We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sidney James Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Historic Nature Trail, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Excellent front counter service, room service was great, the internet service was intermittent, prices very fair. We loved the creek side rooms, thank you for a positive experience Sydney James.

We would recommend the Sidney James Mountain Lodge to anyone.

Room Tip: The creek side rooms were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    126
    112
    56
    128
See reviews for
181
153
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I loved it!! Beautiful creek side room, very good rates, walking distance to everything! I would stay here every time. Wonderful swimming area- hot tub area, fitness rm. I enjoyed my visit to gatlinburg so much and this hotel was a big part of it!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stay at the Sidney James each year for the Mountain Hounds event (an awesome get-together for greyhounds and the people who love them). This year will be our 5th year and I can't wait!!

The regular double rooms offer everything we need and although not overly fancy with things we don't need, they are so reasonably priced which allows us to stay much longer than at places charging twice as much. A longer trip is way more important to me than what the room looks like as we don't spend much time in the room anyway, we are on vacation!

The staff is always so nice and friendly and easy to deal with... if only all hotels had this kind of front desk staff!! They are always glad to see the greyhounds! Just this morning I called to extend my stay next month for an extra day, and as usual, the staff was gracious and took care of my request quickly. I can't wait to get there this year, and will be back every year for Mountain Hounds, DoG willing!

Room Tip: The creekside rooms are nice because of the creek, but I like the courtside rooms for this event bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulaski, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is vintage Gatlinburg at its best. Property is older and located a ways up Historic Nature Trail (Airport Road) from the main drag, but an easy, pleasant walk to everything. Rooms are older, yes, but ours was immaculate and very comfortable. The balcony overlooking the creek afforded a serene view of the mountain and woods behind the property. We loved the "quiet convenience." We especially appreciated the complimentary wi-fi. There's also a cafe', indoor pool and laundry facilities onsite. This place was perfectly in keeping with a cozy, late-winter weekend getaway to Gatlinburg.

Room Tip: Stay on the creek side. Lovely view...mountain serenity!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The staff and owners of this property are wonderful! It is an older property and not fancy, but has been well maintained, is very clean and quiet. The meeting room was lovely and perfect for our church retreat. It is close to the main street and attractions but just far enough that you do not get the noise or the traffic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the creek!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

For what we paid, this was a semi-decent place. It'd be adequate for someone staying in town just a couple of days, who wasn't going to be in the room much. However, it left my wife and I a tad disappointed. The "free wifi" was basically nonexistent, unless you sat in the lobby or someplace nearby. The cafe's breakfast was overpriced for its quality. The room's cleanliness also left much to be desired, with cobwebs on the ceiling, stains in the tub, and peeling wallpaper. I've stayed places with comparable prices and been far more satisfied.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Du Quoin, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

It was a great place to stay. Staff was courtious and friendly. Views are awesome. It is a little bit off the strip but perfect for us with a new baby (croud noises). The place is a little outdated, but sometimes thats not a bad thing. The top floor has high ceiling with fan, sorry no pics. Would definately stay again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: 4th floor has the high ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sidney James Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Address: 610 Historic Nature Trail, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sidney James Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sidney James Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidney James Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Sidney James Mountain Gatlinburg
Sidney James Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sidney James Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.