We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, poorly maintained.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Elk Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elk Springs Resort
Save
You added Elk Springs Resort to your Saves list
1088 Powdermill Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rockford, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, poorly maintained.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

A dozen+ of us rented Spacious Skies, after visiting Elk Spring Resort's website, and seeing their wonderful pictures online.

The cabin lived up to the promised stellar views, and quietness. The cabin was in a secluded location, overlooking the Smokies with wonderful, open skies.

Unfortunately, many of the amenities they advertise were not working upon our arrival. This included the fireplace, wireless internet, arcade machines, patio lighting, door lock, and TV remote. We contacted the property managers about the wireless internet and fireplace, and they were able to fix only the wireless internet during our stay. Fireplace was irreparable.

It was frustrating and disappointing to check into a great place, only to discover many of the amenities offered are not available. Maybe at a Super 8, this would be okay. But when you're paying top dollar for a luxury resort, the above should be working on arrival. Communication with management implied that it was the guest's responsibility to discover maintenance issues, not theirs.

Beautiful place, just poorly maintained, especially considering the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elkspringsresort, Manager at Elk Springs Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review and comments. We do apologize for your experience. I know there was some confusion regarding the operation of the lock, fireplace and arcade game and we're glad we were able to work with you to help you understand how to operate them. There was an intermittent internet outage the area and while replacing the router didn't resolve the problem i'm glad we tried all alternatives to get it back up quickly. Charter communications did resolve the issue during your stay that was affecting several cabins so we are pleased everything was working within the first 24 hours. We do check for such items during our quality control walk thru's.

We also are glad you called maintenance as we do have maintenance staff on site that can assist you within 10 minutes time. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    953
    77
    23
    18
    20
See reviews for
499
370
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Festus, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Our trip started out rough when our first Cabin had a bad gas leak when we arrived. Elk Springs allowed us to move to a new cabin the next day called the view. This cabin was amazing and we stayed here 2 nights. We then moved to another cabin called Wine Down. This cabin has to be the best cabin in the smoky mountains. If you get a chance to stay at wind down do it. The view is so majestic and breathtaking. I was very pleased at how the staff at Elk Springs handled our issue the first day. They also gave us a credit for 1 night for our troubles.

Room Tip: If you go to gatlinburg you have to eat at Hungry Bear BBQ. Best I have ever had. Also go to the G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The only complaint I have about our visit to Elk Springs was that it was way too short. 4 days was not enough! Our cabin was in impeccable condition and it had all the amenities you can think of and then some. Hot tub, sauna, media room, flat screen TVs, pool table, outdoor grill, ice maker, jacuzzi hot tubs, etc. We utilized the lovely wrap around porches and rocking chairs everyday for our morning coffees. We had a large group and I very much appreciated the number of clean linens and towels that were provided. If you are looking to get out and enjoy an incredible piece of nature while having all the indoor luxuries you can think of - this is the place. I'm having withdrawal from our mountain getaway already. Thank you Elk Springs! We will be back soon.

Room Tip: Cherokee Charm cabin is a no brainer! Perfect for couples, friends or family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretna, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This place is amazing! We couldn't have had a better time!! I traveled with a group of friends and we shared a cabin. Plenty of space, great amenities, comfortable sleeping and beautiful autumn leaves. My only regret was not staying longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My friends and I spent the last 4 days at Elk Springs in the Cherokee Charm cabin. It was such a great experience and was truly the perfect getaway. The cabin was very new, clean and updated with incredible amenities. We enjoyed every single aspect of this cabin, from the hot tub and grill to the media room and pool table. Our cabin was tucked away at a nice elevation and was the perfect home base for all that the Smokies have to offer. We ended up spending a great deal of time just relaxing and enjoying our surroundings in and around the cabin. Check in and check out were a snap and we weren't without anything that we needed. Many thanks to Elk Springs for a perfect vacation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Elk Springs way exceeded our expectations! This trip was amazing and more than we thought it could be for only going for 2 nights. The cabin was gorgeous. We were very close to Gatlinburg. It was in a safe area. It was just perfect.

Room Tip: We staying in a Desire Fulfilled. It was a perfect 2 bedroom 2 bath cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickson, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We recently stayed with Elk Springs resort, in a luxury cabin. Our vacation was wonderful. The check in and check out was a breeze, we never had to go by a office or anything, all info was handled by phone. Our cabin, was beautiful, and then some. We will definately stay with Elk Springs Resort from now on. We travel to Gatlinburg, several times a year. We just hated for our trip to end.

Room Tip: Choose a cabin with a theater room, and the eighteen foot rain showers are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elk Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Springs Resort

Address: 1088 Powdermill Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Luxury Cabin Resort in Gatlinburg featuring 1-7 bedroom cabin rentals with Hot Tubs, Pool Tables and Home Theater Rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elk Springs Hotel Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.