We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to spend an evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Sand Dunes Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mosca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Great Sand Dunes Lodge
Save
You added Great Sand Dunes Lodge to your Saves list
7900 Hwy 150 North, Mosca, CO   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mosca
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good place to spend an evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Lodge may not look like much but it is a peaceful, quiet place to sit and relax with a glass of wine and watch sunset on the dunes from your small patio which faces the dunes.
Everything was clean and well supplied. The people who manage the Lodge were helpful and allowed us to check in early. There was coffee brewed in the front officeby 6AM if you wanted an early start and did not have time to stop at the Oasis restaurant for breakfast.
Very nice place to spend a quiet evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    75
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
65
86
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in lots of motels and I can tell you this one is terrific. The room is very thoughtfully appointed. We had a fridge and microwave, so we could eat in the room. If it had been bit warmer we could have eaten outside on our patio with a view of the sand dunes and its hummingbird feeder. The hanging space was good. The bath a night light. There were 2 boxes of tissues. I mention all this because I frequently don't find this in extremely expensive hotels. The owners were very nice and obviously thoughtful. This was the start of a driving trip and it was the best place we stayed!

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Very Clean well appointed with beautiful view. The owners are very friendly and hospitable. Being it was the ONLY place within 20 miles of GSDNP we were a little skeptical but were pleasantly surprised. Great morning coffeee and food at the nearby Oasis restuarant was very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Elgin, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The lodge is a great place to stay as its very close to the Great Sand Dunes NP, along with great views of the dunes from every room. The nearest town, Alamosa is a little over 30 miles away, but being where the lodge is located, you get an excellent view of the entire San Luis valley and the way the lights in the distance shimmer is quite lovely as well as how the moon shines off the dunes.
The room, pool and everything was very clean and the owners are very friendly and helpful. Your only dining choice is the restaurant/shop at the bottom of the hill (not affiliated with the lodge). We had dinner and breakfast here and both were good, If you are looking for nightlife (the kind that you would expect out in the wilderness, you will be most happy) with crickets, mule deer and the possible bear, this is the place for you! The park is open 24/7, so its a great place to go out on the sand at night, watch the stars and look for the occasional deer. We will stay here again next time we plan a visit to the dunes!

Room Tip: All rooms have great views of the Dunes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spiritualdunes, Owner at Great Sand Dunes Lodge, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
We really appreciate your review. Reviews help us to strive for contineous improvement to delight our customers. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband and I visited Great Sand Dunes National Park in early August 2012. We stayed at the Great Sand Dunes Lodge for two nights, since there aren't any other choices in the area. Nonetheless, the lodge was very clean, nice, and had a lot of amenities. Since they have a monopoly in the area, they don't have to be so nice, so it's great to see.

Our room had 2 queen beds, a small fridge (3 ft high), a small microwave, free WiFi, a small LCD TV, and an A/C unit. All of these items functioned. We would've found the room to be small for an extended stay (with all our hiking and golfing equipment), but it was fine for our short visit.

The room was very clean. The bathrooms looked recently updated and were very clean and well-equipped, with nice, bright lighting.

There are lawn chairs behind each room so that you can sit outside and admire the awesome view of the dunes and the background mountains.

The lodge has a swimming pool, which we did not use. There was also an on-site restaurant, which we did not visit. Outdoor grills are also available, which we did not use.

The owners (I assume) who checked us in were very friendly and willing to accommodate requests and offer suggestions about local things.

Overall, we were very impressed with the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had such an excellent time at the Great Sand Dunes Lodge. Great lodging with a beautiful view of the national park. The patio has hummingbird feeders with the most wonderful display of hummingbirds. The morning coffee was very, very good. Excellent hospitality. Could not ask for more. We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Each room equally great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was a great place. The room was large, with 2 queen beds, a table and 2 chairs inside, and 2 chairs on the back deck with a small table. There's a microwave, fridge, hot drinks in the lobby, and gas BBQ's to use, so we cooked a very nice meal for ourselves, and ate it while looking at the sand dunes with mountains in the background and following the antics of the many hummingbirds at the feeders. The bed was the most comfortable we had during our Colorado trip, and we stayed in 8 different places. The bathroom was large and had the only bath during our vacation as well! We even had a swim in their indoor pool. The 11 a.m. checkout allowed us to visit the park early, then come back and have a meal before we left. The owners are super nice. I highly recommend visiting the National Park, and if you do, this is probably the best place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Sand Dunes Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Sand Dunes Lodge

Address: 7900 Hwy 150 North, Mosca, CO
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Mosca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mosca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 256
Also Known As:
Great Sand Dunes Hotel Mosca
Great Sand Dunes Mosca
Great Sand Dunes Lodge Colorado/Mosca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Sand Dunes Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.