We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The annex is the pits” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sidney James Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Historic Nature Trail, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 88 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Dothan, Alabama
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The annex is the pits”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed in the annex section, rooms across the road from the main hotel, with a group I took to Gatlinburg, and it was literally the worst place I have ever stayed in my life. There were few redeeming qualities about our room.

The hotel is located at the north end of Gatlinburg, but up a hill and at the very end of that hill. So, the walk down is ok, but the walk up is not ideal to say the least. The pool is really the only facet of this lodging that is of any value. As far as other rooms I have no insight. I only hope they were better than the one I stayed in. I do not recommend this hotel, nor should you search it out. There are other lodgings more suited for you and your family's needs.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here ask for rooms on the main hotel site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    143
    119
    65
    134
See reviews for
203
166
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westerville, Ohio
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel staff have been very friendly. After getting settled in our room we started to notice a few things, some of the wall paper was peeling, the extra door latch was broke. The WIFI was only decent out on the balcony and sometimes you had to go to the office area for the better WIFI. Some of the wall outlets were not fastened into the wall securely. There were bug splatters on the ceiling and out on the balcony, the bathroom light cover was broken, the bedspreads had stains on them too. Our bathroom started leaking in the ceiling over the toilet and tub, so we called the office and they brought us towels but didn't offer to send someone to clean it up. The balcony door lock was also broken. In the mornings we would go to the office for coffee and they only had one container of it and it was empty half the time, but for a hotel of this size it should probably be 2 or 3. It may sound like I'm nit picking but when you're paying for a service you expect a little more. Not sure if I would stay here again or even recommend it to someone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My best friend and I just returned from a mom and daughter vacation with our daughters who are ages 14 and 12. We spent 3 nights at the Sidney James Mountain Lodge and found the desk personnel amazing and very helpful. We had a creekside balcony room on the third floor and truly enjoyed leaving the sliding glass door open and listening to the water and watching the small wild life in the creek. The indoor pool and hot tub were a great way to end the night after a full day of sight seeing. The only complaint I have was that the maid that was on duty on Friday and Saturday wouldn't even enter our room because we were in the room. We had to ask for more towels and I personally took the trash to her cart as she worked in the room next door on Sat and asked for replacement bags. She did make one of the 2 beds on Friday as we left the room just after she knocked and was more than willing to give us extra coffee cups and coffee packets. Maybe she was just short staffed those days I don't know but other than that we really enjoyed this lodge. If you can get past the fact that it is a little outdated this one is a diamond in the rough.

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony on the creek side are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I went there with an open mind after reading mix reviews. Yes, the place shows its age but nothing bad. Staff was very friendly . Rooms were spacious and clean, bathtub can use some updating. We had a balcony with a very small table & 2 chairs, tight squeeze. Kids room balcony was standing room only. No unusual odor or loud ppl. Only a few spider webs but considering you are next to woods-.Pool/hot tub area was clean. Sign clearly states how much is breakfast. Overall average place, I have had better & worse for same price. We would stay again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The place is very outdated.Needs,TLC,paint upkeep,repairs,ect.A/c problem.Rust in shower area.Celing patched.Good location but,not worth it.Pictures online are misleading.Would not stay again.For the price you have better choices.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henagar, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have stayed several times now at Sidney James. Clean stay, great amenities (pool/jacuzzi), and even pet-friendly. We will continue to stay there when needing a hotel in Gatlinburg. Last December when we were thrown out of a current contract with a hotel in Pigeon Forge due to them needing the room (overbooking), Sidney James worked with us to get us in a room early before check-in time. Wonderful, friendly, caring staff. Highly recommend this hotel. Reasonably priced.

Room Tip: If traveling with a pet, ask for a pet-friendly room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, North Carolina, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Overall the room was ok. The rooms were clean and the creek outside of our balcony was amazing. I did have a few issue with getting trolleys, as the hotel is quite a hike up/down a large hill to the downtown area. The front desk people told me trolleys run every thirty minutes but we never caught one or even seen one our entire weekend there. We also had issue with our downstairs neighbor who were smoking pot all night long and the smell was filling our room. We reported it to the desk who said that there was not anything they could do(even though they were non smoking rooms), but they would try to talk to them. Obviously this establishment condones illegal activity because the next night was the same thing staring at around midnight and we were forced to vacate the room for several hours because the smell was bothering my eighty year old grandmother. We reported them again and nothing was done. Our upstairs neighbors were no better, they kept emptying their cooler over the balcony and flooding our room. It was clear that this hotel might have been a nice place to stay once upon a time, but now is the kind of establishment that condones partying, drugs, and the lower class of patrons. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sidney James Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Address: 610 Historic Nature Trail, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 88 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sidney James Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Sidney James Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidney James Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Sidney James Mountain Gatlinburg
Sidney James Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sidney James Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.