We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Creek Lodge
680 River Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Gatlinburg Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 86 hotels in Gatlinburg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great location on the river. Balcony overlooking the river was awesome. Very reasonably priced. Will definitely stay with old creek again.The staff was very helpful with any questions. Even were able to get us in a couple hours early on short notice. Warm cookies in the lobby in the evening for a nice snack.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    122
    42
    13
    4
See reviews for
101
138
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Hill, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We loved this hotel. Great spot, close to the strip but far enough away to be quiet. Our room was beautiful and large. We stayed on the loud sided of the creek, right but the little waterfall. I would of loved to leave the door open, but it was just to loud. I suggest going on the quieter side if you want to leave the door open. With the door and curtain closed, we couldnt hear the creek while we slept. The staff was friendly and very helpful. My son loved the cookies they offered in the lobby.
The only reason I didnt give it a 5 was the breakfast. It was not great. We only ate there once. It would of been nice if there would of been some protein choices and that they mixed it up. Everyday was the same thing.
Overall we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the other side of the office if you want to enjoy the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Very nice hotel. Room decor was very appealing, everything was new, clean and fresh. Loved the private balcony overlooking the mountain stream, it really was private unlike some places that advertise private balconies. Morning breakfast was very adequate, great location for walking to everything in Gatlinburg and easy access to the park without having to wait in traffic. A very very pleasant stay.
L White

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our way back from South Carolina. We had vacationed in Gatlinburg before and wanted to go back to enjoy this beautiful mountain town once more. I had been looking mostly at the large chains but found Old Creek Lodge on Trip Advisor while searching for reviews on the big chains. I was pleasantly surprised at the location and the cleanliness and the amenities. Location is literally 1 block off the main strip in Gatlinburg, you can walk to anything. The place was just completed renovated in 2011 according to the front desk clerk and it shows. It was clean and had nice touches throughout that made it look like a mountain lodge. The pool was small but the kids didn't mind, they love it anyway. The breakfast had many choices and was ready promptly at 7am which helped us get back on the road quickly. If I was ever to come through Gatlinburg again, I'd definitely stay here.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This place defn. exceeded our expectation when we arrived. Location is great, rooms are fantastic and very clean. It is great to sit out on the private balcony and hear the water in the steam. Our kids loved that they could run in the office and grab warm fresh cookies after walking up and down the strip. Very quiet. Would recommend this hotel to everyone, especially for the value compared to other hotel/motels we passed by.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our room interior was very dark. A double wide door on the south side opened to the balcony over the creek, but not much light came in and the lighting in the room didn’t help. There are no windows. Neither door has a screen. We had the balcony door open for seconds for fresh air and 3 flies flew in. So, without keeping the door open, it was too warm inside the room. Even though it was in the 60s outside, we needed the a/c on.

The floors are solid. I always get top floor rooms, so I’m not under anyone. But these floors felt like they’re concrete, so no problem with noise from above. The top floor here is the 4th floor; the first floor doesn’t have rooms, but parking and the office. Breakfast room is small – only 2 tables + 2 counter-like areas to sit. The hotel is just off the main road through Gatlinburg on the south end. This end is closest to the National Park, and is the least congested area of the main drag. This is not to say that there’s nothing at this end. Within a 5 minute walk of the hotel are probably 15 restaurants, a grocery store and the Ober Gatlinburg tram station. But, if you walk up the main drag another 5 minutes, you hit the heart of all that Gatlinburg has to offer: Ripleys’, Guinness museum, House of Illusions, you name it. The town of Gatlinburg seems like a world apart from the National Park.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were here for 3 nights in-between Wisconsin and Florida. It was myself, my husband, and our two children, ages 6 and 10. The southern hospitality was incredible, as was the yummy breakfast in the mornings. The rooms have amazing views, and the fireplace sure makes the room cozy when the temp drops at night. You have to be a bit picky when it comes to hotels in this area that are close to the strip, as some can be pretty run-down. Old Creek is great, clean, and beautiful. We would highly recommend. The hotel is just enough off of the strip where it's quiet, but close enough where you can just walk to everything downtown. We never took our car anywhere and walked, aside from traveling to Pigeon Forge to see the Lumberjack Feud.

Room Tip: The river can be quite loud, but if you like white noise, the river is very soothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Creek Lodge

Also Known As:
Old Creek Hotel Gatlinburg
Old Creek Hotel
Fairfield Inn Gatlinburg
Fairfield Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Fairfield Inn
Gatlinburg Fairfield
Address: 680 River Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Gatlinburg Downtown)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Creek Lodge promises the best that nature has to offer in Gatlinburg with its unique mountain charm located at the entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. At Old Creek Lodge you’ll find state-of-the-art amenities among its traditional mountain craft decor and massive log beams. Downtown Gatlinburg shops, restaurants, and attractions are just outside your door. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Old Creek Lodge to your Saves list