We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So, what if the Smokies are closed for the Government shutdown!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elk Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elk Springs Resort
Save
You added Elk Springs Resort to your Saves list
1088 Powdermill Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Crossville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So, what if the Smokies are closed for the Government shutdown!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just spent a 3 day weekend with our friends from Indiana at the Elk Springs Resort, Gatlinburg, in the "Serenity Lodge". Nine of us enjoyed a quiet, clean, comfortable and charming 5 bedroom, 4 bath cabin. Loved the rocking chairs on the large deck, fully equipped kitchen, media room with 60" screen, game tables, comfortable beds, close to arts & crafts community. Although the park was completely closed, we did enjoy the Craft show at the Convention Center and the wonderful companionship of our friends.

Room Tip: Check out the Elk Springs Resort website to make a selection on the cabin that suits your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    886
    73
    22
    16
    13
See reviews for
471
339
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed in Condo 106 at Gatehouse Condominiums and rented through Elk Springs Resort. We were thrilled with our condo and the location which is at the foot of the Roaring Fork Motor Trail. The condo is beautiful and the big outside patio is amazing - right on the water :) :) We love hearing the water and had coffee and donuts each morning outside. We drove to Cades Cove and loved seeing Meigs Falls and the Sinks. The Roaring Fork Motor Trail is so, so beautiful with amazing views all along. Greenbrier is also very pretty! When we left we took the Newfound Gap Road over to Cherokee and drove the Blue Ridge Parkway for a little while. If you don't want to go shopping and hate crowds, you can avoid downtown and take the bypass. Dinner was great at Park Grill, very nice waitress, good food and wonderful live piano music:) We liked it better than it's sister restaurant, The Peddler. The donuts at the Donut Friar are sinfully delicious:) So are the cinnamon rolls at Rocky Top Cinnamon Rolls. We got Bennett's Barbeque to go and ate back at the condo and it was good. We honeymooned in Gatlinburg 39 years ago:) It was a dry county back then and a sleepy little town, but we still love to go and enjoy the surrounding beauty of the Great Smokey Mountains!!

Room Tip: Listen to a mountain stream from the patio of your beautiful condo !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Gatlinburg is a horrible blight, but we were insulated from it with a lovely cottage with an awesome view. Spotless and sparkling inside. We did have raccoons assault the trash can, but the staff ginned up a solution the next day, early. Tip: avoid town. It is an embarrassment. Seedy and chaotic. However, there are more pancake restaurants per capita than anywhere in the world.

The park was awesome.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed in the Mountain Hideaway cabin for 5 nights and enjoyed every minute of it. There were a couple of minor things but they did not make us value our trip any less.

Let me get these minor points out of the way first;
1. The view wasn't quite as unobstructed as shown in their pictures but a bit of trimming in front of the building could definitely resolve this issue.
2. The wireless internet is available but the signal is a bit weak in the living room which makes hooking it up to an Xbox or laptop a bit frustrating. Once it was hooked up we had no further issues. I simply walked down stairs and hooked it up while sitting next to the router :)
3. The kitchen is beautiful but could use some new cookware. The pots and pans (especially the frying pan) was in need of replacement. Again, no big deal but it made cooking a bit more challenging than it should have been.
4. The place was very clean except for the top of the fridge which needed a good dusting and two champagne glasses which were unwashed from the previous visitor.
5. Mountain Hideaway is quite a drive away from Pigeon Forge. We only went there once during our stay and decided we liked Gatlinburg better anyway. Gatlinburg is about 20 minutes away from the cabin. Very nice drive though.
6. The shower was very nice but it took a while to figure out what setting did what because it was a bit hard to get the handle for the settings just right. I think the water pressure may have played a part in this. It takes quite a bit of pressure to have the jets and rain shower working at the same time. When we figured it all out it was amazing.

