel and the reviews seemed really good (and the price was right). My wife and I, plus our 4 and 5 year old kids stayed 3 nights here. The location was good - we could walk to the main strip. Also very close to 'The Village' which is a nice shopping area with fountains and live music in the evening. The room was clean. It had a very small refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Bathroom was fine. Pillows were flat. We used our 4 towels the first night. The next day after housekeeping had been in, they left only 2 towels. Called front desk and it took them 45 minutes to bring more towels. There is a small stream out front and we saw 8 baby ducks with the mom that our kids loved. Overall it's ok but there are other hotels nearby that I'll try next time.

Room Tip: Refrigerator is small and front desk isn't always available right away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay, right off the main drag in the center of town. Older hotel, but clean. Friendly staff. Would stay here again. 

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnton, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My husband and I decided on this hotel because we wanted to find something near town, but not loud. We were well pleased. The price was the lowest we could find for a room with a balcony. We had a private balcony right over the creek and the owners allow you to smoke on the balconies or anywhere outside. This was exceptionally great as every other hotel I contacted said they didn't allow smoking on the balconies. I don't smoke and don't want my husband smoking in the room, so I didn't want a "smoking room". I did however want him to be able to be confortable and not have to go a mile to a parking lot to smoke. The room was clean although outdated. The staff was terrific. Although the bathroom is very tiny, it was spotless and had great water pressure. I was also very pleased with how close it is to town. I am overweight and sometimes get winded, but I had no trouble walking back and forth to town. If you can't walk a lot, however, the trolley stops in front of the hotel. The one thing I did have a problem with is that the mattress was very uncomfortable probably because it was a little older. It was however, very clean as that is the first thing I check in a hotel. Also, the main pool between buildings was clean, but I noticed the one outside the office had not been cleaned yet maybe because it is still early in the season. All in all, I think I will be staying here again.

Room Tip: If you one of the balcony rooms near the office, it is very easy to take your luggage up. As there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is a great place to stay in Gatlinburg. It's just a short walk to town. The staff is very friendly and helpful. No problems at all. You can park your vehcile in front of your room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown

Address: 247 Newton Lane, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Econo Lodge Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#14 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown Hotel Gatlinburg
Mountain Hotel Downtown
Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.