We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the main street” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown

Save Saved
You added Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
247 Newton Lane, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Econo Lodge Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 86 hotels in Gatlinburg
Richardson, TX
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Off the main street”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The best thing about Mountain House is the location - near enough to walk to anything on the main street - but back a few blocks so you miss the noise. The owners/staff were unfailingly helpful and kind. The room was clean and a good, average motel room. No breakfast provided, but the price is low and restaurants in walking distance are plentiful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    37
    20
    8
    8
See reviews for
43
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We used TripAdvisor to find this hotel and the reviews seemed really good (and the price was right). My wife and I, plus our 4 and 5 year old kids stayed 3 nights here. The location was good - we could walk to the main strip. Also very close to 'The Village' which is a nice shopping area with fountains and live music in the evening. The room was clean. It had a very small refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Bathroom was fine. Pillows were flat. We used our 4 towels the first night. The next day after housekeeping had been in, they left only 2 towels. Called front desk and it took them 45 minutes to bring more towels. There is a small stream out front and we saw 8 baby ducks with the mom that our kids loved. Overall it's ok but there are other hotels nearby that I'll try next time.

Room Tip: Refrigerator is small and front desk isn't always available right away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay, right off the main drag in the center of town. Older hotel, but clean. Friendly staff. Would stay here again. 

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnton, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My husband and I decided on this hotel because we wanted to find something near town, but not loud. We were well pleased. The price was the lowest we could find for a room with a balcony. We had a private balcony right over the creek and the owners allow you to smoke on the balconies or anywhere outside. This was exceptionally great as every other hotel I contacted said they didn't allow smoking on the balconies. I don't smoke and don't want my husband smoking in the room, so I didn't want a "smoking room". I did however want him to be able to be confortable and not have to go a mile to a parking lot to smoke. The room was clean although outdated. The staff was terrific. Although the bathroom is very tiny, it was spotless and had great water pressure. I was also very pleased with how close it is to town. I am overweight and sometimes get winded, but I had no trouble walking back and forth to town. If you can't walk a lot, however, the trolley stops in front of the hotel. The one thing I did have a problem with is that the mattress was very uncomfortable probably because it was a little older. It was however, very clean as that is the first thing I check in a hotel. Also, the main pool between buildings was clean, but I noticed the one outside the office had not been cleaned yet maybe because it is still early in the season. All in all, I think I will be staying here again.

Room Tip: If you one of the balcony rooms near the office, it is very easy to take your luggage up. As there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is a great place to stay in Gatlinburg. It's just a short walk to town. The staff is very friendly and helpful. No problems at all. You can park your vehcile in front of your room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here several times a year for many years but has changed owner and took a major downturn. Service was very poor, room was dirty, tried to call the office to report a fight in the parking lot the first night and no one would answer the phone. Went to the office the next morning to report the events from the night before and was told I could leave without refund if I was not happy.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This is the best price in town. Great location, within walking distance of everything. The price is good. The owners are very nice and the rooms are clean and comfortable. I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown

Also Known As:
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown Hotel
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown Hotel Gatlinburg
Mountain Hotel Downtown
Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Address: 247 Newton Lane, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Econo Lodge Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#25 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.