We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Oasis restaurant review - we did not camp here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Sand Dunes Oasis

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mosca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Great Sand Dunes Oasis
Save
You added Great Sand Dunes Oasis to your Saves list
5400 Highway 150, Mosca, CO 81146   |  
Hotel amenities
Broomfield, Colorado
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“The Oasis restaurant review - we did not camp here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

My husband and I ate breakfast here after our one-night stay at the Great Sand Dunes Lodge next door. This is the only dining option for miles - I think it's at least half an hour away from the next nearest place. There is also a gas station and a convenience/souvenir store attached.
The food that we had was great, actually. I got a breakfast burrito (only problem was that it was lacking any kind of meat option) and my husband got a run-of-the-mill two-egg breakfast. My burrito was quite tasty and was huge and covered in green chili (always a plus).
The decor of the restaurant was a little off-putting - there were wall-mounted animal heads everywhere (see photo). Good thing I was more amused than grossed out!
Prices were very reasonable, especially considering this is the lone restaurant in the middle of nowhere.
One other thing; we didn't have dinner here but I believe they close fairly early so check the hours if you are going to want to go for dinner and are expecting a late arrival. Also, the restaurant is only open during the summer season.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    14
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
22
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

This is our second year going on Memorial Day weekend. This year the weather was very windy and warm (last year was 54 and raining). The experience at the Oasis is very busy with 3 showers and 3 stalls for the women, the bathroom was busy 24 hours a day. We have an RV and stayed with extended family in the RV portion. It's not as crowded as the tent camping area and the view is amazing. Since they are full hookups, we avoided most of the busy restroom issues. We also had one meal in the restaurant and the service and food was very good. There aren't many camping options and if you can't get into the park campground, the Oasis is close!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

As others have said, the sites for "tent camping" are totally undeveloped and not clearly separate from each other. Sites are on slopes, with lots of rocks, and no cleared areas for your tent. There's not necessarily a picnic table at each site. Restrooms are insufficient for the capacity of the tent camping area. There are only 3 women's stalls and 2 sinks for the stated tent camping capacity of 70 sites. There can be a significant wait before a toilet or sink is available, and there's just the one restroom building for the entire 70 sites (and potentially 2-5 or more people per site). It IS more of a primitive camping experience than Pinon Flats campground (in the National Park), and if that's what you're after, come prepared to use a shovel and your own toilet paper!! At a non-busy time (and this past weekend it filled up, in mid-May!!) this campground might provide a better experience. But $18 per night plus tax makes this is a very expensive primitive camping experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

To all of you who complained about this place...find a hotel and please never "camp" again. This place was great for a camp ground. Very secluded. We had one group near us and they were far enough we could not hear them. We had no problem with bathrooms as real camping there aren't any where we normally camp, a small hike is no biggy. Showers? I didn't know people were worried about showering when camping.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

We camped here and loved it. Just a few suggestions... it does get very windy at night. Make sure you really secure your tent and belongings. The location really couldn't be beat. The restaurant was great with home made pies!! They had an ice cream social on Thursday nights I believe. My kids loved it.
We had a picnic table and a couple trees for shade. I thought the bathrooms/showers were fine. It was typical camping but so worth it for seeing the incredible Dunes. Go to the Dunes around 5pm and start your hike (if planning on trying to hike to top). Bring your camera and sunglasses. Keep in mind the sand will beat against you with the wind. Light pants would have been a nice idea.
The staff was great.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Co
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

This is a truly awful place to camp. We booked a group site for 5 families, and were appalled to find the worst camping conditions I've ever been in. The site had no shade, only some stunted pinion pines, large rough rocks everywhere, tent sites on a slope and full of large rocks (no grooming of tent sites whatsoever, ever!) one picnic table for the entire 5 families, a long, and of course rocky hike to the closest bathroom, which was 3 working stalls to service the entire campground, (maybe 150-200 people ?) unless you wanted to get in your car and drive a mile to the other bathroom near the main road. For 4 more stalls. Water was located near this second set of bathrooms, hardly convenient to the site. Showers were a joke, there were 3 or 4 stalls, naturally located in the bathrooms you had to drive to, and they were always full no matter what time of day or night (again, that huge group of people.) All this for only $85.00 a night. Please, there should be some basic amenities for the money and there were none. In addition, the weather was terrible, non-stop heavy winds and chilly, which can certainly happen at the Dunes anytime. There was a very nice view of the dunes in the early morning before ferocious dust clouds obscured everything. We were supposed to stay 2 nights but left after only one because our camping gear was being destroyed by the wind and the campsite was so rough. If the NPS sites are filled, don't pick this place. We packed up and moved over to the Arkansas River Headwaters, a beautiful State Campground about 1.5 hours away, over Poncha Pass. I would suggest this anyway, as weather can be so iffy at this Park . I would never suggest the Oasis Campground. And it might be hard to find, too, because their sign blew down in the wind. I'm serious.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

What a miserable campground! Many sites had no picnic tables, while others had 2 (obviously dragged from other sites). No signs marking roads or campsites. I drove around in circles for 40 minutes trying to return to my site in the dark after having to DRIVE to the bathroom. Only one bathroom for the whole campground! Staff was rude and unhelpful. RV sites are less than 10 feet apart. Most bathroom doors do not lock nor one out of the 3 showers (that's it for the whole place). It is obvious they care more about making a buck than taking care of the place or the customers. I would not stay there again.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Sand Dunes Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Sand Dunes Oasis

Address: 5400 Highway 150, Mosca, CO 81146
Location: United States > Colorado > Mosca
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Mosca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Great Sand Dunes Oasis Hotel Mosca
Great Sand Dunes Oasis Colorado/Mosca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Sand Dunes Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.