We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Quite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Gatlinburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Gatlinburg to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   967 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Ranked #11 of 88 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Graysville
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Not Quite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Not quite what we were hoping for or expecting from a Hampton. Our creekside room had a balcony where we had a great view of the pool but we could barely see the creek. The towels were much smaller & thinner than the hotel that we just left (a more budget minded hotel??) But, a nice surprise, a large jacuzzi. The rooms are on an exterior corridor and the walls are pretty thin so you could hear luggage carts and running kids pretty clearly. A decent place to stay, great location, nice people, an elevator but all in all, a bit disappointing.

Room Tip: If you have any mobility problems, ask for a room by the elevator, otherwise your choices are a long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    204
    80
    41
    14
See reviews for
184
304
9
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just spent the past 3 days in this Hampton Inn - everything was wonderful!
We had a creekside room with a view of the pool area...
The location is perfect - the breakfast buffet is really nice - the hotel is very clean - the staff is superior - the beds comfy - and the breakfast dining area is just great (you can also eat outside over the creek).
I have no complaints....none.
In the lobby we had coffee, tea, ice water, and Krispy Kream doughnuts all day (nice touch).
We highly recommend the Hampton Inn Gatlinburg.

Room Tip: I recommend the creekside rooms - they have a private balcony and the sounds of the rushing water is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Hampton Inn in Gatlinburg, Tennessee is a wonderful place to stay. Easy walking distance to all attractions in Gatlinburg, a short drive to Pigeon Forge. Always clean, staff always courteous and smiling. Rates are very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, MA
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Trying to be objective here, but we didn't like this hotel. We were supposed to be in a non-smoking room, but it reeked of smoke. They allow smoking on the balconies. Guess where the air conditioning intake is! We didn't think another room would help, so we declined it when offered after we complained to the front desk. There were smokers outside everyplace. Room was not clean enough. There was a used towel on the balcony too. Pool looked very nice, but it was too cold and rainy when we were there to try it.

Room was otherwise typical Hampton Inn. Liked the fact I can turn off the refrigerator as I'm a light sleeper. We liked the view of the creek, was nice we could sleep with the balcony door open instead of using the smelly air conditioner. Bed not the best, had had lots of large people in it I suppose. Rooms are NOT on an interior corridor, this wasn't always a Hampton, smokers everywhere outside.

Nothing special or terrible about breakfast. I'm a cereal and banana and juice and coffee person when at a Hampton, and so this was fine. I've never tried the hot offerings, so can't comment. Love that Hamptons have skim milk. Almost no one at breakfast. To judge from the other guests' waistlines they were all at the all-you-can-eat pancakes spot nearby.

Hotel does not have a guest laundry as Hampton Inns normally do. We had to go to the hotel next door (in the pouring rain), and had hassles about getting into the laundry room, even though it was supposedly a normal arrangement.

We hated Gatlinburg, so that may have colored our feelings. Only plus for this Hampton I can think of is its location, with lots of restaurants to walk to (though we were the only pedestrians) and located just outside the Park.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a "creek-side" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGatlinburg, General Manager at Hampton Inn Gatlinburg, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
I am terribly sorry that your experience at our hotel was disappointing. Your feedback is truly appreciated for it is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve the quality of our products and services. All of your comments will be internally discussed with our management team for immediate action.

On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for your feedback and are truly sorry we did not succeed creating a memorable experience for you. Should you desire to further discuss your visit, please feel free to contact me. I would love the opportunity to earn your business and have you stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Christie Jordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stopped in Gatlinburg on our way home from St. Augustine. We love Hampton Inn and this one was no different. The beds were very comfortable! The balconies were fantastic with their views! We loved that our room had a fridge and microwave which were completely unexpected. The bathrooms were very nice.

The only complaints I have are that the cable was recently upgraded and I had difficulty getting channels, but one call to the front desk and maintenence was to my room within 2 minutes and he was very kind and knowledgable. He had it up and running in no time. Also, the bathrooms could use better exhaust fans.

Breakfast has been better at other Hampton Inn's though. There was no meat offered at breakfast, no white bread and through no fault of the employees people were rude. The eggs were pretty good and my dad loved the waffles!

I would highly recommend this hotel and their staff are fantastic! Very upbeat, friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We didn't have reservations and just walked in, we were surprised to receive a walk in special. Our room was beautiful and very clean. The king size bed was very comfortable and I enjoyed my time in the over sized jacquezzi. Although we didn't have time to swim, the pool area was really nice with views if the creek. The complimentary breakfast was delicious wih lots to choose from. I enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Location couldn't be better. Room was clean. Entire hotel has been renovated. Breakfast is wonderful. Eggs, potatoes, fruit, donuts, bagels, coffee and juice. Comfy beds. We left the car in the hotels lot and didnt move if for 3 days except for driving to Smoky Mountain National Park which the entrance is right by the hotel. Plan on staying again! Will request a room by stream next time. Nice pool area! Couldnt have been happier with this hotel. I would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gatlinburg

Address: 967 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#10 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Gatlinburg 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Hampton Inn Gatlinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg Hotel Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Gatlinburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.