We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Glenstone Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Glenstone Lodge to your Saves list
Glenstone Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   504 Historic Nature Trail, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 88 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Bluff City, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late in the evening so we were not able to take advantage of everything Glenstone Lodge has to offer.

We did tour the grounds though. The pool area is very nice and was being cleaned while we were walking though. Plenty of space to sit and the area is very warm considering it was January.

Our room was on the creek side with 2 chairs out front for our use. The room was clean upon arrival. The bathroom was also very clean upon arrival. The beds slept well. You do get outside noise but it did not bother us. The were several youth groups also staying and those youth were up late. My only real complaint was our tub was a very slow drainer. We informed the front desk of this upon checkout, hopefully it will be repaired.

Overall it was a nice stay and we will return. It was a very good value.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenstoneGM, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of Glenstone Lodge. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy to know that you liked the indoor pool area. It has recently been recarpeted and looks great. Our maintenance department did check the tub drain and corrected the issue. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip to Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    179
    148
    101
    101
See reviews for
235
152
10
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon in 2005 it was decent. We stayed here this past weekend (January 2013) and ended up leaving with a dirty feeling due to the rooms and the BUGS we found were living with us during our stay.

We reported the bugs before we left, and they simply offered the apology for the inconvenience - and told us they were just water bugs (they looked like roaches to us). I did not have time to stay and chat, so we left without getting to speak to a manager. When we complained on their Facebook page, they deleted the comment. We sent a comment to their guest survey online... guess what, no contact. Thanks for the follow-up Glenstone Lodge - I'll be letting folks know of this experience.

Room Tip: Don't get a pool room - apparently they have "water bugs" that look kinda like roaches...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenstoneGM, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your review of Glenstone Lodge. We regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. When you brought the situation to our attention at check out, we immediately took the room off market and it was inspected by our pest control company. Had this been reported during your stay, we would gladly have moved you to another room. We have shared your comments with our Housekeeping and Maintenance staff. We regret that your vacation was interupted by this situation. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that this caused you. We hope you that you will give us the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed there with family over the weekend. The location is the only good thing about this hotel. Old and dated, everywhere. The entrance looks new, but our room looked like it hasnt been updated for decades. Had to run hot water for 15 minutes before it warmed up. Flat screen tv, but only 12 channels or so, bad reception. Pool was ok, but indoor carpet was nasty. This place needs a serious cleaning and update. Found them on Expedia, not as good of a deal as we thought, will stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenstoneGM, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review the Glenstone Lodge. We sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We are working on renovations to include carpet, flooring, furniture, and other items in the next few months. We regret any inconvenience and hope that you will consider giving us an opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Water pressure issues so significant we changed locations. Walk in check in was smooth. Staff pleasant and helpful. Room clean and comfortable. Toilet had a very weak flush. The shower was a deal breaker. Water pressure non existent. Temperature of the water went from normal to scalding to freezing without warning. No blow dryer, fridge or microwave in room. Gas fireplace was nice, but ended up overheating the room. Will not stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenstoneGM, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review the Glenstone Lodge. We sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. We appreciate that you felt our rooms were clean and comfortable. We have hair dryers in all bathrooms near the light switch. Refrigerators are available in about half of our rooms and a microwave is available at the front desk. We are happy that you enjoyed the fireplace in your room. We are working on renovations including carpet, flooring, furniture and other items in the next couple of months and would certainly appreciate the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have been to gatlinburg many times and usually stay in cabins. We decided to save $, and try a cheaper hotel. I'll admit, I was a little timid to stay here...but no regrets!!! The guy was extremely friendly upon check in and told me the reason why there were so many teens here(youth convention) even suggested n moving my room to where I would t hear the pool noise with all them in that area. Pool area is great for kids, especially in the winter time, I love that it's open late. The hot tub part is broken, but stuff happens :).....room is spacious, we have balcony to street. Room is clean and t.v is nice. The bathroom is small, but serves its purpose. No fridge in our room, but small table and dresser. The walk downtown isn't bad at all, there is also a trolley stop right in front of the hotel. The only truely negative thing is they dont have a laundry area here for guest. Everything looks relatively clean and I feel like we got a great value for our money. This isn't a 5 star hotel, so for the reviews that criticize it like one ...don't worry, it's a great value and I'd recommend staying here!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenstoneGM, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review the Glenstone Lodge. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have a great two level indoor swimming pool that the kids love. Our rooms are spacious and very clean. The hot tub is up and working as it should and approximately half of our rooms have refrigerators. We hope that you will call us the next time you are planning on visiting Gatlinburg. We look forward to serving you again. Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night with a Groupon I had purchased. Thought it would be a good Christmas treat. I didn't look at their website just called and booked. The hotel is dated by all means but it is so VERY CLEAN!! Cleaner than some of the new hotels I have stayed in. The pool was great for kids top pool nice and deep and warm. Rooms were clean and spacious. We had a nice balcony. Only thing we really didn't like was the bathroom seemed super small. Small walk down to the strip not bad but you realize the hill on way back up. Staff was nice and friendly. Breakfast bar smelled good but we opted to go to local restaurant since it was almost same price (hotel was like 9.00 per person) Over all good older hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenstoneGM, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you so very much for your review of the Glenstone Lodge. We are so happy to hear that you found the hotel to be very clean and that you enjoyed your spacious balcony room. We are glad that you found the staff to be friendly and that you found us to be a good value. We hope you will experience our breakfast buffet on your next trip to Gatlinburg. It is wonderful. We would appreciate the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here over Xmas, was given a fireplace room , overlooking the strip. Good location,within walking distance of everything. Clean rooms, roomy. Very nice pool area, waterfalls , greenery, hot tub. Nicely decorated. Only thing is that they need to offer a cont. breakfast. They do offer a breakfast Buffett for 9.00. But didn't offer a discount for staying there.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenstoneGM, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of the Glenstone Lodge. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our breakfast buffet offers many different breakfast items with everything from made to order omelets and waffles to eggs, grits, bacon, sausage, fruits, and many other delicious options. We hope you will call us when planning your next trip to Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenstone Lodge

Address: 504 Historic Nature Trail, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 88 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenstone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Glenstone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenstone Hotel Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenstone Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.