We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic, Mountain Retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Creek Lodge

Save Saved
You added Old Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Creek Lodge
680 River Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Gatlinburg Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 86 hotels in Gatlinburg
Maryville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Rustic, Mountain Retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here on Christmas night and it was very rustic and quaint. Right in the heart of downtown Gatlinburge and within walking distance to anything in the city. The Tram Lift was viewable from our back balcony which also overlooked a raging river which was wonderful to sleep by. Being December, it was cold and we ran the fireplace in our room but kept our back balcony door cracked so we could hear the sounds of the river all night. The room was very clean and modernly decorated. We had "log" themed furniture. Overall, it was a very nice hotel, in a very good location and was very clean. I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    129
    45
    13
    4
See reviews for
106
147
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We only spent one night in Gatlinburg, but we were very glad we found this hotel on tripadvisor. As people have said, it is one block off the main street, but feels so much quieter and peaceful. The Ober Gatlinburg Tram is diagonally right across the street-so convenient, and fun to watch from your balcony. The creeks run past every room and balcony. I didn't realize there were outside corridors, but I really didn't mind. It makes sense because every room faces the creeks. No rooms face the parking area, most of which is under cover. Our room was very clean and very spacious, two queen beds, not just doubles, fireplace, very nice bathroom. Yes, there is only a shower, no tub, but it's a very nicely done tile shower. The mattresses seemed quite new, and quite firm, but squeaked a lot. We cracked the balcony door just enough to hear the creek all night. The breakfast buffet could use some protein on it. Even yogurt would help. The breakfast room is small, although there are a few spots to sit in the lobby. We took our breakfast out to the deck just past the check-in desk and ate out there. It was lovely and peaceful with the creek running by. They could use another table and more chairs out there to help relieve the breakfast crowding. We were very pleased with the location, size of the room and the price. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our second trip to this hotel was time and money well spent. If you have small children I recommend this establishment. The room and grounds is very well kept. The lobby serves a continental breakfast and offers cookies and lemonade in the evening after 4:00. This hotel is located near a few restaurants, tram to Ober Gatlinburg, walkway around the stream offers handmade rocking chairs to sit and listen to the stream & the parking is convenient (walk into own w/out paying hourly rates). Although there is a pool on the premise we did not partake. The pool is somewhat small and we felt intrusive to other guests. This pool needs to have a kiddy pool added. There seemed to be a few ants in the bathroom. The ac seemed to have a govern shutting the air off completely after cycling every 30 min or so. It was somewhat uncomfortable for the bed not next to the ac. Whoever cleaned w/a water hose above our balcony seemed to spill water all over our's. It splashed our french doors. Luckily we were not out. I was hesitant to go out afterwards. We will revisit this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

On a recent trip to Gatlinburg we rented a cabin in the mountains but decided to come in a day early without a reservation area and see what we could find. Driving alone the river area we found a very cool looking place that looked like a lodge. This place was amazing and our only complaint was that we couldn't stay longer. The room was very clean and large. We had a jacuzzi tub right in the room, which the kids loved. Everything was fresh and updated and was in great shape. And the view was awesome. Right outside the room on our spacious balcony was the bubbling and rolling river. Very cool. And the location was great. We were right beside Ober Gatlinburg and the main drag. We would definitely stay here again next time. The breakfast could have a few more selections, but it wasn't bad overall.

Room Tip: Higher floors had a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This lodge is right on the creek! Just open the door of the balcony and enjoy the creek! Also, it is just a block away from the downtown. You will not need a car to see Gatlinburg! Every attraction of Gatlinburg is within the walking the distance from this hotel! The rooms are good too. The room we rented did not have a tub, bathroom was little smaller size. Also, the breakfast area is small and there is no protein in the breakfast. But, these shortcoming can be forgiven given the advantage of the location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

At the recommendation of another Trip Advisor review, we stayed in a king, Jacuzzi, fireplace, creek side room with a refrigerator and microwave. Room was clean and sleeping with the creek every night was relaxing though humid. The location is the best part. You are only one block from the "main strip" but you are at the end of the town which means you are closer to the National Park and can avoid the "main strip" traffic. The Internet was reliable for those of us who have to work or want to upload photos. The only hot item on the free breakfast was biscuits and gravy. Everyday. Of course, you can make your own waffles and there is cereal and some pastry items. The staff is very nice and you are charged when you check in. The pool is very small and right on the sidewalk with no privacy whatsoever. The other negative is that the hotel does not offer any type of laundry service for those of us who do not want to do our own laundry while on vacation. Overall, a fine stay and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Second floor is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The location of this hotel is great and reason enough for me to stay here once again. Just a block from the main strip, we walked everywhere and it was so convenient to not have to look for parking. The other good thing was the view of the creek. The staff was friendly. The bathrooms are small and there is no bathtub, but we stayed for only 3 nights and did not spend much time inside the room anyway so it was not a big deal. The breakfast was not great but hey it was free!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Creek Lodge

Address: 680 River Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Gatlinburg Downtown)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#15 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Creek Lodge promises the best that nature has to offer in Gatlinburg with its unique mountain charm located at the entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. At Old Creek Lodge you’ll find state-of-the-art amenities among its traditional mountain craft decor and massive log beams. Downtown Gatlinburg shops, restaurants, and attractions are just outside your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Old Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Creek Hotel Gatlinburg
Fairfield Inn Gatlinburg
Fairfield Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.