Those were the minor negative points. Here are the things we loved;

1. Basically the whole cabin.
2. Everything was very clean except for the two minor issues mentioned above.
3. Sitting out on the top deck was very relaxing. I got to grill some steaks and enjoy the view.
4. The bathroom was amazing with a Jacuzzi tub and shower with many adjustments. It takes a bit to figure it all out but, once you do, it's great.
5. We were able to have a movie marathon one night on the 55" TV with surround system. I had to change the adjustments for the rear speakers but after setting it all up properly it worked like a charm.
6. The recliner couch was great for the movie marathon. Very comfortable!
7. The bed is fantastic. It's the best place to be after a day of walking through Gatlinburg or hiking in the mountains.
8. It was very quiet. Yes, you have neighbors but we never really saw them. The cabins are spaced out pretty nicely but a little closer than you would think from looking at the pictures.
9. Everything else I forgot!

We really enjoyed our stay and got to experience some great views from mountain tops in the area and eat at great places. Sure, the pictures show slightly better than the actual thing but I kind of expected that. There will always be something to complain about if you look hard enough but, if you do that, then you should just not go anywhere. We had not stayed in a cabin before in Gatlinburg but I can say that I don't expect any other cabin to have been of better value than where we stayed. The few negative points were to give a fair review with pros and cons because you need to be realistic before booking your vacation.

Staying anywhere other than home will never be 100% perfect but this was as close as it will ever get, anywhere... well, unless you have a private yacht with a crew, maybe.

Room Tip: If you like staying off the beaten path and in a quiet area with the sound of water coming from a cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I recently spent my 3rd vacation with Elk Springs Resorts and I will never stay anywhere else in the Smokies. The check in and our process is so easy and the cabins are immaculate. I travel with my dogs and their are several pet friendly cabins. I have stayed in 2 (Sweet Dreams & Rascals Retreat) and you would never know any pets have ever been there. The resorts location is so quiet and so relaxing. The perfect spot to enjoy a good book in a rocking chair while enjoying the nature around you. I recommend them for absolutely anyone!.

Room Tip: I don't believe you can find a bad cabin within this resort. Personally I can recommend Sweet D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We found this cabin online after searching through many websites and getting the recommendations of friends. We were delighted to find this cabin, which was even better than we hoped for. Not only does it have spectacular mountain views, pool table, outdoor jacuzzi spa, and three flat-screen televisions, it also has high-end new appliances with a beautiful clean kitchen area complete with a touch-on kitchen faucet. I don't want to forget the romantic fireplaces located in the living area, the bedroom, and even the spacious bathroom. There's a two-person jacuzzi tub in the large bathroom, as well as a seven-foot-long walk-in shower which has a rain-forest shower-head, a hand-held detachable shower-head, and three pressure nozzles mounted in the shower wall. A blow-dryer and magnifying make-up mirror are included, as well as make-up remover towlettes. The king-size log bed has luxurious sheets, pillows, and comforter. There is a log dresser with six drawers. This cabin has a lot of storage, big closets, and a half-bath on the upper level. A library of dvd movies and even a gaming system is included. This cabin is removed from the others on the road, and is very private. You won't be sorry to pay a little extra for this amazing cabin.

Room Tip: Ask for the Ever After cabin if you're a couple looking for romance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed in Condo #106. It is a two bedroom with king size beds, two full bathrooms, modern furnishings. There is a balcony overlooking a flowing stream. It has a fireplace, washer, dryer, dishwasher, and all the modern necessities. There is a grocery store nearby and we ate a few meals in the condo. It is a place that you really could call home. Two winters ago we stayed there during a snow storm. We were inside for about 3 days and it was the most beautiful view looking at the stream with ice hanging on the trees and snow everywhere. This summer we stayed again and were so happy to get #106 again. We hope to go back this winter and pray for snow so we can stay in #106 once again. We rented this condo from Elk Ridge Resorts and they are awesome. They called to check on us to see if we were satisfied with everything. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The view from the balcony over looking the stream is better on the first floor. Also, you can actua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elk Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Springs Resort

Address: 1088 Powdermill Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Luxury Cabin Resort in Gatlinburg featuring 1-5 bedroom cabin rentals with Hot Tubs, Pool Tables and Home Theater Rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elk Springs Hotel Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.