We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed with a Youth Group” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Glenstone Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Glenstone Lodge to your Saves list
Glenstone Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   504 Historic Nature Trail, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 88 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Stayed with a Youth Group”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed with a youth football group for a tournament in Gatlinburg over Thanksgiving week in 2012. The hotel was very dirty and run down. Pool was closed down due to a virus that was going through the hotel. If the group returns (over 50 people) the consensus was that we would look for other accomodations and nto staying at the Glenstone Lodge.

Room rate we were told as a "group discount" was actually the regular priced rate
Rooms were dirty, bedspreads torn and the wallpaper peeling
Did not eat at the restauraunt as the prices were outrageous, no continetnal breakfast or coffee, etc,...
The pool was dirty and the pool area was dirty

Room Tip: Look elsewhere. Much better quality rooms, service, ammenities and views at other hotels in Gatlinb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenstoneGM, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay in November. The pool area carpet has since been replaced and looks wonderful. Our maintenance team has corrected any wallpaper issue. Our housekeeper has replaced any worn bedspreads. Our breakfast buffet offers many selections and includes a drink. It is comparable in price to any sit down restaurant in town. Two people can eat for less than $20.00 in most cases. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    179
    148
    101
    101
See reviews for
235
152
10
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We went to Gatlinburg to stay with relatives staying in cabins, so this location was close to them and close to downtown. Most hotels in Gatlinburg are dated, I understand that, so rise above and do something different. The services here was good, everyone was extremely nice, but the furniture in the lobby was from the 1980s and the decor in the rooms followed suite. Very outdated, and green bathroom sink, wow. The sheets and mattress where fine, but when we went to bed, the people in the room next to use where outside smoking and caring on which filtered into our room. The room walls are paper thin, you could hear everything that was going on in the room next to yours and any other outside noise. The pool area was nice, we where the only people using it on the Sunday when we where there so that was fun; hot tub,and a two tier pool, all which are a nice size and temperature, but the whole pool area looks like it was built in the 1960s. Their are no restrooms in the pool area, that makes me very worried, how many people are running all the way back to their rooms to use the restrooms, scary thought. This is a very dated hotel at an ok price, at a good location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenstoneGM, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your review of Glenstone Lodge. We are glad that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and that the beds were comfortable. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is our second stay ay Glenstone. The lodge is a little outdated, but price and location makes up for that. I had a group of 20 and Micheelle the sales manager did a wonderful job of making sure our reservations were in order and our requests were met. Check-in was great, Aprile, Terry, Mitzy, and Pierre helped out tremendously; going above and beyond to serve us! The restaurant, " The Patio" is a great bargain for breakfast, especially for a group and you also get a discount if tickets are ordered in advance. Sam the restaurant manager was very kind to us. Thanks to Christina, part of housekeeping , and the rest of the crew for keeping the place clean. The only complaint I have is the pools oH levels way to high. Last year my family could swim, because it burned our eyes. My daughter was crying because it burned so bad. This year was a lot better but most in our group complained of their eyes burning. As one that takes care of a public-type pool, I have had same problem from time -to -time. Mist people thinks the chlorine, its usually not, it's the pH level.Plan on staying there again next February.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenstoneGM, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you so very much for your review of Glenstone Lodge. We are so glad to know that the staff was friendly and helpful, and that you and your group enjoyed our wonderful breakfast buffet. We have shared your comments with our staff. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Gatlinburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My Sister, nephew and I stayed at Glenstone 3 nights - was GREAT - The pool was beautiful and warm. We stayed right by the pool and loved the sound of the waterfall. The rooms were very clean and the staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. The location was perfect...right within walking distance of the main strip. We never had to get into the car to do anything while we were there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenstoneGM, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of Glenstone Lodge. We are happy to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your comments. We hope that you will contact us the next time you are visiting Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We wanted to stay in Gatlinburg but not on the strip..we figure there was too much noise...so we came upon Glenstone Lodge...Upon entering the lobby we were amazed...this motel is dated but...very clean...ohh and they have a full service restaurant...the front desk personnel were very nice as we wanted to get our room aroung 12:30 that day and they were more than welome to accommadate us. We wanted a balcony room and were given a great one..we could see the strip..but no loud noise...bathrooms wer super nice....rooms were very clean and the housekeepers were smiling everytime we seen them...we wanted a two night stay but decided to stay 3 nights...it was a pleasure staying here...we have read some of these reviews...some people in this world you just cannot please....

Room Tip: We loved the room we received ...two queen beds a flatscreen t.v ...room smelled clean not like it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenstoneGM, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of Glenstone Lodge. We truly appreciate your comments which we have shared with our staff. They work hard to keep our rooms and public areas in good condition. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will contact us the next time you are planning a trip to Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluff City, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late in the evening so we were not able to take advantage of everything Glenstone Lodge has to offer.

We did tour the grounds though. The pool area is very nice and was being cleaned while we were walking though. Plenty of space to sit and the area is very warm considering it was January.

Our room was on the creek side with 2 chairs out front for our use. The room was clean upon arrival. The bathroom was also very clean upon arrival. The beds slept well. You do get outside noise but it did not bother us. The were several youth groups also staying and those youth were up late. My only real complaint was our tub was a very slow drainer. We informed the front desk of this upon checkout, hopefully it will be repaired.

Overall it was a nice stay and we will return. It was a very good value.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenstoneGM, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of Glenstone Lodge. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy to know that you liked the indoor pool area. It has recently been recarpeted and looks great. Our maintenance department did check the tub drain and corrected the issue. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip to Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon in 2005 it was decent. We stayed here this past weekend (January 2013) and ended up leaving with a dirty feeling due to the rooms and the BUGS we found were living with us during our stay.

We reported the bugs before we left, and they simply offered the apology for the inconvenience - and told us they were just water bugs (they looked like roaches to us). I did not have time to stay and chat, so we left without getting to speak to a manager. When we complained on their Facebook page, they deleted the comment. We sent a comment to their guest survey online... guess what, no contact. Thanks for the follow-up Glenstone Lodge - I'll be letting folks know of this experience.

Room Tip: Don't get a pool room - apparently they have "water bugs" that look kinda like roaches...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenstoneGM, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your review of Glenstone Lodge. We regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. When you brought the situation to our attention at check out, we immediately took the room off market and it was inspected by our pest control company. Had this been reported during your stay, we would gladly have moved you to another room. We have shared your comments with our Housekeeping and Maintenance staff. We regret that your vacation was interupted by this situation. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that this caused you. We hope you that you will give us the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenstone Lodge

Address: 504 Historic Nature Trail, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 88 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenstone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Glenstone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenstone Hotel Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenstone Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.